Customer Reviews for

Absolute Beginner's Guide to C

Average Rating 4
( 17 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted January 15, 2013

    Very Good

    Old book, but still better than new publications. The best for beginners.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2012

    Good explanations, but typos are a problem

    I am taking an introductory computer science course where this book is referenced and I've found it very helpful for common features of C since I did C++ but years ago. However, the chapter on headers and other pre-processing directives frequently makes reference to the wrong header file (eg. stdio.h when string.h is under discussion). While someone with even a limited background in C or C++ will get the point and make the correction, someone with no background - i.e. the person who could really learn from the chapter - may be confused.

    If you are a true absolute beginner, I would recommend this as one of the better introductions but would advise keeping Google open to run a quick search to find out what's going on when sample code doesn't compile as advertised.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Borrow this book

    Mediocre, hard to imagine if this is your first time, need hands on exercises to internalize.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2011

    Best Book Ever for the Beginner!

    I found this book great for me. I have read other books on C before but none stood out with such clarity. A straight forward to the point book. If you plan on learning C, this book is required reading for a beginning programmer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2009

    I "C" You

    Absolute Beginner's Guide to C was my breaktrhrough publication to understanding the "C" Programming Language. It paid back immediate dividends at work and has opened my eyes to a deeper grasp of "C"!
    Thanks Greg!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2002

    It was so good it was stolen!!!

    I bought the book 1 day prior to it been stolen. Put the book down stepped 10 feet away and I guess the simplicity of it caught a readers eye they read it and they decided to keep it!!! I was mad but I went and got another one.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2002

    A GREAT BOOK ON C

    This was a fantastic book to read...i enjoyed all the little notes and clues. I COULDNT PUT THE BOOK DOWN! I STRONGLY suggest you buy this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2002

    A great learning guide

    This book is wonderful. User friendly is the optimal phrase. I strongly recommend it for anyone who is seeking basic concepts of the C language. Mr. Perry's attention to the detail is incredible.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2001

    The Best Beginners Book on C

    This is the best book on C you will find. Be advised though, this book is intended for the complete newbie who knows very little/nothing of programming. The book is written extremly well and is easy to read. Through the reading there are little tidbits of information which help you to understand the concepts better. The best book of it's kind.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2000

    Good book to start with

    I read this book in less then 2 weeks. I did get a good grasp on some of the concepts but when you do not have some exercises to practice with, It kind of makes it hard to really know the concepts. It's like math, if u don't do the examples, you don't learn. Also the book is very general, you really can't master any thing with this book, but it's a good book to get into the feel of C

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2000

    Does exactly what is was meant to do

    This is THE book to start on if you wanna learn C. Helps you understand alot of the difficult concepts. I guarantee this book will help you learn C!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2000

    The Book that saved us all

    I have been triying to learn C for a long time now and once my friend let me have this book when he bought it, it really started something. buy it. You have to be stupid not to learn from this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2000

    Time-saver's delight!

    This book's understandable summaries are perfect for the programmer begining C. Just read the average-of-one-page summary for each chapter (32 chapters), and if there's anything you want more detail on, just go back and I'm certain you'll find it FAST. There are no important concepts hidden deep within a paragraph! The author doesn't shy from the words 'always' and 'never'. This book is just like a 700 page book chopped in half! Even the code doesn't go on and on and on.... Well, you get the point. If you plan to get a job programming in C, this isn't for you. This is for the one-time class taker who is beginning, someone building a foundation for C++, or someone struggling in their C class. Don't give up-it's not too late! You'll understand pointers, methods, variables, etc. in no time!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1