Customer Reviews for

Abraham Lincoln Vampire Hunter (Media Tie-In)

Average Rating 4
( 2091 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(946)

4 Star

(614)

3 Star

(309)

2 Star

(121)

1 Star

(101)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

106 out of 109 people found this review helpful.

What I thought it was not.

I picked this book up to laugh at the cover, I turned the book over to look at the back. It hooked me. I read the introduction, it reeled me in. I was thoroughly surprised at this books creativity, writing, as well as suspense, and humor. It is a fun book. I put this...
I picked this book up to laugh at the cover, I turned the book over to look at the back. It hooked me. I read the introduction, it reeled me in. I was thoroughly surprised at this books creativity, writing, as well as suspense, and humor. It is a fun book. I put this book down wishing there was more of Abe, and his adventures. I will be very happy to have this book on my shelf, in my friend category. I highly recomend it.

posted by 2_9 on March 19, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

23 out of 74 people found this review helpful.

Dull and uninteresting

I expected this book to be fun. It combined two of my favorite topics - vampires and Lincoln. It was dull, unimaginative, lacked wit or metaphor. Reading it was drudgery and I found myself skimming pages just to get done.

posted by 3gems9 on May 9, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 121 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted April 10, 2010

    Unfortunately this has very little bite

    Overall this was not a well done book. The writing is rather elementary and the dialogue is not in keeping with the period. There are also far to many plot holes for it to be effective alternative history. In the afterward the auther states he got much of his historical research from Wikipedia and I am afraid it shows. He might have done better to do some more in depth research. I would not recommend this book, particularly not to anyone with much awareness of Lincoln or civil war history.

    21 out of 69 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2012

    I tried

    Tried to get through the book but just could not. I found the book a bit boring and had a hard time keeping interest.... maybe the movie will be better than the book (a pharse I thought i would never utter)

    11 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2011

    Worth a read, don't expect too much!

    The facts of Lincoln's life are interesting; most of this information you don't learn in school. The writer does a great job with the factual information. However, the telling of the story leaves a lot to be desired. This could have been an incredible work of historical fiction, but it was not. The writer did not tie the beginning chapters together to the end, and he also seemed to repeat many sequences over in the story. It was as though his deadline was near and he had to finish his book.

    10 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2010

    Another southern slam, but with vampires

    I admit I was hesitant in reading, as a southerner who believes that Lincoln should have been tried for war crimes had he not been executed. That apart I found some joy in reading the book. I liked that the boy grew from this secret that he felt he alone must avenge, but later finds freinds that he entrusts to aide him. I was not happy about the character developement of his "close" friends and persons, almost like they had no part in his life. My main issue with the book is that it puts at the head of Lincoln's desire for war with the South as to rid America of Vampires (who so happen to be southern and in cahoots with southern gentlemen). I would ask that the author relook at history, the North had slaves as long as the South, and I'm sure they were not treated as equals. Slavery aside, the book read a little difficult at some times, skimming over plot pieces that could have been used to more humanize Lincoln and make him less the murderer that he was.

    3 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2012

    great in sight on his history and to blend it in with vampires

    But it got really boring and couod barely keep my interest i really had high hopes about the book now i have no clue why everyone loved it so much 2 stars only for the blended history

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2012

    Meh.

    Interesting but not exciting. At all.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2012

    I thought I was going to hate this and was incredibly wrong

    THE SHORT VERSION:

    Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter is the next widely-known novel from Seth Grahame-Smith, author of Pride, Prejudice, and Zombies. Yeah, that one.

    I went into this book expecting to hate it, to find it stupid, but was told by a friend I dearly trust that I had no choice other than to read it. While its title makes you want to laugh and scoff and roll your eyes, this book is refreshing, original, and exciting. Though bits of the pacing were stop-and-go, it's a good book that I highly recommend you read.


    THE DETAILS:

    This story is unique not only in its content, but also in its telling. A failed author and shop keeper in a small town is told to write the true story of Abraham Lincoln. The truth, he discovers, is that Lincoln had no original aspirations to be president, and stumbled into the political arena quite by chance thanks to his natural gift for story telling, his desire to do right by people, and of course his hatred of vampires. The story claims that Lincoln, one of America's greatest presidents, was also one of the greatest vampire hunters of his time.

    Tell me you're not scoffing at least a little.

    I really wanted to hate this. I expected to hate it. And yet, within the first five pages, I grew fond of the narrator's humor. Then, I wanted to know more about these journals the writer was given, which apparently told the true story. I wanted to learn why he'd been given this apparently all-important task of relaying the story of a few secret journals from Lincoln's life.

