Customer Reviews for

Abraham Lincoln Vampire Hunter (Media Tie-In)

Average Rating 4
( 2103 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(950)

4 Star

(618)

3 Star

(314)

2 Star

(121)

1 Star

(100)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

107 out of 110 people found this review helpful.

What I thought it was not.

I picked this book up to laugh at the cover, I turned the book over to look at the back. It hooked me. I read the introduction, it reeled me in. I was thoroughly surprised at this books creativity, writing, as well as suspense, and humor. It is a fun book. I put this...
I picked this book up to laugh at the cover, I turned the book over to look at the back. It hooked me. I read the introduction, it reeled me in. I was thoroughly surprised at this books creativity, writing, as well as suspense, and humor. It is a fun book. I put this book down wishing there was more of Abe, and his adventures. I will be very happy to have this book on my shelf, in my friend category. I highly recomend it.

posted by 2_9 on March 19, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

24 out of 75 people found this review helpful.

Dull and uninteresting

I expected this book to be fun. It combined two of my favorite topics - vampires and Lincoln. It was dull, unimaginative, lacked wit or metaphor. Reading it was drudgery and I found myself skimming pages just to get done.

posted by 3gems9 on May 9, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 618 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 31
  • Posted March 19, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Amazing

    This is one of the few rare books that tell a different story of our president and still honors him. He does not appear weak or foolish as some books have labeled him but this book keeps with the story of his life and works in the vampire angle wonderfully. I would recomend this book to anyone for the wonderful pictures, plot, the chartacters everything was great.

    40 out of 45 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    intriguing biographical supernatural fiction

    Born in 1809 in Illinois, a land dispute drove seven years old Abraham Lincoln, his older sister Sarah and their parents across the Ohio to settle in Indiana. In 1818, Great Uncle and Aunt Tom and Elizabeth Sparrows become ill from the milk sickness, they suffer greatly until a blessed coma and finally death took them both. Soon afterward his mother Nancy dies from the disease. Abe leaves home after his soulmate his mom is interred.

    Abe learns that his beloved mom was murdered by a vampire who took Nancy Hanks Lincoln's essence when her spouse failed to pay his debts on time. Young Lincoln vows vengeance on these evil creatures who would collect payment by murdering people. He studies diligently to learn all things vampire and their mortal allies, slave holders.

    This is an intriguing biographical supernatural fiction in which Seth Grahame-Smith "constructs" the secret life of the president from The Journal of Abraham Lincoln. The story line is set up to use the journal as if it was really written by the sixteenth president, but unknown until found by Seth Grahame-Smith; and supplemented with facts and pictures from Lincoln's life. Fascinating in many ways, Mr. Grahame-Smith provides a well written "historical" account of President Lincoln. However a lack of hypothesis speculating why no one leaked the undead facts, including Mr. Lincoln, to the general populace, who should have known anyway about he existence of vampires influencing America for instance using slave owners as minions and slaves as food.

    Harriet Klausner

    31 out of 43 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    Great fun!

    This isn't high lit and no one should pretend that it's meant to be. It's an American Gothic history fiction with a good, hard tweak of fantasy that keeps the reader smiling until the end. Both Abe Lincoln and major events from the mid 19th century are turned on their heels with the introduction of vampires into lead-up of the war between the states.

    Written in a combination of a discovered diary narrative, it has some problems with flow, but it's a forgivable flaw. It's still easy to follow and contains footnotes on the more obscure references. The characters are three-dimensional and they grow throughout the book. This is simply fun to read and will make an enjoyable summer-type movie eventually.

    I'm glad I read Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter.

    24 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2010

    Abraham Lincoln Vampire Slayer

    This was an interesting book. The premise is far fetched but the author does a good job tying in the historical aspects of Lincoln's political life and the civil war into a vampire story. The book moves quickly, although it is somewhat predictible. It was a fun read, but I would probably pass on a sequel.

    16 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Must-read for history buffs with an imagination!

    Dark, graphic, dramatic, and utterly obsurd...Seth Graham-Smith manages to seamlessly weave accurate historial accounts from Lincoln's life and political career with enthralling vampire lore in this fun, creepy, sophisticated take on vampires. Added symbolism in reference to slavery and the civil war adds to the ingenious that is Ambraham Lincoln, Vampire Hunter...Comes out March 2, 2010, GET IT!

