Customer Reviews for

Absolute Power

Average Rating 4.5
( 129 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(74)

4 Star

(34)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Surprise Ending if you've seen the movie! Great book!

I hesitated to purchase the book because I saw the movie several years ago. Like most books turned into movies, the movie doesnt' do the book justice but the movie changed the story ending significantly. If you haven't read this book it's worth it! I thoroughly enjoyed ...
I hesitated to purchase the book because I saw the movie several years ago. Like most books turned into movies, the movie doesnt' do the book justice but the movie changed the story ending significantly. If you haven't read this book it's worth it! I thoroughly enjoyed it.

posted by GregS_Tucson on March 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Didn't finish

I usually love this author, however, this book is different than his usual style. I decided to stop because of language and sexual content. Very disappointed.

posted by 10831267 on June 13, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 129 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted March 28, 2012

    Surprise Ending if you've seen the movie! Great book!

    I hesitated to purchase the book because I saw the movie several years ago. Like most books turned into movies, the movie doesnt' do the book justice but the movie changed the story ending significantly. If you haven't read this book it's worth it! I thoroughly enjoyed it.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2013

    Hard book to put down!

    Hard book to put down!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2011

    Suspense on every page! Could NOT put it down..

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2013

    Didn't finish

    I usually love this author, however, this book is different than his usual style. I decided to stop because of language and sexual content. Very disappointed.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2013

    Surpringly good

    Not my usualcupof tea but i enjoyed emmencely

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2011

    Highly recommend

    Very good book. I could not put it down. Without a doubt, the best book I have read in a number of years. I would recommend this book to my friends.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Fantastic reader!

    I've been a fan of David Baldacci's political thrillers for a while now, but realized I had never read Absolute Power - the one that started his string of bestsellers. (17!)

    Luther Whitney is a master burglar. For the last twenty years, he's tried to keep his nose clean. But he pulls one last job for an old friend. He breaks in without incident, but is suddenly forced to hide when the owner and some others come home. He is stunned when the unthinkable happens - even more unbelievable is the perpetrator - the President of the United States.

    Luther turns to lawyer Jack Graham - the ex boyfriend of his estranged daughter.

    What a great premise for a story! And Baldacci does it masterfully. The plotting is tight and the action non stop. I enjoyed discovering Baldacci's 'beginning.' He has made the secret service/White House thriller genre his own.

    But the reader in this case was fantastic. Scott Brick is an award winning audio book narrator. His voice is rich and resonant, conveying the suspense of this novel, keeping me on the edge of my chair. His voice conveys so much, from the malevolence of the bad guys to the uncertainty of a bewildered daughter.

    There was a bonus short story included on the last disc (17!) of this set. I didn't realize that this book had been made into a movie starring Clint Eastwood and Gene Hackman in 1997.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2010

    Absolute Power is Fantastic

    David Baldacci rivets you to the chair! It is nearly impossible to set the book down once started. Characters have life-like attributes, no fairytale prefection or super strength endurance, just real people caught up into an incredible adventure. The storyline is a swift current that whips you down the course, periodically snagging and tossing you into a whirlpool! Just when you think you know what will happen, the course changes and a new surprise twist is revealed. I really enjoy ready Baldacci's novels, it is a guaranteed roller coaster ride!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2003

    WOW!!!

    WOW!!! is the only explation i can give u for this book, it is just absolutely amazing and so intresting to read. The author did a great job planing every detail, he did it so carefully and so perfectly so that everything added up. Also the fact that he never failed to suprise you not for one minute through out the entire book made it even better. One of the things i enjoyed in this book was the way who the autor showed us the different points of view, such as the view of a lawyer,detective, and the bad guys. The Dramatic Irony was also very powerfull in the book and the way the author played with it was just amazing. Another one of my faviorte things about this book was the ending, i was just in shock i think for a moment there i actually thought that President would get a way with murder i mean the more i thought about the more the question 'why not' came to mind. This book is ment for readers who enjoy criminal fiction and dont mind following up with a lot of facts, if your not that type of person your probably not gonna injoy this book. It Is just absolutly wonderfull and i highly recomend it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2003

    A highly engaging thriller

    One of the best suspense-laden novels I¿ve ever read, 'Absolute Power' will make the slowest of readers tear through its pages with reckless abandon. The story begins in a lavish Virginia suburb, where a career burglar named Luther Whitney has been casing a particular house for weeks on end. The night he finally makes his move on the house, everything goes perfectly, until some unexpected visitors arrive. One of them is the President of the United States, and when he murders his mistress, Luther witnesses everything. From that moment on, he finds himself immersed in a web of cover-ups, lies, and murder that rise to the highest echelons of government. This is one of those rare thrillers that will truly keep you riveted to your seat as you wonder whether or not your favorite character will be seen, caught, or who knows what! Definitely give this book a read. You won¿t be disappointed... >>>> Britt Gillette, Author of 'Conquest of Paradise'

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2002

    Absolute Power is more than just "a good read."

