Customer Reviews for

About a Dragon

Average Rating 4.5
( 207 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(145)

4 Star

(43)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 208 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11
  • Posted May 21, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Arrogant Dragons & The Shrews that love them

    This is Book 2 in the Dragon Kin series. Things you should know about this series: it is utterly ridiculous, laugh out loud funny... it is pure absurdity... and it is fabulous. Bloodthirsty, sexy, and funny! Oh! My! How can you not laugh out loud at a stuffy, stuck up, arrogant dragon, who in one scene begins talking to his "member" (then makes said member answer him back by knodding)? I swear I had to hush some of my laughs so that people didn't begin looking at me strangly. This second book in the series is wonderful. The characters are bloodthirsty, sarcastic, sexy,---I can go on and on, but really, you'd just get bored--and funny as heck! This series could easily be called "Arrogant Dragons and the Shrews who Love them". As you can guess the humor is rife, but the sex is hot as only love with a fire breathing dragon can be. If you love shapeshifters, hunky heroes, irrepressible woman and a good hearty laugh, I highly recommend the Dragon Kin series.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Dragons are hot!

    I really enjoyed reading this story. This book has me hooked on dragons. The characters are all strong, sweet, vulnerable and believable (even if they are dragons). If you enjoy Shelly Laurenstons wolf series you will enjoy this!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A great Series

    A good dragon is hard to find. Fortunatly this book delivers. I recommend this book to anyone who wanted their own "Puff" when they were small.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2009

    About a Dragon

    I really loved this book and I really love this series. I would read everything this author writes.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2009

    About a Dragon

    This is the second book by G.A. Aiken that I've read. Enjoyed the reading and would definately read another.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    wow!

    this to be honest was my second romance novel I have ever read! and let me tell you i was not dissapointed, from begining to end you will be wrapped up in the plot and the relationship of the main characters, you will also love the other characters that are part of brice's family, this is a great book to cozy up with and read straight through. There is romance, action, and adventure in this book from beginning to end. I will recommend this to everyone i know. cant wait till the third installment to this book. Dont for get to check out the first book in this series as well.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    another engaging humorous medieval paranormal romantic thriller.

    For over a decade and a half, powerful Nolwenn witch Talaith has tolerated marriage in order to keep her beloved daughter Izzy safe from harm. The goddess Arzhela has held Izzy captive using her as a pawn to insure Talaith cooperates when the time is right to use the witch's skills; hence the marriage of convenience for her.<BR/><BR/>Were-dragon Briec the Mighty sees Talaith and decides he wants her sexually (not as a snack). When he rescues her from an angry mob, he expects gratitude and sex. Instead he receives constant verbal tiradea ripping his scales off. In fact her chatter is giving him a headache whether he is in human or dragon form. Talaith makes it abundantly clear no sex without rescuing her daughter although she silently keeps to herself she would not mind riding this steed. As they argue for who is on top, neither is aware there is a dangerous scenario coming their way, which could prove fatal to both of them and much of the realm.<BR/><BR/>Returning to the Dragon Kin fantasy realm (see DRAGON ACTUALLY), G.A. Aiken provides another engaging humorous medieval paranormal romantic thriller. The jocular story line is fast-paced from the moment Briec and Talaith define tongue exchange 180 degrees differently and never slows down from one verbal battle to another. However, even with the gender war on-going, there remains a critical subplot filled with action especially deadly battles. Although Zebra states ABOUT A DRAGON was previously published as THE DISTRESSING DAMSEL, sub-genre readers will enjoy the war of words between the dragon and the witch as the foreplay of a lethal background.<BR/><BR/>Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2012

    Love this series (spoilers)

    This book was very cute I love that she is so fiesty and care free, but then we find out that she is also a mother to a teenage daughter. I love how he is able to not only fall in love with tahalia but love her daughter as his own as well :-)

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2012

    Sharper Than A Dragon's Claw... A Distressing Damsel's Wicked Tongue

    If you've been dying to read Distressing Damsel by Shelly Laurenston (a G.I. Aiken alter ego), but just couldn't see laying out the cash for this hard to find older release, here's your chance. About a Dragon is a rerelease of that second book in the Dragon Kin series. The first story, Dragon Actually, and two prequel 'shorts' -- previously only epublished --were released in print for the first time earlier this fall.