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Eye-catching vampire novel

    The first thing that caught my eye was the title. Not only am I an avid history-nerd, I also like stories that dare to stray from conventions. "Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter" not only is an interesting take on the life of our 16th president, but it's also just plain cool to read. Who would've imagined Honest Abe as a vampire hunter?

    Check out this book if you love history, but are still willing to suspend your disbelief.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    fun,twisted look at history

    I found Seth’s take on Abe and American history to be highly entertaining. I love the format he used and the way in which he incorporated actual photos to support his story. The novel starts out introducing us to the writer of this novel, he is an aspiring author who finds life got in the way of his dream. One day Henry, a young man, who he has previously befriended, comes in to his store with a package and a sealed envelope. He tells him to read the letter first. The young man is anxious to read it but waits until the close of business. He reads the letter and it states the contents are on loan to him, if he agrees to write the story contained within. It further instructs him that he cannot share its contents with anyone. What he discovers are journals penned by Abraham Lincoln. They detail his life and his role as a vampire hunter. The aspiring author thinks it’s all a joke; till he hears a noise and turns around to see Henry with his fangs exposed. The tale that unfolds takes us on a journey from Abe's humble begins to his life in the White House. It is filled with history and unique twists; as key events depict vampire involvement. Seth kept me completely enthralled as we traveling through Abe’s life. The characters both famous and common in this novel were uniquely characterized by the author and I grew quite fond of them. I think the fact that he stayed true to these men and women’s personalities (as depicted through history) gave his twists a believability that might not have otherwise rung true. His introduction of Henry and how he influenced Abe was fascinating. I like how he separated vampires into two groups those who wanted to live among us and those who wanted to rule us. The way he blended slavery into this issue was horrifying and believable. Slavery in itself is deplorable and he found a way to make it darker. I still get goose bumps thinking about some of the scenes. I really enjoyed the slight alterations to historical events. The tale felt real and the fact that the author introduced himself into the tale as the writer gave the story an eerie authenticity. It was at times dark but I would have liked a little more gore! Having said that, I consumed this in a few sittings and was captivated both by the tale and the author’s writing style. I liked how he broke out sections to include journal entries. I felt he adequately depicted Abe’s voice in these entries. He incorporated some of Lincoln’s actual speeches and authentic journal passages to make it all feel surreal. The ending was unique but I am not one hundred percent sure it was the right one.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2012

    RECOMMENDED

    I saw the movie promotional poster at the movie theater over the holidays and upon seeing that it was based on a book, I had to read the book. I have to say that I was pleasantly surprised. I think the thing I liked most about the book is that the vampires are EVIL, they are mean, and vicious and Seth Grahame-Smith does a REALLY good job portraying this side of Vampires. He also does a great job at mixing history and fiction smoothly. I found it refreshing to read (as I am a fan of vampire novels) a Vampire novel in which vampires are portrayed Evil instead of nice and fluffy (you know what I am talking about). I most certainly recommend this novel.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2012

    Anonymous

    This is a fun read, the book is well written and I thought the author wrote it with a lot of respect for Lincoln. There were a few slow parts but overall the book kept my interest. I am looking forward to watching the movie.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    the Abe we see in our mind

    The fictinal story about Abe Lincoln only the mind could envision. Here w see some of the sorrows he faced through life, his mothers death,and two of his sons. then the fictional life onthe go searching for vampires and the hunt end in killing them. Here he has his friend H who saves his life and then learns he's a vampire. As he heals H. feend not only hs hunger for food but his love for books. When healed H teaches him how to hunt & kill vampires.To say more would spoil a good read. This I wil say, it tweaks the mind and makes one not wanting to put it down. I personally enjoyed it and would recomend it to anyone who enjoys a good work which holds ones attnetion and a good book.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2010

    Fiction & reality

    The author did a good job of mixing in fictional touches with fact. The book was overall well, but it lacked substance.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2010

    I never would have thought that old Abe was a vampire killer!

    The author's premise was just hook enough to make me order this offbeat, "kinda biography" of Lincoln and I have to say I thoroughly enjoyed it. It's the kind of read that goes very quickly and I must admit I wondered how he would end it. I read a lot of non-fiction and this was one of the most creative blends of fiction and non-fiction that I have ever run across. Sure there are questions about all these vampires running around everywhere with Abe seemingly always involved in destroying them but what the heck it's a bloody good read.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2012

    A great read....

