Customer Reviews for

Absolute Liability (Southern Fraud Thriller #1)

Average Rating 4
( 61 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(28)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Suspenseful and Satisfying

I love mysteries and thrillers. I was raised right, which means on a healthy doses of Columbo and Murder She Wrote. I am very picky about my mysteries/thrillers because so many authors either try to hard (the wise-cracking lead comes off more like someone who missed a c...
I love mysteries and thrillers. I was raised right, which means on a healthy doses of Columbo and Murder She Wrote. I am very picky about my mysteries/thrillers because so many authors either try to hard (the wise-cracking lead comes off more like someone who missed a career in standup as opposed to someone whose just quick on their feet), or don't try hard enough (I know who dunnit by chapter 4). When I find a really good mystery I cannot put it down and that is the case with Absolute Liability, which I read straight through as fast as I could.

Julia Jackson is a really believable lead character. She's funny without being annoying, she's vulnerable and insecure enough to not be a superwoman, and she yet she is clever and dedicated enough to keep me interested and rooting for her.

Her new partner Mark Vincent is, um . . . hot. Yes, I said it! But he's got layers and layers that I so want Julia to start unraveling. I love the chemistry between them and I cannot wait to read more about these awesome characters.

All in all, I say two thumbs up! Five stars! I vote this as one of my "super satisfying summer reads," and I highly recommend that you read it.

posted by Narnia_Mum on July 15, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good book

A good read. Moves really fast and has some suspense. I would read the rest in the series.

posted by 3308930 on November 8, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 64 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted July 15, 2011

    Suspenseful and Satisfying

    I love mysteries and thrillers. I was raised right, which means on a healthy doses of Columbo and Murder She Wrote. I am very picky about my mysteries/thrillers because so many authors either try to hard (the wise-cracking lead comes off more like someone who missed a career in standup as opposed to someone whose just quick on their feet), or don't try hard enough (I know who dunnit by chapter 4). When I find a really good mystery I cannot put it down and that is the case with Absolute Liability, which I read straight through as fast as I could.

    Julia Jackson is a really believable lead character. She's funny without being annoying, she's vulnerable and insecure enough to not be a superwoman, and she yet she is clever and dedicated enough to keep me interested and rooting for her.

    Her new partner Mark Vincent is, um . . . hot. Yes, I said it! But he's got layers and layers that I so want Julia to start unraveling. I love the chemistry between them and I cannot wait to read more about these awesome characters.

    All in all, I say two thumbs up! Five stars! I vote this as one of my "super satisfying summer reads," and I highly recommend that you read it.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2011

    Great read - moves quickly, good plot, leaves you wanting more

    This book is a fast read, with interesting characters, a good mix of action, mystery, and just a touch of romance (don't worry - no kissy kissy smoochie smoochie here...) The mystery is ultimately solved, and yet... the book leaves you wondering about the main character, a couple of the secondary characters, and what about that other mystery that was a back thread? I can't wait to read more in her next book, coming out in January!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2013

    Julia is fighting to find someone from her sisters past who tore

    Julia is fighting to find someone from her sisters past who tore her family apart, but in doing so, she has put her life on hold. She stopped living her life at 15 and started focusing on Tricia and how to find this person and became a police officer. When the police department downsized, she became an employee with the state department of insurance(DOI), but little known to everyone else, she took something along with her when she left the PD about her sisters case. Tripp, her boyfriend at the time of Julia's world falling apart and also a now a detective, is still in her life. When it is reported that Julia has been kidnapped on a fact finding mission, she is in shock, when in fact, she just went to get coffee for herself and for a few interns. She calls Tripp and he can't believe she is okay and nearly cracks a few of her ribs when he sees her. But the person taken was to have been Julia and they continue to want to see her dead. The DOI decides to change its policy starting now and it will only send out 2 people when going on the fact finding missions for fraud and in comes Vincent. Tripp and Vincent are both so yummy. Julia realizes her family is at risk as well as her home because address book and house key are amoung the items taken from the office she was working at. Naturally, the guilty parties fumble and continue to mess up. Julia and Vincent conitnue to get to know one another and soon find out that they are somewhat alike. Tripp can't rest because the case is not turning over any leads. When Julia stumbles over something at a warehouse waiting on someone she is so horrified. And she struggles with it because it takes her back to the memories of how she could not help Tricia. I loved how the book took the time to give you the guilty persons side of it, without ever knowing who that person was. Julia figured it out but it was almost too late. And she again suffered for it. I just hope she gets closure for Tricia so she and Vincent can work on, it seems they have a bond that I hope will continue to grow in the next book of this series and I look forward to continuing it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2013