    About a Dragon follows human-shifting dragon `Briec the Mighty', as he becomes intrigued by the beautiful peasant Talaith. Talaith rejects the initial advance of the oddly beautiful `Knight' but is kidnapped by Briec in dragon form just as she is about to be both hanged and burned as a witch by her fellow villagers - with her husband fanning the flames. Talaith is pretty freaked by the dragon, but doesn't remained cowed for long. Talaith has a wickedly acidic tongue and employs it almost continuously, but of course being a dragon, Talaith's sarcasm and need to constantly be picking a fight only makes Briec want her more. And though Briec initially just wanted to bed the witch, he finds himself wanting to keep her for a few hundred years. But Talaith can't allow herself to get close to anyone - she has some deep dark secrets and her life is not her own - but as hard as she tries to resist the arrogant Briec, she can't help but fall and fall hard for the sexy beast.

    Laurenston's medieval dragonshifters and their deadly mates are every bit as wickedly funny and sexy as the contemporary shifters in her Pride books. Apart from the way Laurenston delivers a steaming hot - I suppose with dragonshifters that should be flaming hot - offbeat romance, what makes Laurenston's books so much fun is all of the wacky supporting characters and their interactions. Back from Dragon Actually are the starring pair Fearghus and Annwyl, along with Briec and Fearghus' other siblings, witch Morfyd - whose pursuit by her love interest suffers from continuous inlaw/sibling-interruptus - and their other brothers, the slutty and clueless Gwenvael and the sweet `baby' brother Eibhear. Add Talaith's irrepressible long lost daughter and a dragon-God into the mix and you have the recipe for at least four or five more fun books.

    Oh now, I'm squealing like a fan girl - sorry. I really do enjoy these, even with a minor language nit ( there are fair number of usages of few of my un-favorite words). Oh, if you have a problem with violence, Annwyl is back and her nickname is `Annwyl the Bloody' for good reason and heads do roll, so be forewarned. Still I can't wait for the next one. If you haven't read Dragon Actually, do yourself a favor and read it first. About a Dragon relies on good deal of setup and a fair number of character introductions from the previous book, so you'll enjoy this one so much more if you do.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2012

    I...LOVE...THESE...DRAGONS!!!

    GA has a way of making me giggle for 400 pages! The conversations these arrogant, yet flighty dragons have with "cattled" humans, is hilarious! And leaves both parties walking away thinking, "What did we just talk about?" But as readers we get all sides and it's great! I'm so glad I stumbled upon this series. It's truly one of my favorites!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2012

    Funny

    Very well written. The plot moved along nicely, the characters are well developed, and very funny. This is the first book by this author I have read, but I will be reading the rest.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2011

    Very good read

    I would reommend this book because it had a little of everything, humor, romance and action.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2011

    Witty, great characters, great story.

    I've totally enjoyed this series!
    I loved the characters, got totally involved in the story, and found myself laughing out loud at the wit and charm.
    Defininately read these in order.
    Recommend: Kresley Cole's Immortals After Dark series; Gena Showalter's Lords of the Underworld series; J.R. Ward's Black Dagger Brotherhood series; and Jennifer Cruisie's Agnus and the Hitman.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2010

    Aiken is Great!

    This was a great book. I loved the characters in the book, and I love how she makes them unique, funny and personable. Aiken adds dimension to her characters, and makes you want to know more! I kept finding myself laughing out loud while reading this book. I was engaged with the story and characters from beginning to end!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great

    This book is wonderful, about a dragon is a sequel to Dragon Actually. A Must read and full of action and humor. Who would have known a book about magical dragons could be so goooooooooood. loved it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2014

    Favorite book!

    Great read if you love dragons, sword fights, hilarious heroines, and steamy love scenes. Prepare to laugh out loud!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2014

    Wonderful!!!

    The stories are intricately woven with the others in the series. Each character is amazingly different and still likable though they are crazy dragons at times. I love the whole series. Also the dragon Queen's mate is from an earlier awesome story-Bercelak the Destroyer is son of Ailean & Shalin. Which is cool to see how their grandchildren turn out.

    Kitsune

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2014

    About A Dragon...A Great Read!

    This book just gives you a taste of the fun and exciting characters you'll read about in the Dragon Series. I found the whole series to be very entertaining! A really great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2014

    This is a romance novel for those of us who generally detest rom

    This is a romance novel for those of us who generally detest romance novels. Purple prose is blissfully absent and the storyline is always gripping. I've enjoyed every book by G.A. Aiken I've read, but this one is especially enjoyable. Must be the hilarious snarking back and forth between Briec and Talaith.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2013

    Highly recommended!!

    Loving this series !!! Just finished the third book and will definitely continue. The author cleverly mixes wit, humor, thrills, and romance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 208 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11