Customer Reviews for

Abner and Me (Baseball Card Adventure Series)

Average Rating 4
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Very cool

This book has mainly a war setting and i think that it is really cool bexause it was supposed to be about baseball and all of the other books in this series have abaseball setting. Five star book. Deserves 100000000000000000000000000000000 stars

posted by Anonymous on December 30, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Abner Doubleday

With a little touch of violence in a war scene, Stosh traveled back to meet Abner Doubleday with his mom. They see some disguisting sights, and, oh, you can read the book for yourself!! But you'll have to buy it first. It's saying "Buy me, buy me!" Make sure to get Abne...
With a little touch of violence in a war scene, Stosh traveled back to meet Abner Doubleday with his mom. They see some disguisting sights, and, oh, you can read the book for yourself!! But you'll have to buy it first. It's saying "Buy me, buy me!" Make sure to get Abner & Me.

posted by Official-Reader on March 23, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted March 23, 2009

    Abner Doubleday

    With a little touch of violence in a war scene, Stosh traveled back to meet Abner Doubleday with his mom. They see some disguisting sights, and, oh, you can read the book for yourself!! But you'll have to buy it first. It's saying "Buy me, buy me!" Make sure to get Abner & Me.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2013

    To: 1

    Oh god I feel bad for you. This abner fellow must have special needs

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2013

    The greatest book ever!

    The greatest book ever!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    Very cool

    This book has mainly a war setting and i think that it is really cool bexause it was supposed to be about baseball and all of the other books in this series have abaseball setting. Five star book. Deserves 100000000000000000000000000000000 stars

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2013

    Awesome book

    I love it 10 stars atleast

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2013

    Great reading book for students and kids will LOVE it  Janine d

    Great reading book for students and kids will LOVE it 

    Janine drexsol 5th grade teachers

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2012

    This book was awful. It is about a boy named Joe Stoshack and hi

    This book was awful. It is about a boy named Joe Stoshack and his mother going to the civil war and trying to see if Abner Doubleday really did invent the incredible game of baseball, America's favorite pass time. After that they find out that he really didn't invent the game, nor did he have a clue how to even play the game. After that they decide to go and see if they can change history and stop the Lincoln assassination. While doing that they meet up with a previous friend from the first time traveling adventure from the beginning of the book. I wouldn't recommend horrible book to anyone on the planet earth or in the galaxy. It's short and the last part of this book doesn't make any sense.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2012

    Abner and me review

    This book is amazing. Stosh and his mother had two fantastically described adventures. I highly recommend it for young readers

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2012

    Great Book

    This was a great book about Joe Stoshack and his mom going back in time to see if Abner Doubleday really invented baseball.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2012

    Anoymus :(

    This book is way too violent. It also does not make sense because in the beginning, joe and his mom go to abner's time. Then, they come back to their own time. Then, they go and try to stop lincoln's assanation. In other words, i would not reccomend this book to anyone. I am very disapointed, most of these books are really good. Sorry, mr. Gutman.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2011

    GREAT

    Today Im going to finish this book wich is awesome

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2011

    Great book

    This book is a great mix beeteen baseball and war. Stosh the main character is obviously hungry for adventure and set out to find the inventer of baseball with his time traveling powers. I reccomend this book to people who love baseball or war history. This book is one of the best in the series and fits kids and adault likings.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2010

    great

    PERFECT

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    This book is awesome and amazing.

    This book is awesome because it is about a boy who has a special power and can traavel back in time using baseball cards. My favorite part was when the boy threw his mom's umbrella out of her purse when they were travelling back in time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2007

    A Must Read Book

    This book was about a kid named Joe Stoshack who traveled back in time to figure out who really invented baseball. The theme was bravery and hope. He went back in time and ended up in the middle of a battle. He found the guy he was looking for because he was the general. That guy ended up not even knowing how to play baseball. Then later they try to stop Abraham Lincoln from dying but it ended up not working out. I liked this story because it gave a lot of information about the Civil War and baseball. It talked a lot about what happened during that time period in an entertaining way. I would recommend this book for a sports lover and a reader that enjoys suspense.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2007

    A reviewer

    There was a really gross scene with amputations and a lot of blood. Out of all of the Baseball Card Adventures, this one had the least amount of baseball.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2006

    amazing book

    Dan Gutman has done it again with his latest book, Abner & me. Joe Stoshack looks like a normal boy, but he has a great power. When he holds a card or a picture he goes back to the time it was taken. This is both a gift and a curse. He loves traveling, but he is always getting into trouble. Join Joe and his mom on a journey through time Joe wants to answer a big question. Did Abner Doubleday invent baseball? When he went to find out, he took an unexpected detour. He and his mom ended up right in the middle of 'The Battle of Gettysburg.' They had to dodge bullets and cannon shots while racing to Abner Doubleday. Can they find Doubleday? Only love and determination will help them. This book will take you on a rollercoaster ride. The characters are so real you will swear you are right there with them. Joe is amazingly mature. He might be more mature than his mom. There is only one drawback to this book. The ending was quick and unexciting. It had nothing to do with the story. Abner & me is a must read. You have to pick up this book if you love baseball. You will never want to put it down. You will have an amazing time reading this book. This might be Dan Gutman¿s best child book. You can even learn something about the dangers of the civil war. Enjoy Dan Gutman¿s book Abner & me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2004

    Abner and me

    Abner and me is probably a good book because all the other baseball ccard adventure books.What happens in the book is this stosh discovers he can travel through time using pictures to so he invites his mom to come back in time to see if abner doubleday really invented baseball. He goes back in time to 1861 during the civil war.He also tries to stop the assanation of Aberham Lincon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2