Customer Reviews for

Abigail (The Wives of King David Book #2): A Novel

Average Rating 5
( 27 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Love the weaving

    Jill Smith does an excellent job of developing biblical characters and inventing a supporting cast. She has skillfully woven together a multi-faceted story to create a compelling, touching drama of Israel's most beloved king. Abigail's early struggles with her foolish first husband, Nabal, reveal her grace and composure under pressure; but her wisdom and love of YAHWEH ultimately set her apart and win David's devotion. The reason I read biblical fiction is to send me deeper into the lives of biblical characters. I want the author to challenge me to see something new in the history or in a character that I haven't perceived in my daily perusal of the Scriptures. Jill Eileen Smith has done that with King David and with Abigail. In both of these characters I saw their spiritual struggles with God. I felt their emotional battles and their victories. This book turned my heart back to David's Psalms for comfort and to 1 & 2 Samuel for clarification. Bravo, Jill! I'll be recommending these books heartily!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    "Abigail" is a story you will not be able to put down.

    Jill brings King David, Abigail, Saul, and many others of the Bible to life and allows you to enter their world to live their hurts, their frustrations, their emotions and their victories. You will feel that you have been there as she captures the very air that they breathe and the dirt on their feet and you will be drawn into the intricate threads of this story as never before. This is not just a story or a book - it is a journey you will not soon forget.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2010

    So real, you feel like you're back in ancient Israel!

    Abigail, a graceful fifteen-year-old Israelite, is sold by her father to the handsome but cruel Nabal to reduce his debt to Nabal's father. And although she bristles at Nabal's mistreatment, she finds solace in her secret garden, praying to Jehovah and longing to be loved. That will eventually be granted, but not without problems. Perhaps love-at any price-is worth it.

    This exciting second book in THE WIVES OF KING DAVID series swept me back to ancient times as Israel's first king Saul sought David's life. Jill Eileen Smith made me feel as if I were there in the hillside hideouts with David and his soldiers hiding from Saul's army and dealing with the sometimes unsettling effects of having wives and children in tow.

    Expertly researched and skillfully written, Abigail and David become real people with real faith in God. And real weaknesses. I loved this book! 375 pages.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2014

    Awesome story

    You will love abigail. Wonderful story and characters. Full of historicalfacts and events. Highly recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2014

    excellenr

    Ii feel i know abigaij and see myself and others i know in the wives of david. Time may be berween us but what womrn feel and want in a husband are still so simar.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2014

    Abigail

    King David's third wife and love, Abigail. Who loved Yahwah as much as David himself. Abigail, a broken woman w gave hetself to David . Abigail a mother of 3 of Davids royal children. Abigail, who tried to be a peacemaker in a large harem. The love of King David's life. Who was taken too early. Wasn't meant to be. I loved this woman and the author makes you feel as if you are right there with them. A good npiece of history, woven into a beautiful setting. A must read, thanks for a beautiful tale based on reality.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2013

    Thank you for once again bringing to life the wives of King Davi

    Thank you for once again bringing to life the wives of King David. This series really helps me understand the times and helps make the Bible more understandable. I'm looking forward to reading more of your books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2013

    This book is $2.99 For Kindle @ Amazon. I wonder why Kindle Book

    This book is $2.99 For Kindle @ Amazon. I wonder why Kindle Books are cheaper than Nookbooks!! Makes my want to change to Kindle!! I loved Bathsheeba.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2011

    Sooo touching

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Posted June 1, 2011

    A Must Read

    Second in the series The Wives of King David. Another great book from Jill Smith. The story keeps you wanting more. The Bible history and personalization of the characters is fabulous.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Abigail

    My Synopsis:

    Abigail (The Wives of King David - Book 2) by Jill Eileen Smith

    David has yet to become King. He and his band of followers are on the run from Saul's army. During this time David meets Abigail, the wife of Nabal of Carmel. Abigail has led a life of pain and heartache as Nabal's wife, always in fear of his violent temper. When Abigail helps David to feed his people, Nabal's anger turns on her, but he is stricken down and soon after dies.

    David takes Abigail as his third wife. Abigail soon learns that being a wife of powerful man has it's disadvantages. As her love for David grows, she is forced to see that his affection will never be wholly hers. The fact that she has not produced a son, is also a misfortune and she wonders if she will ever truly be happy. Will Abigail give David a son, she most desperately wants? When will David become King and how will that change their lives? Does David love Abigail?

    My Thoughts:

    Jill Eileen Smith does an superb job with the second book in The Wives of King David series. Abigail is poignant and full of deep emotion. Readers will feel Abigail's fear on her wedding night as Nabal shows his contempt for her family and her religion. They will be instantly be transported to the time of 1 & 2 Samuel with the amazing descriptions.

    It was easy to see why David was so loved by his followers, as he attends to their needs. Smith, shows David as not only the warrior, but the lover and poet. I loved his character very much. Abigail's character is so human, letting her emotions of jealousy and worry get to her as many women do.

    I loved this book! Definitely, one of my favorites of the year! I can't wait to read the next installment in the series, Bathsheba, due out next year.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2010

    A Great Read!

    When I was offered to review this book I was thrilled. I had not read the first installment but the premise intrigued me. After reading the book, I am even more thrilled to share it with all of you. I enjoyed every chapter, every page, every word of this book.

    Jill Eileen Smith gives us a fictional biblical account of the lives of Abigail and David. She masterfully tells the story while keeping true to her historical research and biblical account of this story. While reading this book you will be transported back in time and feel the turmoil Abigail must face. This book tells the story of a woman devoted to God and willing to follow Him regardless of the path or the pain it costs her. Smith also gives us a unique insight into David.

    I have read two books so far this year that top my 2010 reading list so far and this is one of them. I will be reading the first installment and looking forward to more

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Best Biblical fiction story I've ever read!!!

    This novel should be on the NY Times best-seller list. I'm not kidding! In fact, I don't think I've ever said this before about any book I've reviewed. For people who love Biblical fiction, this story should knock their socks off. I'll tell you why...

    I was totally entrenched in the lives of the characters and the setting the entire time I read this book. I would've read it straight through if life hadn't gotten in the way. I loved the realism, the emotion, the romance, the way the characters communicated. And the whole multiple wives and the jealousies between them was masterfully done. The writing in this book was also top-notch. It was gripping and smooth with no jarring moments or clunky writing phrases. Can you tell I loved this book?

    Abigail's story touched my heart, inspired me, and made me want to love people more. I also loved the multiple love scenes between Abigail and David. Hot, but tasteful, which is the way it should be. Very realistic and just edgy enough to make me want to say, "Go, Jill!" The way the author illustrated Abigail's marriage to Nabal was great, but it was even more exciting when her life touched David's. And when she had her first child I was impressed with how she showed David's handling of the situation and her misunderstanding it.

    Here is the best part! Unlike a lot of secular Biblical fiction authors, Jill Eileen Smith shows David's imperfections and those of his wives with great taste and in a way that honored God. He was easy to love in spite of his flaws because she handled his character development so well, while at the same time keeping it true to the Scriptures. One of my favorite aspects of this story was how the author sprinkled various Scriptures into the scenes when they were appropriate. Wonderful, wonderful book and highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Read this story and be blessed.

    I love the cover of this book. Covers are a big thing to me. Right away I want to open the book and start reading. Of course since I read Michel, the first book in The Wives of King David series I already know I like Jill's writing style. I am surprised that I can relate to these women who lived so many years ago. Jill makes the people and the times come to life. Her research skills show.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2