BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

About a Boy

Average Rating 4
( 90 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(39)

4 Star

(36)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Loved it

A great read!! So funny I laughed out loud. The boy Marcus made me laugh so much. I loved it!!

posted by Anonymous on June 25, 2002

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

About a Boy

This book is good for a leisure read, but for the purpose of analyzing it is not good. While yes, the book did talk about deep topics such as suicide and father abandonment, it came out and said exactly what it meant. There were no hidden meanings.

That being said, ...
This book is good for a leisure read, but for the purpose of analyzing it is not good. While yes, the book did talk about deep topics such as suicide and father abandonment, it came out and said exactly what it meant. There were no hidden meanings.

That being said, I quite enjoyed the strange dynamics of the relationship between Will and Marcus. They have a nice balance of child and adult; each one making up for the lacks of the other. Marcus helps Will grow up a bit. Similarly, Will helps Marcus become more of a kid. Will sarcastic humor, and Marcus's dense literal intrepratations make for some funny conversations.

One thing I found disappointing in this book was that there wasn't a lot of excitement. The story seems real and I related to it, but sometimes it's the unrealistic climax that really makes a book. This story is somewhat lacking in that area.

Overall it was a good book, and I would suggest reading it on a rainy weekend when you need a good laugh.

posted by R_Friesz on September 16, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2002

    Loved it

    A great read!! So funny I laughed out loud. The boy Marcus made me laugh so much. I loved it!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2011

    Awesome book!

    About a boy is clever realistic and sweet, i laughed aloud on the subway, and nobody gave me strange looks bc this is NYC, the characters are remarkable,

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Review

    Nick Hornby presents a story with a title that is reflective of both of its main characters. It's quite fascinating to watch both of them change--even if they don't entirely grow up.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2004

    great book

    This book is both intertaining and emotional and it explains how hard it may be to find someone who cares for you. We may take for granite all the people who care for us for we never had to find that person and work so hard to fit in, being an outcast.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2014

    NOW A TV SHOW

    They have created a TV show for this book on NBC that i great and stays to the storyline. It is of course called About A Boy. I suggest it to all fans of the book. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2013

    QOdk.a.

    QjQBqmkKim.ma

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2009

    One Of The Best Contemporary Novels

    This was the first Nick Hornby book I read. I was hooked from the start, laughing out loud even. I have recommended it to many friends, many whom have seen the movie. I will admit the movie is great and I own it. Yet, as we all know the book is almost always infinitely better.If you could pick any work by Nick Hornby, pick this.It has a lightheartedness and optimism that is needed during these trying times.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2003

    Great Book

    I thought that About A Boy was very well written. It did get confusing in some parts, but afetr I reread it, I understood it. I though it was great... VERY funny! The movie was great too! Hugh is so handsome.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2002

    About A Boy

    This book is written in a very fun style. Nick Hornby writes one chapter on Will and then one on Marcus. This pattern of writting makes you want to keep on reading and not put the book down. This book will become one of your favorites too!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2002

    Fantastic Book

    I really loved this book. Marcus reminds me so much of myself as a pre-teen. So when I read that his birthday was the same day as mine, I just had to laugh. The action of the story is so crazy that it keeps you going, just to see how it all turns out. And, as in the perfect world of fiction, it all turns out for the best. Marcus and Will and everyone else each learn something valuable from the mixed up relationships that form throughout the book. This is definitely a recommend for pretty much anyone. There is quite a bit of profanity, though, for those of you who are bothered by strong language.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2002

    I'm a Hornby fan!

    This is my first book I've read of Hornby's and I loved it! He is now one of my favorite authors. Can't wait to read his other books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2002

    A great read!

    I couldn't put this book down, I *needed* to know how it was going to end. It was great to see all the characters grow, not just the ones you think will. The writing was funny and fresh. I highly recommend this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2002

    A new fan of Nick Hornby

    I loved the movie so I bought the book. I only wish that I had bought it when I first saw it when it was first published. This book is exactly why I love to read. It is so charming and true. The last couple of books I enjoyed pale in comparison to this wonderful book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2002

    About A Book

    Nick Hornby's book 'About A Boy,' is a smash hit across the board. I began to read the book on the eve of its Motion Picture Premiere to compare films to the books they are based off of. However, after 10 days I had read the book and passed it to my Aunt, who passed it a friend of her's at work. Long story short I haven't seen my copy since I finished reading it myself. Great Book. Will and Marcus are a modern day father and son pair, in this a less than perfect world. Their' chemistry alone kept me reading the book and caused me to finishing it so quickly. It is easily the best book I've ever read in a long time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2002

    The Boy in us all

    About a Boy was briliantly written. Nick Hornsby manages to make the two central characters completly oposites and yet just alike all at the same time. From the boy that grew up too fast to the man that never grew up. I love the times when Marcus (the kid) is teaching Will (the man). It helps to remind us all that just because we're older doesn't mean that we can just disreguard what kids say, sometimes they might have a better grip on reality than we do. At the end of the book I was left wondering about the title and who exactly the boy was suppose to be. I finaly came to the conclusion that it was about them both, and even a little about us all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2002

    An excellent book that is humorous and heartwarming

    About a Boy is a wonderful story about a boy and his adventures at school, with his friends and parents and just surviving school. This was a book I read in two days and I just loved it. You should read Hornby's other books and see the movie as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2001

    Excellent!

    I absolutely loved this book! The relationship between Will and Marcus is brilliant. Nick Hornby has done a wonderful job of writing dimensional characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2