Customer Reviews for

Abortionist's Daughter

Average Rating 4
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted February 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    thriller!

    really good. kept me wanting more

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2010

    Good Read

    I enjoyed this story. It's been a while since I read it but I can still picture my vision of the pool and the snow outside. The writing and characters were compelling and the story kept the pages turning. It is an emotional 'who done it' which will keep you guessing the whole time. It is also a story about family and the power of parenting. I haven't read anything else by this author, but if they are written like this one I think I will enjoy her other book as well. Titles like this get you interested, but the good writing is what pulls you in.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2009

    Is exciting and hard to put down, as are all of her books!

    You never know what will happen in Ms. Hyde's books....definitely a good read!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Hot button issues

    Abortion. Pornography. Malfeasance in the justice system. Illegal/legal drug abuse. Stalkers. It's all in The Abortionist's Daughter. Title notwithstanding, this crime novel has no primary protagonist. From chapter to chapter, the spotlight focuses upon several different characters - the daughter, two detectives, victim's husband, ex boyfriend, the victim herself, antiabortion activist -, throwing light upon their personal points of view with respect to the murder, and with respect to their relationships with the others who are enmeshed in the case. As in real life, each has his/her own virtues and faults, and some are likable while others are not. In some ways this book is reminiscent of Jodi Picoult's. Author Hyde has an intelligent writing style, a layman's understanding of psychology, and a talent for infusing her characters with authenticity. While it becomes evident early on who the culprit is, motive and method do not. The Abortionist's Daughter has the makings of a made-for-TV movie, with lots of drama and juicy plum roles.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Thought Provoking

    This book was really good. It wasn't what I thought it was going to be but was able to keep my attention. Different twist keep you wanting to find more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2007

    avid reader, 37 yr old mom

    I could not put down this book! Excellently written and good mystery. You really feel for the characters. Don't judge this book by it's title....I highly recommend for anyone who enjoys mysteries.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2007

    Great book - read in 2 days!

    This book kept me reading from page one. It wasn't predictable and it seemed like something that could really happen in a town anywhere. A highschool relationship gone bad that turns very tragic is what will really get you with this one. Don't focus on the title. Excellent book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2007

    couldn't put it down

    I am a huge fan of Hyde's books. Her style is distinct and keeps the readers entralled. This isn't a murder mystery like you would find in the 'mystery' section of the bookstore it's more about the relationships of the characters and how life changes people. This isn't for those who only read murder mysteries, but if you love Hyde then you'll probably like this one too. I read it in a day.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2006

    Waste of time

    the writer was trying for suspense, but just wound up be being boring. I figured out 'whodunnit' before the first chapter was over. The characters were one dimensional, and not even likeable! A waste of time!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2006

    Great reading!

    I really enjoyed the writer's style and she kept me guessing as to who did it. The interaction with the father, mother, and daughter was very real. The ending left me hanging though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2006

    Weak, Cheesey and Boring

    This was a very disappointing novel. The story line was weak, the events predictable, the characters one-dimensional. I am sorry I wasted my money. This should have been a cheap paperback.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2006

    Excellent Read

    The story of the Dupreys is something you'll get wrapped up in. This is a beautifuly written story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2006

    The best book in a long time

    Don't start this book unless you have time to finish it. This is one of the best books I have ever read. It reads quickly and reels you in from the first page. It has nothing to do woth the prolife/prochoice issue. It is a true murder mystery.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent

    Because she is a director of a Colorado abortion clinic, Dr. Diana Duprey knows many people want her dead. Still when someone succeeds in killing her in the exercise pool of her home, her spouse District Attorney Frank Thompson and their nineteen years old daughter Megan are stunned.------------- The detective in charge of the investigation Huck Berlin knows this is a difficult case because of the enormous abortion enemy list and a witness claiming Diana had nasty arguments with her husband and her daughter just before she died. Since the coroner has a conflict of interest, another medical examiner does the autopsy though he holds a grudge against Frank. As Huck struggles with the case and his attraction to a prime suspect Megan, who seems to beg him to take her, he seems no closer to a resolution.------------- The whodunit and why take a back seat to the deep look into the impact of performing abortions by a caring medical practitioner and her family. Diana though seen mostly in flashbacks is a fascinating individual who believes she is doing the morally right thing. Her spouse thinks more about how her work impacts his political ambitions. Their daughter Megan is the most complex character of all as she is confused over her mother¿s idealism that seem contradictory as it also means killing a potential life. Diana¿s clients also are delved into with their conflicting internal disputes. Much more rounded than simple sound bites by pro life and pro women¿s rights, Elisabeth Hyde provides a strong character study that opens the abortion debate in an intelligent manner.------------ Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1