Customer Reviews for

Absolute Fear (New Orleans Series #4)

Average Rating 4
( 138 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(68)

4 Star

(46)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

A GOOD READ!!

I have not read any of the other Lisa Jackson books in this series, so I was new to everything, the characters, the mental hospital. I picked this book up just because I have heard Lisa Jackson is a good author and I decided to give her a try. Once I started I could not...
I have not read any of the other Lisa Jackson books in this series, so I was new to everything, the characters, the mental hospital. I picked this book up just because I have heard Lisa Jackson is a good author and I decided to give her a try. Once I started I could not put it down. I read it in a day. True, I was a little disgusted at the "soap operish" conclusion of everyone turning out to be related to each other. And yes, I thought both Kristi and Eve were very stupid to roam around the hospital at night, but in real life there are people out there who are like that. They look at the people who don't lock their car doors or make sure windows and doors are locked at night or who jog at 3 am in cities where rape and murder are prevelant. It does happen. The story kept me turning the pages and not wanting to put the book down pining to find out how things turned out in the end. The author accomplished what she set out to do. I will contnue to read more from Lisa Jackson.

posted by 148253 on November 4, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

I am so disappointed. I wanted to like this book but,

The plot is contrived, the dialog very, very stilted, and the characters ring false. There are way too many extremely poorly written graphic sex scene descriptions which detract from what little plot there is. I do not recommend this book. I almost feel like...
The plot is contrived, the dialog very, very stilted, and the characters ring false. There are way too many extremely poorly written graphic sex scene descriptions which detract from what little plot there is. I do not recommend this book. I almost feel like sending Ms. Jackson a bill for wasting my time in reading this.

posted by Anonymous on June 11, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 68 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    A GOOD READ!!

    I have not read any of the other Lisa Jackson books in this series, so I was new to everything, the characters, the mental hospital. I picked this book up just because I have heard Lisa Jackson is a good author and I decided to give her a try. Once I started I could not put it down. I read it in a day. True, I was a little disgusted at the "soap operish" conclusion of everyone turning out to be related to each other. And yes, I thought both Kristi and Eve were very stupid to roam around the hospital at night, but in real life there are people out there who are like that. They look at the people who don't lock their car doors or make sure windows and doors are locked at night or who jog at 3 am in cities where rape and murder are prevelant. It does happen. The story kept me turning the pages and not wanting to put the book down pining to find out how things turned out in the end. The author accomplished what she set out to do. I will contnue to read more from Lisa Jackson.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent Bayou thriller

    Three months have passed since that fatal night that still haunts Eve Renner, the adopted daughter of Dr. Terrence Renner, former chief psychiatrist at the now closed Our Lady of Virtues Mental Hospital. That evening her borderline paranoid childhood friend Roy demanded Eve meet him at his Uncle Vernon Kajak¿s remote fishing cabin as he has evidence. Instead the serial killer the Reviver murdered Roy Eve saw her boyfriend Cole¿s face just before going unconscious. She suffers from amnesia, but fears Cole is this number tattooing psychopath avenging an apparent affront received at the asylum. --- Detectives Reuben Montoya and Rick Bentz lead the investigation but though they question Cole, they lack evidence to hold him. As the cops try to stop a deranged killer from adding new numbers to the body count, Eve believes answers to the murderer¿s identity and why can be found in Our Lady of Virtues Mental Hospital where she grew up. However, she needs help so she wonders whether she should turn to Cole, who just might be the killer. --- ABSOLUTE FEAR will bring shivers up and down the spine of the audience every time the Reviver leaves his tattoo numbers behind on the latest corpse. Eve is a terrific central character as she wonders if the man she loves is the killer while deciding to uncover the truth by going into the asylum where she knows ¿hell¿ awaits her. On a personal side note for those fans following these Bayou thrillers, Reuben¿s fiancée Abby Chastain thinks Eve might be her half-sister. Though asylum serial killers and heroines with amnesia can be trite devices, Lisa Jackson keeps her plot brisk and fresh as the action-pack twisting story line thoroughly entertains readers. --- Harriet Klausner

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Lisa Jackson does it AGAIN!

    I love Lisa Jackson's books. This is a book in a series or has other related books with the same characters. It does keep you thinking until the end, trying to figure out who the serial killer is and how he is related to the other characters in the book. It does answer a lot of questions that were left "OPEN" from the previous book "SHIVER" that was also one of those books I just could not put down! The book is able to pull you into it and make you feel like you are living the experience with the other characters, your pulse pounding and your heart racing!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2007

    HUSHED WHISPERS,

    Eve renner and cole dennis are a great couple.Their inteplay durnig the killings is great,bone chilling fear coupled with intense passion. Also brining back montoya and abby is great touch. Great characters,,,