    The primary novel is Lincoln's story, not the writer's, but we alternate between third-person narration and excerpts from his secret journals (as well as other characters' letters to each other about him). It's broken into tree sections: boy, vampire hunter, and president. I have to admit, I found the last section a little dull and the pacing grew a little slow, but that's because it reflected more of his political and wartime ambitions than vampire hunting. However, the interwoven tales of vampires and the true nature of the Civil War were difficult to resist. We even get a little bit of John Wilke Booth's story. That was fun.

    I was not a huge fan of the last page. There was an interesting twist, one I suppose I should have (but didn't) see coming, but it left me a little let down. It felt a little forced, and made me question why the writer in the first chapter had been asked to write a tale of Lincoln's life. It was sweet, in a way, but felt too fictional and like the author was trying to tie everything in a bow.

    Regardless, this is a creative story. While I noticed an error here or there (one "excerpt" from Lincoln's journal was in third person, instead of first), I was still engaged by the story. There's humor, betrayal, discovery, the struggle between what's right and what's wrong, and the magical allure of vampires.

    Even if you think this sounds like the dumbest novel ever, you should give it a try. My friend proved me wrong about that. You'll probably be able to see if you'll like it in the first chapter.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2012

    sloe Slow

    Slow read. I thought the book was silly. Not really an actoin story.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2010

    Vampire Lore: The New Generation

    An attractive premise, but the plot didn't pay off. It was too gory to be entertaining and the vampire "rules" were too confusing. Didn't Bram Stoker explain the only ways to kill a vampire, to be killed by a vampire or to become a vampire? Why keep changing the recipe?
    The writing redeemed it, though, and made it interesting enough to read to the end.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2013

    Hard to keep reading

    Did not really hold my interest. Each individual story was fine, but I didn't have all that much interest in seeing what would happen next- not a "page turner".

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2013

    Yikes.

    Remember in 7th grade when you had a report on Lincoln due friday and 10pm thursday night you realized you hadn't done any of the reading yet . . .

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2013

    Didn't Enjoy

    Well, I did read it and finish it. I felt the book started with quite a bang, but the energy petered out about 2/3rds of the way through. For one, author never did address the issue about the guy in the basement reading this story to us. You know, the guy that was approached to read the volumes. At least, that's what I think happened. Maybe it was trying to parallel actual life, interesting and powerful in youth, but tawdry and boring in old age. Anyway -- didn't like it, wouldn't recommend it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2013

    Not good

    Not a good book on many levels. Bland storytelling pervades every page of this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2013

    While I liked the originality and storyline of ABRAHAM LINCOLN:

    While I liked the originality and storyline of ABRAHAM LINCOLN: VAMPIRE HUNTER, I can’t help but feel disappointed at the bevy of historical events leveled upon the reader. Before you chastise me, though, hear me out. If you’re going to make Abraham Lincoln, arguably the greatest president ever, a vampire hunter, then I say you go all in, hold nothing back, and leave the pages bloodied and martyred the way Lincoln leaves the vampires.

    Even though I understand the point was to interweave historical facts with fiction, this would have been a much more entertaining read if there were fewer historical facts coupled with more fiction to include boatloads of actual vampire slaying. Maybe, and this is a bit of a leap, he could have been the greatest vampire slayer of all time. He could have slayed and staked his way to the White House, destroying his political opponent (who just happens to be a vampire) in front of tens of thousands of people with the crowd cheering the way Romans cheered on their Gladiators.

    And once he ascended to presidency, he could have destroyed the entire Congressional floor (vampires had infiltrated the whole Senate and House of Representatives) with a single sword and hatchet. It’s not all too great a leap to believe vampires had permeated Congress and tried to rule the rest of the law-abiding citizens. And then once Congress was wiped out, Lincoln could have placed slaves in positions of authority, giving those men who had their rights usurped a chance to balance the scales. That would have been a stroke of genius, possibly even National Book Award worthy.

    Sure, the concept is good, but it could have been executed better. And it all could have started with more entertainment and fewer facts.

    Robert Downs
    Author of Falling Immortality: Casey Holden, Private Investigator

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2012

    Somewhat entertaining.

    While being an interesting twist on a noble historic figure, I just couldn't bring myself to finish this book. For me I just lost interest in the absurdity. But, that's probably the point...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2012

    Skip the book and watch the movie!

    Slow paced and felt like I was back in school. Rarely do I feel like it is a chore to read a book, but this felt like it. Started to pick up (barely) HALF WAY through. I do like that it goes in depth into his training, and how he comes about the knowledge to kill vampires... but most of the book was just eh...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2012

    Meh!

    Felt like a history lesson with some Vampirism injected into it. Meh!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2012

    G

    H

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Interesting read

    The premise was good but I was disappointed in the book. I found it distracting for the dates and places to be so disorganized. This book needed to be edited before releasing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2012

    Not that good

    They made this into a movie? Why? It made no sense. Some historical interest, otherwise very flat. No continuation from the beginning, not even sure why I gave it two stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 121 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7