Customer Reviews for

Abraham Lincoln Vampire Hunter (Media Tie-In)

Average Rating 4
( 2090 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(946)

4 Star

(614)

3 Star

(309)

2 Star

(121)

1 Star

(100)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

106 out of 109 people found this review helpful.

What I thought it was not.

I picked this book up to laugh at the cover, I turned the book over to look at the back. It hooked me. I read the introduction, it reeled me in. I was thoroughly surprised at this books creativity, writing, as well as suspense, and humor. It is a fun book. I put this...
I picked this book up to laugh at the cover, I turned the book over to look at the back. It hooked me. I read the introduction, it reeled me in. I was thoroughly surprised at this books creativity, writing, as well as suspense, and humor. It is a fun book. I put this book down wishing there was more of Abe, and his adventures. I will be very happy to have this book on my shelf, in my friend category. I highly recomend it.

posted by 2_9 on March 19, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

23 out of 74 people found this review helpful.

Dull and uninteresting

I expected this book to be fun. It combined two of my favorite topics - vampires and Lincoln. It was dull, unimaginative, lacked wit or metaphor. Reading it was drudgery and I found myself skimming pages just to get done.

posted by 3gems9 on May 9, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 946 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 48
  • Posted March 19, 2010

    What I thought it was not.

    I picked this book up to laugh at the cover, I turned the book over to look at the back. It hooked me. I read the introduction, it reeled me in. I was thoroughly surprised at this books creativity, writing, as well as suspense, and humor. It is a fun book. I put this book down wishing there was more of Abe, and his adventures. I will be very happy to have this book on my shelf, in my friend category. I highly recomend it.

    106 out of 109 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Rread.

    The title was the firt to grab my attention. The rest did not let me down. A great way to learn about the life of our 16th pres. while engoying one thrilling story. I simply loved this book. Now I think I'll read his other books.

    62 out of 71 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Great!

    Very clever and interesting how the author uses real historical events to weave his story. Makes you almost believe there could still be vampires in Congress!

    49 out of 51 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2010

    Not another mash-up!

    I was a huge fan of Pride & Predudice & Zombies but, honestly, was getting a little sick of the whole mash-up scene. Good news! This isn't a mash-up. It's a well-crafted, well-paced historical slasher that just happens to star our 16th president! Great, great stuff.

    45 out of 51 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2010

    Civil War and Vampires! Does it get any better..........

    "Interview with the Vampire" meets "North and South" meets "True Blood"
    The mashing of American History (especially civil war era history) and vampires was brilliant.
    From a creative standpoint, I tip my cap to Seth Grahame-Smith. Well done!
    The book was a quick read. It did raise a few eyebrows, from fellow (nosey) passengers on the subway, though.
    A must read.

    32 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter by Seth Grahame-Smith

    I expected Seth Grahame-Smith's latest book, Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter, to be a tongue-in-cheek look at the life of Abraham Lincoln. I assumed it would be a parody of sorts attempting to use the timeline of Lincoln's life as map and having a little fun with US history. I expected vampirism to be an analog to slavery. That was simply not the case. Seth Grahame-Smith went well beyond all of that. He took the biographical history of Lincoln, and the historically pertinent parts of US history from Lincoln's time and wrote a compelling alternative look at one of the greatest presidents in our nations history.

    Conspiracy theorists are forever trying to reinterprets facts in an effort to constitute a hidden truth. Provide enough evidence, enough quantifiable facts, and the conspiracy theory gains momentum. Essentially this book posits that vampirism was the source of many of the seemingly natural and unnatural deaths of the time period. It goes a step further and makes a convincing argument that vampires were the driving force behind slavery in early United States history.

    Of course all of this is done in good fun. Anyone taking the story seriously needs to make an immediate appointment with their nearest head-shrinker. But the story is based on historical facts intermixed with some extremely creative fiction. My initial expectation for the book to be a lampoon was far from the mark. The book takes itself very seriously while still making for a fun read. In essence, Grahame-Smith asks an interesting question. What if early American history was forged by a hidden battle between good and evil? What if a supernatural secret was the formative force behind some of the United States darkest days?

    The book is well worth the time to read. It is a unique and interesting alternative look at American history. Based on enough historical fact to make even the most disbelieving wonder, what if...