    Who knew how much they were leaving out in history class!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2012

    A Fun read

    I was skeptical, but this turned out to be a very entertaining read. Can't wait to see the movie!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2013

    An excellent read.

    This book is a very fun book to read. I couldn't stop reading so much as I finished it in a little less than 2 days. It's a gripping, fictional tale that cleverly places historical events in the background. It will keep you turning page after page as you learn about Abe in his vampire hunting days. The author does an extremely good job getting you attached to this vampire hunter (aside from your historical attachment to him) Abraham Lincoln as he does a great job developing him from an exceptional young boy to the iconic 16th President that we know him as from past history classes and books. Although sort of scant, the author managed to work good humor into situations that weren't humorous by nature in the story. As well as another historical figure that was a welcomed, fun surprise in the book. Be warned, however, that this book is not faint of heart as the author does depict violence and vampire gore in a rather graphic way. It certainly got intense at moments very often all throughout.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2013

    Dark Horse Read

    This book blew my expectations out of the water. I was so drawn into the story that it only took me a matter of hours to finish it. The story, though obviously fiction, revealed itself in such a way as to make itself almost, and i stress the word "almost" , believable. The history was expertly intertwined with the fiction and the characters were wonderful.
    Now, the movie, as compared to the book, was complete and utter garbage. I will admit that my interest for this book was sparked by the commercials for the movie. I went out and read the book before seeing it. Sitting in my seat eating my favorite candy, my hopes and expectations were shattered as the plot was ripped apart in front of my eyes. Characters were embelished and the story deviated very far from the original. A classic case of authors selling out to Hollywood.
    The book, however, was amazing. I would absolutely recommend this dark horse read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2012

    Engaging

    I was looking for some light reading, and this looked just ridiculous enough to fit the bill. To my surprise it was way more interesting and engaging than I expected. It's written as though it was the actual history--almost believable. The characters were complex, and it was a great story. All you need is a little suspense of disbelief.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2012

    Very Interesting

    I want to give this book 4 and a half stars because it took me a while to get into it, but once I was hooked I loved and enjoyed reading this story. I studied Lincoln in depth in school and thought this would be fun to read. I like how the author weaves together history and fiction to create a captivating story. My first impression when I heard the title was that it was going to be silly, but after reading it I found I enjoyed it a lot. I'm going to see the movie soon now!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2012

    Hihghly recommended

    The book, Abraham Lincoln Vampire Hunter, was an enjoyable read for several different reasons. In Abraham Lincoln Vampire Hunter there were multiple sides that peaked my inerest and caught my attention. There was also some negative sides to this novel that I didn't like at all. I mostly appreciated this book for its well written story of our former president.

    There were numerous positives in the book Abraham Lincoln Vampire Hunter .For one, I particually liked how Lincoln had a vengeful spirt when going after the vampires in the story. Also, the use of Henry Sturges helped me understand the meaning of the book much more. To add, this book doesn't go exactly by Lincoln's life, but uses the vampire stories to fill in the missing clues. The author of this book put just the right amount of gore in this to keep this book interesting. This book had many positive aspects to look at.

    During the book, Abraham Lincoln Vampire Hunter, many negative actions occured that I disagreed with. During the story it starts off with Lincoln killing a bird and vowing to never kill again. I disliked this because the story starts off extremely slow, but picks up eventually in the story. Another negative to this book was how it had a documentary format, with Lincoln increasing in vampire activity as the story goes along. Lastly, towards the end of the story I faced a high level of confusion on how the story actually ends. All in all the positives out-last the negatives.

    The book, Abraham Lincoln Vampire Hunter , was a great overall read and highly recommend it. In the beginning there was a slow starts, but picks up the pace later. The negatives I have on this book are completely opinionated and are diiferent for everyone. This is really for anyone with a interest in history abd horror.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2012

    Great Blend of history and fiction

    Abraham Lincoln Vampire Slayer is a great blend of history and fiction. There are moments where the blending is so good you may wonder if this is the way it really happened.
    The writing is well paced and holds the readers attention.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 618 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 31