Customer Reviews for

The Absent Author (A to Z Mysteries Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 84 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(53)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

My son loved this book.

My eight-year-old really enjoyed this book. That speaks volumes about this story, because typically when he's assigned reading as homework he'll say, "Mom, reading is so boring!" He read it aloud to his five-year-old baby sister and they both were pleasantly (read aston...
My eight-year-old really enjoyed this book. That speaks volumes about this story, because typically when he's assigned reading as homework he'll say, "Mom, reading is so boring!" He read it aloud to his five-year-old baby sister and they both were pleasantly (read astonished gasps here) surprised by the ending. I just want to mention that the book Dr. Judy Rowen is reviewing in the "critic's review" is not this book. The Absent Author has nothing to do with jungles or rain forests or encroaching civilization. Hopefully someone will notice this soon and remove her review. The Absent Author is cute, fast-paced and a good read for children who are just starting to read chapter books. My kids loved it enough to beg for following books in the series.

posted by Anonymous on October 15, 2002

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Freezebreeze

"Sorry Whisperpaw, wrong choice of words." She said facing the apprentince. "Would you like to be a warrior apprentince? Earlier, I meant to ask of you wanted to be training as warrior cats or as medicine cats. Oh well, my mistake." Freezebreeze then faced both of them....
"Sorry Whisperpaw, wrong choice of words." She said facing the apprentince. "Would you like to be a warrior apprentince? Earlier, I meant to ask of you wanted to be training as warrior cats or as medicine cats. Oh well, my mistake." Freezebreeze then faced both of them. "If you do want to join, go to second result. I am only a medicine cat apprentince so I can't do the ceremony properly. When you get there, ask for Goldenstar and she can help you with that."

posted by 9100085 on February 13, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 86 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2002

    My son loved this book.

    My eight-year-old really enjoyed this book. That speaks volumes about this story, because typically when he's assigned reading as homework he'll say, "Mom, reading is so boring!" He read it aloud to his five-year-old baby sister and they both were pleasantly (read astonished gasps here) surprised by the ending. I just want to mention that the book Dr. Judy Rowen is reviewing in the "critic's review" is not this book. The Absent Author has nothing to do with jungles or rain forests or encroaching civilization. Hopefully someone will notice this soon and remove her review. The Absent Author is cute, fast-paced and a good read for children who are just starting to read chapter books. My kids loved it enough to beg for following books in the series.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2011

    Best ever

    Best A to Z book I ever read. Oh,wait, it's the first one I read.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2012

    9 year old loves it

    He can't put it down. Will definitely buy more from the series.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2012

    PerfectClan

    I am willing to have kits! Anyone want to be their father?

    2 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2012

    Great, just short

    This is a great book that had me guessing all the way through. The only thing is if you have a kid or teen that isn't doing what he or she is you tell them to, you probably shouldn't let them read this. I'm a big reader and wish that it had more than eighty-six and a half pages...

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2011

    i liked it

    it is a good story. i loved the story because it was a mystery

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2005

    I really liked the Absent Author

    It was the best A to Z Mysterie I ever read. Dink, Josh, and Ruth Rose try to find Wallis Wallace, Dink's favorite author. He was going to the Book Nook to sign Dink's books. When he was late, Officer Fallon thinks he just missed his plane, but Dink knows better. Dink and his other two mystery sovling friends try to find Wallis Wallace. Who kidnapped him, or did he get kidnapped? Its a really good book. Its the best book yet by Ron Roy!!! It's a great book. You should get it!!! I read all Ron Roy's A to Z Myseteries that are out and this one was the BEST!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2000

    My number one book

    The Absent Author is my favorite book of all time. I love the surprise at the end but i don't want to spoil it for the kids who didn't read it yet. My favorite author is you Ron Roy. Next book is The Kidnapped King.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2013

    Good

    Well I love A to Z mestreys

    Thank you

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2013

    Jinnelle brewster

    It was amazing great book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2013

    Great book actually!

    Im now going into middle school and when my little brother (that was in second grade) brought it home from the library I couldnt help but read the back of it. After he read it he said it was a great book so I decided to try reading it. Usually when I read kids books I lose interest in them right away from the first page. But this book was different and I was really shocked! I guess I liked it because it was part mystery but it also captured my attention. It has a great plot and great characters too. I would reccomend to you.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2013

    To anyone who is a hater

    To anyone who is a hater just back off this book was good and i love it so any of you with strong negative opinions just leave other peoople alone

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2013

    The absent auther The absent auther

    I like it. Um, l think l have bad signal.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2013

    Stormpaw leader of stormclan to other stormpaw

    Dont get mixed up sorry thats my name please change yours its important

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    Ere apral1

    Good but silly book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2013

    I love this

    Really good book series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2013

    I wish i could read this

    I wish i could read this book but i can't cause my grandma won't put money on hher walmart card

    sent from robinson illonois at 12:22 pm

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2013

    Great book very well wrote i loved it!!!!!!!!!!!

    When i read this book it made me go into a new world the A to Z mystery world and i had a great time there!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2012

    The Absent Author-Ron Roy

    In "The Absent Author", Dink's favorite author-Willis Wallis-is coming to town for an interview at the Book Nook! However, before Willis gets to the Book Nook, he mysteriously disappears! Can Dink and his friends Josh and Ruth Rose find out where he is? And is Willis really a man?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2012

    Absent ather review 56

    it is a great book! I would recamend it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 86 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5