Customer Reviews for

Abraham Lincoln Vampire Hunter (Media Tie-In)

Average Rating 4
( 2096 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(946)

4 Star

(616)

3 Star

(313)

2 Star

(121)

1 Star

(100)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

106 out of 109 people found this review helpful.

What I thought it was not.

I picked this book up to laugh at the cover, I turned the book over to look at the back. It hooked me. I read the introduction, it reeled me in. I was thoroughly surprised at this books creativity, writing, as well as suspense, and humor. It is a fun book. I put this...
I picked this book up to laugh at the cover, I turned the book over to look at the back. It hooked me. I read the introduction, it reeled me in. I was thoroughly surprised at this books creativity, writing, as well as suspense, and humor. It is a fun book. I put this book down wishing there was more of Abe, and his adventures. I will be very happy to have this book on my shelf, in my friend category. I highly recomend it.

posted by 2_9 on March 19, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

23 out of 74 people found this review helpful.

Dull and uninteresting

I expected this book to be fun. It combined two of my favorite topics - vampires and Lincoln. It was dull, unimaginative, lacked wit or metaphor. Reading it was drudgery and I found myself skimming pages just to get done.

posted by 3gems9 on May 9, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 313 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 16
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2012

    Great Story

    I do have to admit that it started out slightly disappointing, even made a comment to my fiance at one point that I was only reading it to the end because I had paid for it... but it really wasn't until a third of the way into the book where I really started to get hooked. I really like where they went with this and how they seamlessly integrated the world of vampires into American history. I almost wanted to believe that it could possibly had been true!

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2010

    ehhh...

    I thought it was going to be better than it was. I think the idea of this book is really cool. I wish it was a little deeper in explanation. The ending was pretty good, I wasn't expecting it. I would read a follow up book about Abe and Henry fighting the Nazi's. Who doesn't like reading about killing Nazi's?!!

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2012

    An OK Read

    I guess I had high expectations for this book. I lost interest at times, but it was still a fun idea.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2012

    Ok book

    The book was ok, hard to read and boring at times

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2012

    Expected Better

    I loved the idea. It was startling, it was new, it was coming off of the success of Pride, Prejudice, and Zombies, it seemed perfect. The format of this book is that it starts out with an introduction to a guy who is working at a shop and gets these diaries from the vampire Henry and then the shop keeper writes a book the "true" Abe Lincoln story. So it is set up in a biography sort of format, with narrative and inserts from the diaries. Here is where it gets tricky for me. There was a lot of dialogue and narrative in the book that was not set in the "inserted from diary" format. If that is how you are going to set up the book then that is what it needs to remain, not switching half way through. There was a lot of Lincoln pre-Civil War which was nice, but I pretty much the entire time just wanted to get the Civil War, which was a whole two chapters of the book (and did not include a lot of vampire slaying on Mr. Lincoln's part). The ending of the book also seemed a little bit of a cop out, and kind of completely defeating the purpose that Lincoln was setting out to in the entire book. Also we never got back to the shop keeper writing the book, which just really bugs me, because it's not bookended properly.

    Anyway overall if you are looking for a slow methodical look at a vampire hunter, here you go, but if your looking for a kick butt vampire slaying action book, you should just go watch Buffy instead.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2013

    Funny yet violent

    I loved how the story began but the last quarter of the book was too wordy and drawn out

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2012

    Entertaining

    An enjoyable twist on the cause and resolution of the Civil War. A good fantasy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2012

    Ok but not great

    The book was well written, but i struggled with the second half of the book. I read primarily fiction and horror, but this one was just too far out there for me. Granted i like the vampires being the parasites and not the twilight variety so that helped. So if you choose to read this book, good reading and hope you enjoy it at least as well as I.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2012

    Suspend your sense of Reality

    This is a fun read but you have to suspend your sense of reality. The premise is unbelieveable. However it does incorporate real history into the fantasy of Abe Lincoln fighting vampires.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2012

    Good Book

    This was a quick read and it twisted history and fiction in a great way.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2012

    It is an interesting read; however far too short. He could have

    It is an interesting read; however far too short. He could have written more about Lincoln as a vampire--that would have made the book complete. I didn't find the humor in the book. I enjoyed the writing immensely. I will read his other works.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2012

    Good read

    I wasn't amazed by this book but I finished it and enjoyed it..was a pleasant easy read! Great summer book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2012

    Interesting Read, but has some problems

    There is always a certain suspension of disbelief required for these kind of stories. The first 2/3 or so of the book were fun and enjoyable with just enough plausibility to carry you through. However, as you go down the stretch, the story seems rushed and contrived. For me, it yanked me out of the "zone". I don't know if the author was running out of ideas or the editor wanted less pages, either way it left me rather unsatisfied compared to the enjoyment I was having.

    It was worth reading, but not a keeper in my opinion.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2012

    Was it a masterpiece? No. Was it entertaining? Hell YES!!!

    I loved the way the author took factual historical documents and peppered them with vampire fiction.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2012

    Just ok

    Story line got pretty far out especially at the end

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2012

    Good laugh.

    Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter by Seth Grahame-Smith was waaaaay more entertaining for me than his Pride and Prejudice zombies novel. In fact, I confess on never finishing that one. This one I finished, though! I read it in two days. It was very amusing and well worth a read. A good blend of history and vamps, if ever the two should meet. Don't expect a really complicated plot, but expect to laugh.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2012

    It was an entertaining read. I enjoyed the history of that time

    It was an entertaining read. I enjoyed the history of that time in our nation's past and it was weaved into the story with ease.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2012

    Enjoyable Quick Read

    I actually was sitting in the movies when I say the movie trailer for said titled book. I had to do a double take and had a 'what the heck is that' moment. Anyway, I just happen to see to book on the BN site and took a chance. I really enjoyed this book and how the author melded historical facts with fiction. I'm curious to see the movie - I hope they do justic to story.
    B.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    First off, let's get somethjing straight, upfront. Abraham Linco

    First off, let's get somethjing straight, upfront. Abraham Lincoln was NOT a vampire hunter...never happened.
    That being said, I was only looking to this as a fluff read. You know, so bad it's good somehow?
    What I got however was a fast paced read mixing one of America's iconic leaders with vampires. Care was taken to make the story plausible, which is all I could hope for. Were there slow parts, or parts that were just underdeveloped? Yes. But throughout I found the book to be a colorful read, that kept me turning pages throughhout.
    The actual history in the book was treated fairly. Lincoln's early years; as a settler and merchant; his political career, winning the Presidency; the Civil War; and his assassination were covered. Also the turbulent and often tragic relationship with Mary Todd, the birth of three sons, having to bury two at an early age and Mary's break under the intense satrain of their life, were trated fairly.

    So a few vampires dropped bhy. No biggie! It was challenging to
    figure out where exactly the next plot twist was to come from But let's not treat this as a story of a larger than life man, which Abe still is. Let's remember to allow ourselves to laugh, and have fun with this rollicking good tale. I know I did!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2012

    Interesting but definitely strange. Worth a read.

    I'll never think of President Lincoln the same way again.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 313 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 16