    14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2010

    Drama, Suspense, Action, Lincoln, and Vampires!

    I heard about this book a few weeks before its release. I did not know what to expect and thought it would be a joke. But I took my chances anyways. WOW! I was suprised to be so entertained! From the introduction I was hooked. I could not put this book down. Exciting, suspensful, thrilling are understatements. If you have an open mind,imagination and want a different perspective on history, this book is for you!

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2010

    Fantastic Twist on Real History

    This was a good story. I don't know how to say it better.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2010

    Keeps you on edge

    I am not one to finish a book in a few days, but this book had me constantly reading it and not wanting to put it down. Seth Grahame-Smith did an excellent job weaving fact and fiction together in a way that was very believable!

    I highly recommend this book to everyone. After reading this you'll find yourself wanting to learn more about Lincoln and his life.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2012

    Amazing!

    Extremely well-written. This book was able to capture the amazing and interesting life of one of this countries greatest presidents all the while making a fantastic and fun read. It flowed together perfectly! I have to say near the end reading this I wished it would last much longer. Altogether a very well-written, moving book.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2010

    I love this book!

    As soon as I started reading this book I was hooked and I couldn't put the book down until I finished reading the whole thing! The only thing I would have changed was the end, only because I wanted more to read! I cried, laughed, and enjoyed every second of this book! Kudos to you, Mr. Grahame-Smith!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2012

    Surprisingly good...

    Knowing the movie is due to theaters soon, I thought i'd check it out. Other reviews seemed to enjoy it, so what the heck. The author does a great job of weaving Lincoln's known life with fiction. It's a very entertaining read and surprisingly good. If vampires are your thing, then definitely check this out.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2012

    Great

    It is a good book. Movie coming soon! Can't wait.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2012

    Interestingly informative

    I loved Pride, prejudice and zombies, so I gave this a try after hearing about it on an interview Seth Grahame- Smith did on NPR. It was great, a page turner, for sure. I was surprised by all the true facts about Lincoln that Seth weaved in and out of this vampire tale.
    Very fun read

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2012

    Highly recommended!

    This book was so well written, I had to keep reminding myself it wasn't real.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2012

    honest ane or honest vampire hunter?

    I rated this higher than the hunger games for a couple reasons, it was interesting, nice plot, fun to read, and it doesn't get old. It was astounding to see how the author put this together with three of my four favorite things. It had action, vampires, and historical figures. The only thing it didn't have was zombies. Trust me this book worked together completely, do not listen to other reviews this book came together like a puzzle and the author got the pieces to fit. Very good book definite BUY do not miss out. Judging the book I can not wait to see the movie wonderful masterpiece, yours truly, BJD

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    One of best books I've read!

    I highly recommend this book love love loved it!!! I hope the movie will be as good as the book!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2010

    great fictional history

    I loved this book and would definitely recommend it to others... it made the history aspect of it interesting whereas before I have never been interested in Ab's story. Unlike the other sea monster and zombie jane austen adaptations, there is no previous book this is being mirrored off of, which I found even more fascinating because it did not disrupt characters I already had an attachment to. Much is true (minus the vampires.. but who knows even that could have been true) with some excess thrown in to add drama. The writing style is great and keeps you wanting more. Its from Ab's point of view and is split into 3 main portions: boy, vampire hunter, and president. Great read, very entertaining.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2013

    Abraham Lincoln Vampire Hunter Abraham Lincoln Vampire Hunt

    Abraham Lincoln Vampire Hunter




    Abraham Lincoln Vampire Hunter is about the secret life of Abraham Lincoln as a vampire hunter. I personally found the book to be more interesting than the movie. The book is basically the introduction to the movie. I disliked the book because it started off slow. I like books to have action and mystery right from the start. The book is different from the movie in many ways, for example: in the movie Abraham kills Jack Barts when he is a grown man, but in the book Abraham kills Jack when he is twelve years old. I would recommend this book to just about anybody. It is full of action and mystery and it has a great story line.  This book will keep you on your toes and will have you wondering what will happen next. When you decide that it is time to put it down for the night, you will think twice because there is not a boring part in the entire book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2013

    11 !!!!!!!!

    Boss!!!!!!!!!!!! Luved it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 946 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 48