Customer Reviews for

About a Boy

Average Rating 4
( 89 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(38)

4 Star

(36)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 89 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2002

    Loved it

    A great read!! So funny I laughed out loud. The boy Marcus made me laugh so much. I loved it!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2011

    Awesome book!

    About a boy is clever realistic and sweet, i laughed aloud on the subway, and nobody gave me strange looks bc this is NYC, the characters are remarkable,

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Review

    Nick Hornby presents a story with a title that is reflective of both of its main characters. It's quite fascinating to watch both of them change--even if they don't entirely grow up.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Review for "IFAGE"

    About a boy is the story of a friendship between a 36 years old man, Will, and a 12 years old boy, Marcus. Will is a rich and handsom man who especially likes women. We can't believe that Marcus and Will can be friends one day because of their differences; but in his way Will'll be very helpful to Marcus who's always bully at school. Marcus' mother, Fiona, spends her days crying so she can't understand what's happening to her son. At this moment Marcus and Will become "inseparable" and as in almost all the books or movies there's a happy end. The book and the movie aren't exactly the same as usual but it's a bit disappoining!
    If you dont't know what to do or if it's a rainy day, I think it could be a good book to entertain.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    "About a boy"

    I think that "About a boy" is a very well written book and I really enjoyed reading it. But I kept waiting for something a bit more exiting to happen, but it never really did.

    The film was more dynamic and well casted. Especially, Hugh Grant fits very well with Will's character. Will is a 36 years old handsome rich man who has many girl friends for shot time. He is extremely selfish and enjoys single life style.

    At the End of the story, I wondered why Will didn't love Fiona.
    He listened to her story in order to prevent her from trying to kill herself again.

    This is because of her son, Marcus, with whom he made a friendship.
    This is because he thought that would be able to help someone for the first time in his life.

    In addition, I expected that Fiona would be more beautiful woman in the film.
    I also wondered if Will would have loved her if she had been more beautiful and attractive, but I don't think so.

    From my point of view Marcus and Will and everyone else each learnt something valuable from the mixed up relationships that form throughout the book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2014

    NOW A TV SHOW

    They have created a TV show for this book on NBC that i great and stays to the storyline. It is of course called About A Boy. I suggest it to all fans of the book. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2013

    QOdk.a.

    QjQBqmkKim.ma

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Loved it

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    This is a test

    This is a test this is a test this is a test this is a test this is a test
    This is a test this is a test this is a test this is a test this is a test
    This is a test this is a test this is a test this is a test this is a test
    This is a test this is a test this is a test this is a test this is a test
    This is a test this is a test this is a test this is a test this is a test
    This is a test this is a test this is a test this is a test this is a test

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    About a Boy

    This book is good for a leisure read, but for the purpose of analyzing it is not good. While yes, the book did talk about deep topics such as suicide and father abandonment, it came out and said exactly what it meant. There were no hidden meanings.

    That being said, I quite enjoyed the strange dynamics of the relationship between Will and Marcus. They have a nice balance of child and adult; each one making up for the lacks of the other. Marcus helps Will grow up a bit. Similarly, Will helps Marcus become more of a kid. Will sarcastic humor, and Marcus's dense literal intrepratations make for some funny conversations.

    One thing I found disappointing in this book was that there wasn't a lot of excitement. The story seems real and I related to it, but sometimes it's the unrealistic climax that really makes a book. This story is somewhat lacking in that area.

    Overall it was a good book, and I would suggest reading it on a rainy weekend when you need a good laugh.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Original Plot and Realistic Writing Style

    "About a Boy" was the book I chose for my summer reading. At first when I read it, I had a hard time putting it down. I was attracted to the style of writing that Hornby took as he followed Will and Marcus throughout the story; it was very honest and humorous in that sense. Through the voices of the characters, it was apparent that each individual was well-thought out and had a distinctive personality. Although the plot was quite original, it wasn't the most interesting book I have ever read and there wasn't a whole lot of action. This story is more about the unique web of characters and their interactions with one another rather than being a suspenseful thriller or passionate love story. I kept waiting for something a bit more exciting to happen, but it never really did. The mood throughout the book was mostly static; it didn't change enough for me. The overall ending was satisfactory, but I didn't like the specific way that the book ended. Despite my high expectations and wanting more from this book, it wasn't terrible.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2009

    One Of The Best Contemporary Novels

    This was the first Nick Hornby book I read. I was hooked from the start, laughing out loud even. I have recommended it to many friends, many whom have seen the movie. I will admit the movie is great and I own it. Yet, as we all know the book is almost always infinitely better.If you could pick any work by Nick Hornby, pick this.It has a lightheartedness and optimism that is needed during these trying times.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2005

    A Wonderful Movie

    Great movie about growing up and becoming mature, no matter what your age. It is great to see Hugh Grant's character evolve from a selfish, self-involved person, into someone who can reach out to others, almost against his will.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2005

    better than the movie

    I saw the movie when it came out, and recently picked up the book out of curiosity. I found the book charming and it rings true, more so than the movie. As Hornby points out, age has nothing to do with an arbitrary date, some of us just never grow up until presented with the occasion to; and some of us grow up too fast forgetting to enjoy childhood. When the two meet there is much laughter, and emotion that comes across easier with printed words than on film. Both Will and Marcus are fabulous characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2004

    Not as good as they say

    I bought this book because all the reviews were positive. It is supposed to be funny, but I did not think so. I thought it was a little depressing. I was very disappointed in it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2004

    great book

    This book is both intertaining and emotional and it explains how hard it may be to find someone who cares for you. We may take for granite all the people who care for us for we never had to find that person and work so hard to fit in, being an outcast.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2003

    Absolutely Beautiful

    This is one of those books that you can't put down. I love the characters, Marcus is such a charming and eccentric little thing. It could have done without the cursing, but the story is truly wonderful and carries a sharp twang of reality. It had me in stitches, I liken this to the guilty pleasure of some Ben & Jerry's as a midnight snack.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2003

    Great Book

    I thought that About A Boy was very well written. It did get confusing in some parts, but afetr I reread it, I understood it. I though it was great... VERY funny! The movie was great too! Hugh is so handsome.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2003

    splended

    this book gives a twist of the up scale society and the lower society. it makes you want to keep reading just to see what the other will do next. this book is one of my absoulte favorites.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2002

    Lost Me Half Way

    I enjoyed this book very much at times, however I think there was a major cop out with Will meets Rachel and there is absolutely no explaination on why he feels so strongly for her. Why her over the entire flock of women? Nick Hornby is a very good writer and did have me laugh out loud at times.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 89 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5