Customer Reviews for

About Grace: A Novel

Average Rating 4.5
( 12 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2005

    I am a new Doerr Fan!

    This book was great! The main character was tragic, awkward and ever stalkerish but I found my heart breaking for him. The style of writting was so beautifully constructed I feel as though I just watched a movie instead of reading a book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2005

    Read this book!!!!

    This is one of the ten best books I have ever read. From the first page, it was clear that this was written by an author who carefully crafts every sentence. His prose is pure poetry. This beautiful story about love, faith and ultimately the resilience of the human spirit was gut-wrenching at times as you acutely feel David Winklers pain and redemption. If you only read one book this year, you should make it this one!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2004

    A shining jewel of a novel...

    This book sings about the beauty of love in it's many different forms, redemption and friendship. I stayed up all night and into the early morning finishing this book. It is one of the best books I have ever read, and I plan to listen to it on audio; I know it will be just as good. Mr. Doerr has created a magical world of fate and chance out of the most unlikely circumstances and creates a very belivable, intricate story. I didn't want David Winkler's story to ever end...I have had The Shell Collector for 2 years and haven't read it, but it will be one of the next books that I am planning to open up.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2005

    Smart and Refreshing

    This was the first book I read by Anthony Doerr. I enjoyed every second of it - it is smart, and strange. The characters are unusual and touching. This books deals with questions of fate, free will, determination, and faith. I strongly recommend it to anyone!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2004

    Doerr is a Master

    I read About Grace simply because I loved the imagery in Doerr's short story The Shell Collector. About Grace surpasses the fried and hashed world of genre, and presents a literary, almost poetic, tale of love, fear, and redemption. This is a one of a kind work, and I look forward to many years of equally great books from young Anthony Doerr.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2004

    Wow!!

    David Winkler is an odd loner living in Anchorage, Alaska, who has dreams that foretell the future. He's weird. And his life ends up a mess. And I immediately began to like him. In the chaos of his strange existence, Winkler seeks out and finds (or trips over and falls into) beautiful things. Family, friends, the splendor of nature. It's a painful journey that takes the reader from Alaska to the Midwest to the tropics of an island and back around again. This is one of the most beautiful books I've read in a long time. It's one of those rare books that wakes you up to the good things around you. Doerr's prose is brilliant, and yet it's all so subtle and unpretentious. The book is pensive and profound, it's plot is smooth and compelling, and it's characters are kind and immensely likeable.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2014

    Anthony Doerr has become one of my favorite authors. His prose

    Anthony Doerr has become one of my favorite authors. His prose is poetic to me.. his words evoke beautiful physical pictures and pictures for the soul. Some of his sentences are so profound to me that I find myself dwelling on them for long after the page turns. Now I'm an avid reader but not all books leave a mark on me the way "The Light We Cannot See" and "About Grace" did. I love that the books are kind of rambling (and very long!) because they exemplify the twists and turns our lives take. The character development in this book is terrific as we follow David and the secondary characters throughout their circumstances, emotions and real lives. If you are a true bibliophile and enjoy true beauty in prose, you'll like this book and Anthony Doerr.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2007

    LIKED THE CAPTIONS AND GRAPHICS

    But oi voi - just such a crock of americana shiite i`ve not seen recently - surely that was an exercise set by tutor ,gone awry???

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2005

    A long time to get there

    Mr Doerr writes well. Part of this book resembled Dean Koontz, part Harlan Coben and part Greg Garrett (Free Bird). The prose was excellent, I just had problems assimilating the different plot twists and, in the end, believing in the characters. Starting off with the dream/reality topic, then gravitating into defying fate, I then got lost in the passage of time it took for the main character to decide to do something to right the wrongs, redeem himself, and to set the record straight. Perhaps it was his attempts which, for an educated person which Mr Winkler was supposed to be, seemed so assinine and ridiculous. Yes, some were humorous, some tragic, but why attempt them the way he did? I could never come to grips with that issue. In the end my rush to the finish was in part to find out what happens to the hero but was also to just finish the book. I would recommend this book for style, but it isn't on my top list. The plot just didn't settle well with me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2005

    Ooops, I didn't like it at all.....

    Whew....I thought I'd never finish, and really it was a little 'too dark' for me. I guess it just wasn't my style. Dark.......

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1