Customer Reviews for

Above

Average Rating 4
( 9 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(3)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted April 24, 2012

    Consider yourself warned: Above is like nothing else out there i

    Consider yourself warned: Above is like nothing else out there in YA. Above is a truly original and utterly engrossing read, one that is sure to leave a distinct impression on its readers. And frankly, this isn't a book that every reader will love because it's a very tricky one to read and doesn't make for light reading. However, I think it's one that most readers should at least give a chance because if it's one that you will enjoy, it will have a great impact on you.

    Reasons to Read:

    1.Thoughtful details:

    Leah Bobet clearly put a lot of thought into this book, and it is so rich in meaningful topics that I'm not even sure I picked up on all of the ideas and questions it raises. The story comes across as being so detailed and curious, with a very particular story to share. I'm not really sure how to explain it, but overall the details all seemed very conscientious that actually blended together very well and added to the story.

    2.Prose-like writing:

    I know some people who reviewed Above mentioned that they struggled with the writing; and yes, it definitely isn't written in the same style that the majority of books are written. But the way Leah writes Above just rolls off the tongue, with gorgeous phrasing and imagery that just flows off the page to meet with your imagination. It's stunning, really. But I can also see how this wouldn't be enjoyable for every reader (it all depends on taste). But it also captures the perspective of the narrator very well, and gives him a distinct voice.

    3.An intelligent read:

    Above is one YA book that really stood out to me as an intelligent book. It's one that makes you question norms and expectations, and re-evaluate things we readily take for granted. And the way it's written can be confusing at times (and yes, a bit convoluted in some phrases) but you really need to adapt your mind to it and be willing to embrace these differences to appreciate Above. And THAT is something I thoroughly enjoyed about it.

    Above deals with a lot of notions and ideas, most of which fit in quite well with contemporary society. This urban fantasy portrays a remarkable story of a group of people just trying to fit in - somewhere, wherever that may be. And whether that may be with each other or not. And there isn't any easy answer to this, as Leah shows with Above, and each of the characters has a lesson to learn that will truly change their life.

    But moreso, the story is tragic. I'm not sure if this was intended at all, but it seemed to me that Above did a good job tackling issues of equality among people and accepting the differences and flaws of others. And it took this a step further by highlighting the dangers of rejecting others and the hurt that can stem from that.

    Yet I can also see how this would not be a book for every reader; it's beautiful, yes, but it requires a bit of patience to get used to the style and flow of the writing and really absorb yourself in the story. But once you do, here's a book that won't easily be forgotten.

    Review copy received from Scholastic Canada for review.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2013

    Above is good!

    I really liked this book! It had weird names for the characters but it really made their characters come together. Loved this book, and would definetly recommend this to anyone who likes fantasy and mystery, with very littke romance. Overall great book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Chapter by Chapter`s review of Above by Leah Bobet

    I honestly didn’t know where to start with this review. Do I start with the completely diverse and unforgettable characters that Leah Bobet has created? Perhaps the world building that Bobet did when creating the two worlds, Safe and Above? Or maybe I could start with just how unique ABOVE is, and the way in which the story was told?
    To me, Above was like this in depth campfire story. All eyes and ears are on the storyteller. What makes a good campfire story? The weaving of the tale…And that is exactly what you will find when you read Above. The intricate ways in which Bobet has her main character, Teller aka Matthew, weave the tales of the different characters in the story was done to perfection. Bobet gives us the opportunity to read how each character managed to make their way into Safe, by telling us their backstory in the way of a tale within a tale. I felt a closer connection to many of the characters, and it seemed as though they were coming to life after every page turn.
    The love story between Teller and Ari was heartbreaking. It was emotional and deep, and not like any love story that I have read in a long time. It pretty much broke down to “Would you sacrifice love for everything you’ve ever known?” Gah! Just thinking about the ending again is pulling at the heart strings.
    I will admit that it did take me a bit to get into the book. I was getting easily confused with capitalization of the “A” in Above and the “S” in Safe. I wasn’t quite grasping the concept that they were actual places. I also had to start getting used to the different vocabulary used in the book. Because the residents of Safe fear the people/whitejackets from Above, they used different words to describe things, or didn’t have a word for something, but understood the meaning of the word somehow. I didn’t quite understand what the deal with the shadows and with Corner were as things were happening in the beginning. It took me a while into the book to get a firm grasp and understanding of them.
    But if you can power through the first half, and get through the nitty gritty, you will find hidden under all of that a beautiful story of perseverance, survivability, and love.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Review: Above is a story of monsters and whitecoats. But it is

    Review:

    Above is a story of monsters and whitecoats. But it is the whitecoats who are the monsters and the "monsters" are really the normal ones with some serious defects.

