Customer Reviews for

Absolute Power

Average Rating 4.5
( 126 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(72)

4 Star

(33)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Surprise Ending if you've seen the movie! Great book!

I hesitated to purchase the book because I saw the movie several years ago. Like most books turned into movies, the movie doesnt' do the book justice but the movie changed the story ending significantly. If you haven't read this book it's worth it! I thoroughly enjoyed ...
I hesitated to purchase the book because I saw the movie several years ago. Like most books turned into movies, the movie doesnt' do the book justice but the movie changed the story ending significantly. If you haven't read this book it's worth it! I thoroughly enjoyed it.

posted by GregS_Tucson on March 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Didn't finish

I usually love this author, however, this book is different than his usual style. I decided to stop because of language and sexual content. Very disappointed.

posted by 10831267 on June 13, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 126 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2006

    Gripping Tale

    This has to be one of the best mysteries I have ever read!! So many twists and turns keep you riveted. Couldn't put it down. Much, much better than Grisham. Can hardly wait to read his other novels. Recommend it highly!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2005

    Grabs you from the beginning to end.

    I really enjoyed this book. I found it to be very captivating throughout. It took many twists and turns. Some things were predictable, but still kept my interest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2001

    Absolute Brilliance

    This book kept my on the edge of my seat throughout the entire book. Baldacci was brilliant!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2000

    Absolutely Powerful

    Baldacci's first novel is an entertaining story, but could use a good editor. It's hard-boiled suspense results in a real page-turner. Good character development (something Clint Eastwood's movie version is lacking) adds to the sometimes rambling story. A good first effort produces a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2000

    Heading for the Theater Near You

    Baldacci's previous books have made me a huge fan, so I was disappointed at this latest effort. The characters were, as always, so appealing. Readers want to root for the protagonists. However, the ending was unbelieveable, came up too quickly, and was much too tidy. I was also very upset with the language and the play to the cigarette companies...almost everyone in this book smokes and smokes a lot. Baldacci's books are such a wonderful ride. In Absolute Power the constant smoking and use of the F word were unnecessary distractions that were often out of character. I look forward to the next Baldacci book in hopes that it is a return to good storytelling. My favorite Baldacci book remains The Winner.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2000

    A First Rate, Suspense-Filled Novel

    A first rate, suspense-filled novel, with an unusual plot and interesting characters. It grabs the reader from the very first sentence all the way to its exciting end. I love political fiction, and this book is well up to the standards of my current favorite, 'The President's Astrologer' by Barbara Shafferman.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2000

    turn pager

    Great book, hard to put down, story well written

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2000

    Most enjoyable book I have read in a long time

    I have in the past year become an avid reader of fiction novels, especially in the mystery genre. I do not have a great deal of time to read, but this book I could not put down. Baldacci's style of short and to the point action sequences are just what I love to read. It is an easy read, and I did not want the book to end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2000

    Wonderful!

    This was a very good book that I truly enjoyed reading! It demonstrates the power that we give our government.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 126 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 7