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2007

    Stands Tall

    In her stunning follow up to the 2006 best seller 'Shiver,' Lisa Jackson has proven that there's room for a little romance amid all the death and depravity. Absolute Fear is part of the Bayou series, which includes, 'Hot Blooded, Cold Blooded, and Shiver.' The plot line is in depth and complicated yet developed simultaneously with the characters, in such a way that Absolute Fear stands on its own. This book has it all, child abuse, scandalous behavior within the church, unethical medical practices, sex, murder and mayhem. Having enjoyed this novel on every conceivable level, I have added all three previous titles to my list of must reads. Absolute Fear opens three months after the ritualistic murder of Roy Kajak and the attempted murder of Eve Renner. Eve, still suffering from amnesia, returns to New Orleans.That very day, Cole Dennis was set free. It seemed like a life time ago that she had met Cole at her fathers farm house. A hot shot attorney that successfully represented Dr. Renner after his patient committed suicide. There was a part of her that had never been convinced that he had tried to kill her. On the night of her return, this belief would be tested, when Cole appears at her door. They had to find a way to trust each other and work together. The irony of this uneasy alliance is yet another twist leading the reader deeper into the story. Everything that was happening was related to the asylum, where her father had been the head psychiatrist. As an adult she had heard rumors about Our Lady of Virtues and the horrors that occurred there. Now in order to regain control of her life she would have to go back where it all began. Because somewhere in the midst of that crumbling building were the shattered pieces of her memory. The key to the murders wasn't the only secret Our Lady held. Oh no, there was more, much more. The subtle innuendos quickly place the reader into a frenzied state of near panic. Frantically reading as quickly as possible in hopes of finding a calm place to slow down and breathe. Unspeakable madness had once been perpetrated behind the walls of Our Lady of Virtues - and he intended to revive that madness, just for Eve. She would pay for her sins, he would make sure of that. Then he would be deified, his god had said. The 'Reviver' is a sick, twisted, ritualistic murderer. The tattooing, cryptic clues and murders are all part of his elaborate revenge. He knew they were all so blinded by sin that they were unable to interpret that which he had written in blood for all to see? He wouldn't just spell it out for them - and yet that is exactly what he had done. As the true nature of his actions and extent of his manipulations are revealed, the skillfully coded clues scattered throughout become crystal clear. Absolute Fear is an Absolute Best Seller! Lisa Jackson has continued her series, while creating a novel that stands tall on its own merit. Jackson's ability to explore the inner workings of this characters depraved mind is an astonishing literary feat, that should not be overlooked. Successfully delivering to the reader a fright filled journey into the dark recesses of a madman's desires, while maintaining a relationship filled with explosive passion places Lisa Jackson in the company of the best! This book has the perfect mix of secrets, lust and murder to keep readers coming back again and again. And with the door left open at the conclusion, we can hope that there will be another installment.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2013

    Loved it

    This is the best book ever

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2013

    Mystery ! At it's finest !

    Read it !

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2012

    highly recommend

    i loved the book. keeps you on the dege of your seat.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2012

    Highly Recommended ! Great Read

    I Love this series as well as the Author ! She is able to keep you coming back for more after every book series or not!!. I started the series about 1.5 months ago and I am already getting ready to dive into the 5th book of this series ! They are so spell binding that you just cant put the books down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2012

    Omg..oh my gosh

    This book like all of Lisa Jackson's is just great...you cannot put it down. I loved this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2012

    Sweetmist

    *lays a couple of poppyseeds next to Darksong*~Sweetmist

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2012

    Dusk

    Excuse me creeper but she can ignore you, ya know.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2012

    Ninja to pixi

    Come home

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2012

    Highly recommended!

    I love all of Lisa Jackson's books, and this one was terrific.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2011

    A definate page tuner

    Dont make any plans till your are finished. I couldn't turn off my nook to even charge!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2011

    Lisa Jackson has another winner with Absolute Fear.

    An abandoned mental asylum, murders, romance, and a New Orleans setting-a recipe for a great book concocted to perfection by Lisa Jackson. I have read several other books by Ms. Jackson that include some of the same characters and each one is truly something special. This book will not disappoint readers in any way. It will, if anything,spur one on to purchase more of her books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2010

    my 1st Lisa Jackson novel.

    and wont be my last!! Loved everything about this story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Absolute Fear great book

    I just started with Lisa Jackson and so far I like her books. I have read a few and so far they have been great. This book I could not put down and I got it done in 2 days.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2008

    Grabs you from 1st page!

    This book is great. It's the first book I've read in a while, since Greg Iles 'Dead Sleep' that grabbed me from page one. The villian is a real sicko, plot has lots of action, twists & turns. Great until last page. Very creepy setting, great!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2008

    great suspense

    Another winner for Lisa Jackson,tying in Hot Blodded, Cold Blooded & Shiver, the story with its roller coaster twisting suspense had me turning pages feverishly, almost in a panic to learn more. Looking forward to more LJ. Fast page page turner. I highly recommend Absolute Fear.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 68 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4