BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Abraham Lincoln Vampire Hunter (Media Tie-In)

Average Rating 4
( 2097 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(946)

4 Star

(617)

3 Star

(313)

2 Star

(121)

1 Star

(100)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

106 out of 109 people found this review helpful.

What I thought it was not.

I picked this book up to laugh at the cover, I turned the book over to look at the back. It hooked me. I read the introduction, it reeled me in. I was thoroughly surprised at this books creativity, writing, as well as suspense, and humor. It is a fun book. I put this...
I picked this book up to laugh at the cover, I turned the book over to look at the back. It hooked me. I read the introduction, it reeled me in. I was thoroughly surprised at this books creativity, writing, as well as suspense, and humor. It is a fun book. I put this book down wishing there was more of Abe, and his adventures. I will be very happy to have this book on my shelf, in my friend category. I highly recomend it.

posted by 2_9 on March 19, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

23 out of 74 people found this review helpful.

Dull and uninteresting

I expected this book to be fun. It combined two of my favorite topics - vampires and Lincoln. It was dull, unimaginative, lacked wit or metaphor. Reading it was drudgery and I found myself skimming pages just to get done.

posted by 3gems9 on May 9, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 100 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    I don't recommend this book.

    Scattered thoughts. The journal approach didn't work for me.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2012

    Bllllllaaahhhh

    This a
    Was the most stupid book ever!!!!!!!!!!!!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2012

    Ugh...

    Don't waste your money. Not worth it.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2012

    Really?

    Couldn't brig myself to finish it. Ridiculous plot.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2012

    AWFUL

    Dont waste your money. Boring and predictable...

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2012

    Skip it.

    I'm done. I can't take anymore. This book stinks.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2012

    Wait for the movie

    Started out stong in the style of Interview With A Vampire and quickly tanked. Whole passages were repeated, dialog lagged, way too many holes in the story, and the end never resolved the opening "hooks" i.e- the lists of names. Overall, HUGE disappointment.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    PB/Total Fiction: First, let me say that I love vampire books wh

    PB/Total Fiction: First, let me say that I love vampire books whether horror, mystery, romance, or Buffy tie-ins. I will be in the minority when I say that this book is a stinker.
    First: It is so poorly written. There is no consistency in the writing. It is hard enough reading a book that that switches from first person narrator to third person narrator, but this one does it on every page if not every other paragraph. The writing technique is so choppy with the back and forth. Yes, it is done with different fonts between diary and narration, but it slowed me down and I would zone out.
    Second: Missed opportunities. Abraham Lincoln lost seven races for political office. It is the foundation of his life, which was to never give up. This book only brings up two. It does bring up his bankruptcy, death of his children, lack of support when he did get into office, and the death of his first fiance. The book skims over Lincoln's nervous breakdown and skips over that he could not get into law school. The biggest issue I have in this category is Mary Lincoln. There is so little known about her mental health and how it effected Abe that the author really could have went to town with poetic license. The fact that the vampires could bring about mental problems was the direction I thought the book was going to take. It did not.
    Third: Slavery. Lincoln, in real life, believed that slavery was wrong. When he saw that slavery would probably start extend to the West, he was appalled. In this fictional account, Abe is appalled and horrified by slavery. However, he decided to take action only after he realizes the vampires are using slave as cattle. It is only then, that he decides slavery is wrong.
    Fourth: It was boring. The action, when they were there, dragged. The dialog was stoic and depressing. He yells at Henry like a play. It is not witty or fun at any point.
    I could go on, but I have a character limit. My point is, don't get sucked in like I did because the movie is coming out. Yes, it will probably make a good movie, but a waste of a book and a good idea.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2012

    This book was soooooooo boring!!

    I can appreciate the historical aspect but this was ridiculous. It had nothing! No action, suspense or drama.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2012

    I had high hopes for this book but it was very hard to get throu

    I had high hopes for this book but it was very hard to get through. I expected a fantasy mixed with some historical facts. I ended up reading it just because I had paid for it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2012

    Yuck

    I had the hardest time reading this story. It was poorly written and boring. Lincoln is one of my favorite historical figures and I enjoy vampires, but the two together did not work. I actually sold this book back and go my money back.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2012

    Hunger game ia WAY better

    This books sucks I like the Hunger Games far mor rhen rhis spiece of crap

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2012

    Gctctc

    Sucks

    0 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2012

    DULL!

    I HAVE NEVER BEEN SO BORED BY A BOOK. I PERSEVERED IN THE DRUDGERY OF THE READ THINKING IT HAD TO GET BETTER.

    WOULD NOT KEEP IT ON MY SHELF, ONE OF THE FEW BOOKS I HAVE THROWN IN THE GARBAGE.

    0 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2012

    This is stupid

    Obviously this didnt happen because back theb there was no email or phones sooooooo

    0 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Couldn't get into it.

    I dont know if I have ever stopped reading a book without finishing it and I read A LOT. In the case of this book, I had a very difficult time getting into it. I kept wondering when something was going to happen. Perhaps I wasn't patient enough...

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 100 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 5