Customer Reviews for

Abomination (Rock Harbor Series #4)

Average Rating 4.5
( 26 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted January 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Take a Thrill Ride

    This was one of the best mystery thrillers I have ever read secular or Christian. The story is extremely well written, with edge on your seat suspense throughout. You have no idea who the killer is until the last few chapters and even then it's a shock to find out the identity. This book is not for the faint-heartened. If you don't like reading about subject matter that will make your stomach churn, stay away. I personally loved being creeped out silly by the story. The methods used by Gideon to inflict his judgment on tech women are quite gory and definately not for young readers. I would hope I never come across victims of sadistic people like Gideon. Let's also just say I never realize how scary swans can be. I loved seeing Bree and the others from the Rock Harbor series make another appearance in this book. It was nice to read about what the characters had been doing since the series had ended. My only complaint with the story is that we never find out the real reason about why Eve is targeted until the very end of the story. It is only hinted at throughout the story but the way the characters act, makes the reader feel as if it was accidentally overlooked in the writing. Otherwise, I think this book should be made into a movie. This is a book that you better not read at night, not only because it will make you scared to go to sleep but because it will keep you up all night trying to finish! I believe this is the best book that Collen Coble has written and I HIGHLY recommend it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Colleen Coble in her new book ¿Abomination¿ Book Four in the Roc

    Colleen Coble in her new book “Abomination” Book Four in the Rock Harbor series published by Thomas Nelson gives us another adventure with Bree Matthews and Samson, her search-and-rescue dog.




    From the back cover:   A beautiful woman stands by the side of the road, barefoot and bleeding, a child in her arms. Someone just tried to kill her, but she wouldn’t recognize him if she saw his face. She doesn’t even remember her own name.




    A suburban cop surveys a kitchen in disarray–a woman and child missing, a chilling note. This crime scene is unlike any he has ever seen.




    The man who calls himself Gideon waits and plans. He sees himself as a destroyer of evil, one who rids the world of abominations. He has already killed five. He will kill again.




    And somewhere in the wilderness, in a secret geocache near where the wild swans gather, lies the unspeakable clue that links them all together.




    Michigan’s rugged and beautiful Upper Peninsula is the setting for this absorbing tale of love and loss, beauty and terror, grievous sins and second chances. A deftly woven thriller from the popular author of the Rock Harbor novels.




    A roller-coaster ride thriller that has danger, suspense, mystery “Abomination” has it all.  Colleen Coble knows exactly how to bring all of that to the story and more.  There is a woman who has amnesia and her two-year old daughter.  There is a serial killer who has an agenda to his killings and Captain Nikos Andreakos is determined to stop him.  The woman was supposed to be one of his victims but, somehow, she escaped though she remembers nothing.  However the killer remembers and he isn’t finished yet.  There is even the subject of geo-caching which I had never heard of before but is really very interesting once Ms. Coble explains it.  ”Abomination” has surprising twists and turns throughout the book.  This is a fast-paced read that will keep you flipping pages to keep up with the story.  Ms. Coble has done an outstanding job.




    Disclosure of Material Connection:  I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers .   I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    High suspence romance

    This book was very well written. I borrowed it from the library. I had never read the first three but I went to Colleen Coble's website and it explained some of the history. It didn't have alot of romance but it had some. The plot was well written and it all made sense to me. I think Colleen Coble did a very good job with this book. I totatlly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Reading this will leave you breathless

    this book was outstanding! there were times i found myself holding my breath and my pulse quickening. theres no way to really describe this book, just get it and read. trust me, you won't want to put it down

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Completely Outstanding

    Gripping, terrifying, and amazing. I would definitely read it over and over again. The plot is mind tricking and unpreditable. Overall its completely amazing and i would recommend it to everyone who loves romance, mystery, and horror.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2008