    Baldacci's first novel is a well-crafted suspense thriller featuring a superb plot, a protagonist who is both real and likeable, and secondary characters that come alive. As with most good novelists, Baldacci writes a strong beginning. Elderly burglar Luther Whitney, while engaged in his criminal occupation, is caught in the web of a poweful spider as he sets out to burglarize a home but instead becomes a reluctant witness to a brutal murder in which Alan Richmond, President of the U.S. is involved. Too late, the reader will realize he's hooked, and there's no way out for him but to read on to the exciting finish. Protagonist Jack Graham, a young, hard-working lawyer and former lover of Whitney's beautiful daughter, Kate, is inexorably drawn into this web by his desire to help them, and if possible, rekindle the relationship he once enjoyed with Kate. Seth Frank, chief homicide detective for the rural Virginia county in which the murder occurs, is propelled by his sense of duty as he attempts to piece together clues that will unravel the mystery and reveal what really happened to the wife of Walter Sullivan, wealthy friend of the President. But, it's through the character of President Richmond and those around him that we are shown what this novel is really about. Richmond and his staff are moral relativists. They do not believe in any objective standards, nor do they believe that truth exists. This is a dangerous combination in anyone, but particulalrly so when present in politicians and others in positions of power and authority; it can easily lead to a belief that one is above the law. Richomnd is a man corrupted by the power of his office, who mistakenly feels that the most important person in the world is himself. He also thinks that moral standards are for the bourgoise, not him, that he is above the law, and therefore, can do anything he pleases. Attributes such as these, combined with a ruthless pragmatism, lead him to the ultimate vices; betrayal of his best friend, and worse. Gloria Russell, Richmond's top assistant, driven by lust for Richmond and an unbridled quest for shared power, orchestrates a cover-up to protect Richmond. She tries to conceal his wrongdoing and help him retain power, using a piece of commandeered evidence to accomplish that and to obtain her personal goal. Secret Service Agent Bill Burton, victim of a misdirected sense of loyalty, does the expedient thing again and again in the service of his boss, until finally he understands that he has destroyed his own integrity and self-respect, and a life without these is a life not worth living. Lord Acton is often quoted as saying, "Power tends to corrupt. Absolute power tends to corrupt absolutely." It's from this famous quote that Baldacci's title is drawn. But what Acton may not have understood is that power, no matter how absolute, will only corrupt if its possessor is devoid of sound moral values. Freed from the healthy restraining influence of high moral standards, a person can and will exercise power badly. The result is usually the creation of strife and turmoil in his own life and in the lives of those around him. This is an adult novel for adult readers. It's more than just "a good read." It's an intense, fascinating, absorbing novel. I heartily recommend it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2014

    Very Highly Recommended

    The gripping story had me hooked from beginning to end. David Baldacci was in true form on this one renewing my appreciation of his works. At every turn someone who was expected to be an ongoing important character to the story in whole, surprised us with their surprise "moving out".

    It always played into the same build up of hatred for the villain and worry for the main hero character. "Could it get any worse?" This went on a bit more than it needed to bordering on monotony, but it was done with good style and a complicated background which had the reader never quite sure of the road ahead for each and every character.

    Very entertaining!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2014

    The best !!!

    could not out it down.BALDACCI is up there with Grisham

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2014

    Emilee

    Walks in

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2014

    Alex to Shawn

    (BRUCE IS TRYING TO KILL ME AT 'rpaj' RES 1!!) she lies on the ground limp.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2014

    Shawn

    Gtg. See yah!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2014

    SCHOOL FOR THE SUPERVERLY GIFTED

    Welcome students to School for the Supers. Here you will be trained to battle villians... or become one. Bios here. At the gym one by one, you will be classed by your powers as phydical or mental. Then your classes will begin. Bios should include your name, age, how you got your power, a back story, your powers, appearamce, and personality. You will be judged by how well you display your powers at res four. Then comes the seperation. Mentals will have classes res 5- 12. Physicals will have 13-20. Good luck.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2014

    Alyssa

    I dont like my name... i just thought if i could use her name for a bit...no one would find out...and i feel like sh.it for what i did

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2014

    Zach

    Sighs. "I...just....err..i..!!!!" I muttered. I go to res 5.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2013

    Excellent read!

    I really enjoyed Absolute Power by David Baldacci. The plot was engaging and there were a lot of twists and turns. Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 129 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7