    1st Book in Southern Fraud Series is No Fraud-- It's Real Deal!

    Julie Jackson is insurance investigator in Georgia after being laid off from local police force. She is dealing with family dysfunction, guilt, and seems "stuck" in time after her sister's assault remains unsolved. Becton permits us to feel emotional ups/Downs as Jackson is reported kidnapped. This book has subtle humor, suspense, hint of attraction to new work partner. Try this one and try JD Nixon's Blood Ties, it's free and worthy of your time.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2013

    Liked it

    This was a good enough to make you curious to follow the main character and read the next book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2014

    R

    Enjoyable. My new fav. author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2013

    Highly Recommended

    I loved this book so much that I had to actually buy it again because I accidentally deleted it from my NOOK. Lesson learned! I found this to be a very enjoyable read with just the right amount of mystery, romance & humor. Will follow this series to the end & will reread again. JudyE

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2013

    Page turner!

    An amazing book for ppeople who love good on your seat mysteries and a well written female lead. I recommend this book if you want a good cheap book that you just can't put down!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2011

    Worth the read

    I was expecting something a little silly but was impressed with the quality of this serious "mystery". There were the essential bits of humor that make a good mystery work. Loved the characters!

    I couldn't give it a five because there were some weaknesses but I will definitely read more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    excellent reading

    Not a nailbiter, but edgy enough to keep picking it up!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2011

    Great Book!

    I really enjoyed reading this book & I look forward to reading the next ones in the series as they become available.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2011

    Very good read - Try it!!

    Looks like a Very worth while series in the making. Definetly enjoyed this first installment!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2013

    This sounds like a very interesting read.

    This sounds like a very interesting read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2013

    Awful

    Don't waste your time with this book.

    Poorly written.

    I gave one star only because the review requires a rating but in reality it doesn't deserve any stars.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2013

    I am going to say this book is great read.It keep you with th

    I am going to say this book is great read.It keep you with the book the whole time i read up to 4 week and getting caught up with reviews.

    The author give credit to her dad and then you like the idea of the way the book is made.The book start off with a cop who get laid off of the job she held and then now she doing insurance fraud now and then hears on the radio she was kidnapped form the office but she was on a coffee and pastry run.

    What is going on now i got to call dad mo and my sister dam this pisses her off and she going to find out why they are saying this.I am investigation a fraud at the water waste plant and then who did they take. There is a temp who work with me who look like me did they make a mistake and take the wrong person and why.

    Now she got to figure what going on so her boss brings in a agent to help me investigate what going on the murder and then now the plant and then what i am going to do is going to astound you see i am not going to let the girl down and then i am going to finish it till i have to do till death

    i got the book and then what the opinion i do write good review and try not to tell you to much of the book i love the way she did it and would love to read it more off them

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2012

    Intriguing read

    Awesome book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2012

    Light Hearted Mystery

    Loved the characters from the beinning. Reminds you of that quirky friend next door type with the 'how did she end up so lucky as to be paired with him' male lead. Mostly light hearted but great storyline underneath with Tricia, sister to Julia (main character). Fun read with enough mystery to keep it interesting. Will follow series to it's conclusion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2011

    Good book

    Liked the plot. Easy to read. Would like to read more of these types of books from this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2011

    Not bad

    A bit slow in the beginning, but ended okay.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2011

    Unable read . . .

    Black on Black background - no white print, which I need for my vision problem.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 64 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4