    A Compelling Read

    The story made an impression on me. She uses a lake in Michigan and the sport of geocatching to weave a sinister tale. She kept me guessing until the end. Every time I see a trinket, or jewelry with angels wings, I think of Colleen and her book Abomination.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2008

    More Suspense, Less Romance

    In this stand alone novel author Colleen Coble takes her legion of fans back to a beloved place and characters: Rock Harbor, Bree Nichols and her rescue dog Samson. A woman driving at night, toward Rock Harbor Michigan and away from . . . something or someone. She can't recall what or whom. Neither does she know the little girl in the backseat. It must be her daughter. Right? Even more troubling, the woman has no memory of who she is. She only knows she must flee. She abandons her car and begins to walk along the road, daughter in tow, when Bree Nichols comes along. Meanwhile, out there somewhere is a serial killer who leaves clues to his crimes at geo-caching sites and Captain Nikos Andreakos is determined to bring the perp to justice. The secret to the madman's identity seems to be hidden behind his modus operandi, based on a Biblical passage from Proverbs 6 and other religious texts, as well as, swans. What does all this have to do with one another? You'll have to read Abomination to find out. :-' Colleen Coble, long established as a force to reckoned with in romantic suspense, seems to stretch herself in this novel going for a story more suspenseful and less romantic than previous novels. Oh, there is romance and at times it's quite touching and engaging, but the real heart of this story is a serial killer and his capture before he can kill again and again and again. He won't stop until his end game goal is met. As always the writing here is tight and easy to read. And one of the most fascinating things about Colleen's stories 'all of them' is her knack for the unusual, whether that be an occupation or hobby, etc. In this novel, that little detail is geo-caching. I'd never heard of it before this novel. I've since done some research on the subject and find it extremely interesting. Some of Colleen's fans may be taking back by this novel, but I'll ask them to give Abomination a chance. Yes, it is quite different from her previous novels. However, in this reviewers mind, growth is a good thing for an author and with this release Colleen Coble shows growth and fearlessness in attacking such a story. Highly recommended! One of my Top 10 reads of 2007.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2007

    Once you start, you can't stop

    Look out! When you pick up this book, be ready to sit down and read it from start to finish. It quickly hooks you! Colleen has done a great job keeping your interest and never quite letting you figure it out. Just when you think, you've got it, something or someone else gets thrown in. This book definitely keeps you guessing. BUT at the very end, you have an ah-ha moment. It all makes sense. If you like suspense, you will love this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2007

    Absolutely fantastic!

    I am so glad Colleen went back to Rock Harber! It was great to read about Bree and Samson again! This book is one of Colleen's best yet! Her character development was fantastic, and the storyline was great. She kept me guessing until the very end. I read this in one sitting because I couldn't bear to put it down! Way to go, Colleen- can't wait for the next one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2007

    Fantastic Suspense from a Pro

    Abomination is Colleen¿s first hardcover and represents a subtle shift. In it, she returns to Rock Harbor. If you¿ve read her Rock Harbor series, you will love the return trip and the chance to see what¿s happened in Bree and Kade¿s lives. If you haven¿t read those books though, you will still enjoy this read. Colleen¿s done a great job of balancing a setting that¿s familiar without making it dependent on the earlier series. This plot is also richly layered. Eve Andreakos has amnesia, which severally complicates her attempts to stay safe and protect her daughter ¿ and even though I¿ve seen this type of plot in other books recently, it worked very well in Abomination. Her ex-husband is the lead investigator on the case. Because of their divorce Eve knows there are issues between them, but isn¿t sure what they are. He wants to start their lives together again, but she can¿t. Her sister has shown up demanding something Eve can¿t and won¿t give her. And a former boyfriend dances into her life again. The suspense in this book is high-paced, probably one of the tightest I¿ve seen in from Colleen. And the romance is there, a slight step behind the suspense. The book strikes the balance I love when reading a suspense. Run out to buy this book when it releases in August. If you love suspense, you will love Abomination.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1