    The cover of the book is incredibly gorgeous. You would think the person on the cover is the main character, but this isn't so. The book is told in the POV of Matthew the teller. The characters are shaped well, but I found them to be more akward then they were relatable.

    The story-line was very complex and pace were slow in some areas, that I felt needed to be more action. The world setting is much like our own. Just add in shape shifters and a few people stuck in between.

    The writing style I had difficulty with. The dialects and wording made it hard to read the book at my normal pace. I can see that the author was probably trying to get across the lack of schooling and human interaction. It made it a challenge to read.

    Overall it seems more set towards the younger adult, rather then adult readers. Perhaps they may find it more appealing then myself. Don't get ne wrong It's not a bad book. It just wasn't the book for me. I do urge you to read it, it definitely brings something new to the table.

    I'd like to thank leah and her publicist at Scholastic for sending me the ARC for review.

    Visit WereVampsRomance for
    Giveaways, Reviews and more

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    ¿Above¿ by, Leah Bobet Matthew and Ariel live in an undergro

    “Above” by, Leah Bobet




    Matthew and Ariel live in an underground sanctuary called safe. They live with a group of people who are sick or disfigured in some way and because of being different they have to hide from the people above ground. When safe is attacked by shadow people Matthew and Ariel have to run above to find shelter. With only each other and a handfull of friends, they have to find a way to take safe back from the shadows.  




    Let me start out by saying that I can usually find something I like in every book I read and “Above” was no exception. First, Beatrice and Marybeth are my favorite characters in this story. Beatrice is tough, fearless, and extremely loyal to those she chooses to protect. Marybeth is nuturing, kind, and always wants to do the right thing. Second, I did like the messages of love, loyalty, compassion, understanding, friendship, family, and emotional growth. (I also really loved the beautiful cover) 
    While all of the above is true, I did not care for the story as a whole. I found that by the end of the book all I felt was disconnected and sad. I had a very hard time understanding the writing style and couldn’t seem to get use to it. (It was like trying to get a good grip on jello) The basic storyline is a good one but because of the writing style I really couldn’t appreciate it the way I would have liked to. I also didn’t understand the “romance” between Matthew and Ariel. I saw where the author was trying to go with it but it just didn’t get there for me. I felt so dictracted and confused while reading that I couldn’t really even connect with the characters. (Except for the two I mentioned above) I really, really wanted to love this book but sadly I didn’t.  Just because it wasn’t for me doesn’t mean that I consider it to be a bad story, (I don’t) I think that many readers will love this book and this unique writing style. 

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2012

    This is not your typical teen book.

    I just finished this book and all i can say is wow. I cant say I loved it or even say I liked it. The writing style got on my nerves because I was getting confused.
    The story line though is beautiful and well thought out.
    The characters were good, except sometimes I got super angry at the Teller.
    I mean, if you are looking for a lovey dovey teen book then dont get this book.
    This book was for people who enjoy twisted-ness and sad stories. Because personally, my thought throughout this book was, " Wow, thats really sad" I cried more then i wanted to.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Book Review (ARC) This is definitely one of those books that you

    Book Review (ARC)
    This is definitely one of those books that you will either love or hate. It just didn’t work for me. It was really hard for me to follow along with the style of writing. Matthew is telling the story, as that’s what he does, and he uses a broken down form of English, which made it time consuming and irritating to wade through. Had it been presented in normal-everyday English I probably would have liked the story a lot better, and as I write this review, the 3/5 rating that I gave the book is feeling pretty generous.

    What I did like about the story was the separate chapters in which we hear the story of all of the other characters in the book. Their individual stories were more interesting than the major storyline. In the beginning I couldn’t tell if Matthew was feeling love as a father figure for Ariel, or what was going on. I didn’t have a grasp of what their age ranges were or what the author was trying to express with their feelings. I really, really, really wanted to like this story, but it just didn’t work for me.

    Reviewed by Jessica for Book Sake.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1