Customer Reviews for

Absolute Power

Average Rating 4.5
( 127 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(73)

4 Star

(33)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Surprise Ending if you've seen the movie! Great book!

I hesitated to purchase the book because I saw the movie several years ago. Like most books turned into movies, the movie doesnt' do the book justice but the movie changed the story ending significantly. If you haven't read this book it's worth it! I thoroughly enjoyed ...
I hesitated to purchase the book because I saw the movie several years ago. Like most books turned into movies, the movie doesnt' do the book justice but the movie changed the story ending significantly. If you haven't read this book it's worth it! I thoroughly enjoyed it.

posted by GregS_Tucson on March 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Didn't finish

I usually love this author, however, this book is different than his usual style. I decided to stop because of language and sexual content. Very disappointed.

posted by 10831267 on June 13, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 127 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2013

    ARMORY

    <3>

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2013

    Breadman

    Read many of his books all are great this is the best enjoy!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2012

    Suspensful

    Very good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2012

    Could this really happen?? Very Scary

    Couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2012

    Super

    Nice book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2012

    Page Turner

    Really enjoyed this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2012

    Caution-extreme language

    The book was really good. My only complaint is there is way way too much swearing. I have read several of baldachis books & have beem uncomfortable with the laguage. There is so much of it in this book that i had a hard time enjoying and finishing the book. Ive never had that experience with this authors book. Im very disappointed. Had i not read other baldachi books i probably would not have read any of his other books. His other books are very enjoyable; this one is s disappointment

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2012

    Summer

    Gosh. Everyone here has had a very hard life.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2011

    Page turner

    Loved it...couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2011

    Fabulous!

    A real page tapper!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2010

    WOW

    This book was so good they made a movie out of it. And Clint Eastwood was one of the main characters. How cool is that? But of course the book is way better than the movie and the movie was good. I love reading David Baldacci. His books are awesome.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent

    This is another example of Baldacci's ability to capture the reader's attention and want to quickly read the book to the end to find out what happens. Excellent story line and probable situations that keeps you engrossed in the book. As a fan of all of his books, it met my expectations and look forward to his next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    Absolute Power

    I loved this - have to admit that the movie is one of my favorites, and saw it first. At first I didn't care for the differences as I was reading, but I did get caught up in the plot and character changes. Once again, Mr. Baldacci has written some great escapism.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2010

    Great audio and even better book. Don't see the movie!

    Originally saw the movie many years ago with Wesley Snipes. It was ok, but far fetched, and don't waste your time watching it unless you want to see how Hollywood can completely adulterate a very entertaining book. I started listening to the audio of this book on XM Book Radio and because of seeing the movie previously, it caught my attention. I became fascinated with the story (which was read excellently), so I bought the book for a recent trip and read it in one day. Not very plausible but an extremely taut and engaging book. One wonders at how the Feds (bad guys) could have spiraled down into those depths that caused them to protect what they were sworn to protect but perform such morally wrong actions. There was quite a bit of action and character development, which makes me want to read something else of his.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2010

    Great Book

    Way better then the Movie!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2009

    David Baldacci's Absolute Power is spell binding to the end and will cause you to continue thinking about the book for hours after it is completed.

    David Baldacci's novels are always fast paced and have endings that leave you with the desire of wanting more. His characters are well developed and the government based poltlines are exciting and easy to understand. All his novels are well worth reading any time of the year.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2008

    A real thriller

    I have read about nine Baldacci books, and this is the best one so far. The last 100 pages kept me at the edge of my seat.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2007

    JDO RN-WOW!!!

    I read this book when it first came out in paperback! This is one of the best books I've ever read. There are lots to twists & turns. It is one of those books I read once a year. Read this book if you like thrillers. I could not put it down. Baldacci is excellent!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2007

    Absolutely Powerful

    Baldacci seamlessly sews together everything a good novel should: smart, snappy discourse, a twisting yet smooth plot-line that somehow evades feeling like a deus ex machina, and a likable protagonist who is a mixture of Odd Thomas and James Bond. The story is patient enough to build to a cataclysmic climax, realistic enough to paint a convincing portrait of its fascinating premise, and so psychologically spot-on that you will love the good guys and despise the bad guys. Not to mention, Baldacci wrote probably the best two-character scene I've ever read: the confrontation between Sandy Lord and Jack. A few minor gripes: I found the title a tad obtuse, kind of like a B-action flick that invites puns 'such as the title of this review', and some of the character names over-simplify their traits. The middle third of the novel was a bit slow, although I can see how it necessarily teed-up the thrill-fest at the end. But this is, overall, a thriller with a heart, not to mention your own bloody fist-sized organ that will be pounding during the first third and last third of the novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2006

    Couldn't put it down!!!

    A real page turner. After reading all of the Vince Flynn and Brad Meltzer novels I was looking for someone else. Baldacci was a great find. Absolute Power is a great fictional tale about the evils inside a corrupt administration. Many story lines go along with the main plot. All are very well brought together at the end. This is a great book! I will read more by Baldacci!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 127 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 7