BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter

Average Rating 4
( 2097 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(946)

4 Star

(617)

3 Star

(313)

2 Star

(121)

1 Star

(100)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

106 out of 109 people found this review helpful.

What I thought it was not.

I picked this book up to laugh at the cover, I turned the book over to look at the back. It hooked me. I read the introduction, it reeled me in. I was thoroughly surprised at this books creativity, writing, as well as suspense, and humor. It is a fun book. I put this...
I picked this book up to laugh at the cover, I turned the book over to look at the back. It hooked me. I read the introduction, it reeled me in. I was thoroughly surprised at this books creativity, writing, as well as suspense, and humor. It is a fun book. I put this book down wishing there was more of Abe, and his adventures. I will be very happy to have this book on my shelf, in my friend category. I highly recomend it.

posted by 2_9 on March 19, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

23 out of 74 people found this review helpful.

Dull and uninteresting

I expected this book to be fun. It combined two of my favorite topics - vampires and Lincoln. It was dull, unimaginative, lacked wit or metaphor. Reading it was drudgery and I found myself skimming pages just to get done.

posted by 3gems9 on May 9, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 2104 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 106
  • Posted January 6, 2012

    RECOMMENDED

    I saw the movie promotional poster at the movie theater over the holidays and upon seeing that it was based on a book, I had to read the book. I have to say that I was pleasantly surprised. I think the thing I liked most about the book is that the vampires are EVIL, they are mean, and vicious and Seth Grahame-Smith does a REALLY good job portraying this side of Vampires. He also does a great job at mixing history and fiction smoothly. I found it refreshing to read (as I am a fan of vampire novels) a Vampire novel in which vampires are portrayed Evil instead of nice and fluffy (you know what I am talking about). I most certainly recommend this novel.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2010

    Keeps you on edge

    I am not one to finish a book in a few days, but this book had me constantly reading it and not wanting to put it down. Seth Grahame-Smith did an excellent job weaving fact and fiction together in a way that was very believable!

    I highly recommend this book to everyone. After reading this you'll find yourself wanting to learn more about Lincoln and his life.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2012

    Amazing!

    Extremely well-written. This book was able to capture the amazing and interesting life of one of this countries greatest presidents all the while making a fantastic and fun read. It flowed together perfectly! I have to say near the end reading this I wished it would last much longer. Altogether a very well-written, moving book.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2012

    Anonymous

    This is a fun read, the book is well written and I thought the author wrote it with a lot of respect for Lincoln. There were a few slow parts but overall the book kept my interest. I am looking forward to watching the movie.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2010

    ehhh...

    I thought it was going to be better than it was. I think the idea of this book is really cool. I wish it was a little deeper in explanation. The ending was pretty good, I wasn't expecting it. I would read a follow up book about Abe and Henry fighting the Nazi's. Who doesn't like reading about killing Nazi's?!!

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    the Abe we see in our mind

    The fictinal story about Abe Lincoln only the mind could envision. Here w see some of the sorrows he faced through life, his mothers death,and two of his sons. then the fictional life onthe go searching for vampires and the hunt end in killing them. Here he has his friend H who saves his life and then learns he's a vampire. As he heals H. feend not only hs hunger for food but his love for books. When healed H teaches him how to hunt & kill vampires.To say more would spoil a good read. This I wil say, it tweaks the mind and makes one not wanting to put it down. I personally enjoyed it and would recomend it to anyone who enjoys a good work which holds ones attnetion and a good book.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2010

    Fiction & reality

    The author did a good job of mixing in fictional touches with fact. The book was overall well, but it lacked substance.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2010

    I love this book!

    As soon as I started reading this book I was hooked and I couldn't put the book down until I finished reading the whole thing! The only thing I would have changed was the end, only because I wanted more to read! I cried, laughed, and enjoyed every second of this book! Kudos to you, Mr. Grahame-Smith!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2010

    I never would have thought that old Abe was a vampire killer!

    The author's premise was just hook enough to make me order this offbeat, "kinda biography" of Lincoln and I have to say I thoroughly enjoyed it. It's the kind of read that goes very quickly and I must admit I wondered how he would end it. I read a lot of non-fiction and this was one of the most creative blends of fiction and non-fiction that I have ever run across. Sure there are questions about all these vampires running around everywhere with Abe seemingly always involved in destroying them but what the heck it's a bloody good read.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2012

    Boo

    Lots of people told me that I'd love this book because I'm a big Lincoln fan. I didn't.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2012

    Surprisingly good...

    Knowing the movie is due to theaters soon, I thought i'd check it out. Other reviews seemed to enjoy it, so what the heck. The author does a great job of weaving Lincoln's known life with fiction. It's a very entertaining read and surprisingly good. If vampires are your thing, then definitely check this out.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2012

    Great

    It is a good book. Movie coming soon! Can't wait.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2012

    Interestingly informative

    I loved Pride, prejudice and zombies, so I gave this a try after hearing about it on an interview Seth Grahame- Smith did on NPR. It was great, a page turner, for sure. I was surprised by all the true facts about Lincoln that Seth weaved in and out of this vampire tale.
    Very fun read

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2012

    Highly recommended!

    This book was so well written, I had to keep reminding myself it wasn't real.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2012

    honest ane or honest vampire hunter?

    I rated this higher than the hunger games for a couple reasons, it was interesting, nice plot, fun to read, and it doesn't get old. It was astounding to see how the author put this together with three of my four favorite things. It had action, vampires, and historical figures. The only thing it didn't have was zombies. Trust me this book worked together completely, do not listen to other reviews this book came together like a puzzle and the author got the pieces to fit. Very good book definite BUY do not miss out. Judging the book I can not wait to see the movie wonderful masterpiece, yours truly, BJD

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2012

    A great read....

    Who knew how much they were leaving out in history class!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2012

    A Fun read

    I was skeptical, but this turned out to be a very entertaining read. Can't wait to see the movie!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2010

    Another southern slam, but with vampires

    I admit I was hesitant in reading, as a southerner who believes that Lincoln should have been tried for war crimes had he not been executed. That apart I found some joy in reading the book. I liked that the boy grew from this secret that he felt he alone must avenge, but later finds freinds that he entrusts to aide him. I was not happy about the character developement of his "close" friends and persons, almost like they had no part in his life. My main issue with the book is that it puts at the head of Lincoln's desire for war with the South as to rid America of Vampires (who so happen to be southern and in cahoots with southern gentlemen). I would ask that the author relook at history, the North had slaves as long as the South, and I'm sure they were not treated as equals. Slavery aside, the book read a little difficult at some times, skimming over plot pieces that could have been used to more humanize Lincoln and make him less the murderer that he was.

    3 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2013

    Read this comment!!!! I beg you all

    The review on this book is so corny... abraham lincolns mom didnt get milk sickness.. she was murdured by vampires.... what happens next, does goldilocks fly in on her unicorn and catch a leprechan?

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2012

    Poorly written. Great for pre-teens but not really intended for

    Poorly written. Great for pre-teens but not really intended for adults. Absolutely boring-written much like an 8th grade research paper.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 2104 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 106