Customer Reviews for

Absolution

Average Rating 5
( 68 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(58)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 58 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    wonderful

    This CD has wonderful songs. I like it a lot. It moves my soul

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Absolution is amazing.

    Muse is one of the greatest break-through artists of our time. Combined with their meaningful lyrics, cheeky guitar riffs, dance-able beats, and Matthew Bellamy's outstanding vocal preformance, Muse is worth your time and money. Buy each CD and see their jaw-dropping preformaces live. They're worth every penny and minute.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A story in music

    I started out by downloading "Time is Running Out", "Stockholme Syndrome", and "Hysteria". Then my freind let me borrow the whole CD to burn onto my computer. I've got to tell you, this album is just incredible. I can listen to it over and over again without getting bored, You can listen to each song individually, or to the album as a whole and still be transported to another world. But, if you listen to the whole album, start to finish, it just all flows together perfectly, just the way old school albums did. Overall, listening to the album is like listening to a Pink Floyd album. It tells a story that you just don't want to stop listening to.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Amazing

    This cd is amazing, the lyrics are prime. If you buy this cd or any of their others you will not be disappointed!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A masterpiece of sound

    I said it all in the headline, but will encourage anyone who has never seen them live to go and take part, you will have the chills when you leave.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Excellent.

    Really just excellent. Great music, great lyrics. Worth giving a listen to. I'm one who is very picky about what I hear. If I get into something, I'll listen to it everyday for two months or less. Absolution has been in my stereo playing everyday for a year and a half. Give it a try.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Encore! Encore!

    This cd was great! It was a cd where it brings you to different worlds just through sounds and vocals. I love the hardness of some of the songs! Somehow Matt's vocals go with the hard rock songs! BUY!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Radiohead and Muse: Similar but not the same

    the frontman of muse is not tom york's doppelganger - but they are both rail thin and dillusional.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Excellent Album

    First of all, I think Muse is a great band with very talented musicians. I'm speaking not only for this album, but their previous albums as well. I personally think they have a very unique sound, and they pull it off very well. What I like most about Muse is their ability to have crazy heavy guitar riffs and then follow that with a very soft and melodic piece. For Absolution, a few of my favorites are "Hysteria," "Sing for Absolution," "The Small Print," and "Blackout." I could pick just about any, but I felt like pointing those tracks out. Overall, great album and a joy to listen to.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    One of a few

    One of a few cd's where all the songs are great!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Time to "absolve" rock

    Muse doesn't get enough respect. Critics focus too much on Radiohead comparisons, calling them mimics. Yes, there are similarities, but they've got very strong glam and heavy metal roots which make them their own. Absolution is more song oriented than Origin of Symmetry, which makes listening to the entire album a bit daunting, but it's worth it. Experimental textures are all over (like the string quartet dominated "Blackout" and the discofied heavy metal of "Hysteria"), and they mesh perfectly with Muse's bread and butter prog-rock, best exemplified by the stunning single "Time is Running Out" or "Thoughts of a Dying Atheist." It's completely worth it, if you're willing to take a few risks.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Muse's Sweet Revenge

    This CD is probably one of the most legendary CD's of this year. Muse, constantly rejected by American audiences, now has the perrogative to say BOOYA to all those ridiculous critics who said they would never make it. This CD is dark and cynical but I go hopping down the street with this CD on full volume in my headphones. In general, this CD seems to be for any rock fan from a Strokes obsessive to Him & Her devotees. It's simply genius.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    most impressive cd

    Although I bought this cd because of the hit I heard on the radio, I wasn't expecting to actually like the rest of the songs. The music was written very beautifully and the lead singer's voice is ear-catching enough to be absorbed in a person's mind.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    not so radiohead

    I really really like this cd. I absolutely can hear the similarities but I wouldn't say they "mimic," radiohead. They have this funky, i believe someone else used to words "glam-rock," mixed in. I was listening to the cd and didn't even notice till i thought about it that i was enjoying a trance-esque sythesized type sound backdropping the superb vocals. And that was only one instance. There were so many sections, synphonies in and of themselves. Def worth a listen no matter what rock genra you perfer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Love it!!

    I just discovered Muse yesturday and it blew me away..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    OH MY GOD!!!!!

    This is great! I mean...phenominal. Muse is my new favorite band. I can't believe this even exists. Thank the music gods for this band of exellence. I was looking at MSN Music, and Muse came up for some odd reason. It let you listen, and play to videos. This blew me away. There is no better word to describe it. It blew me away. I'd like to shake the hands of these 3 great men.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I'd Pick up a MUSE album, before I pick up a radiohead one...

    Man, this band is on a whole different level then the others. Radiohead is cool, but unlike MUSE, I don't have sit around looking for a really tight song that moves me in a way I can't even explain. This band is a freaking trip as I'm listening to them right NOW! Ruled by Secrecy WOW!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Best Brit band since the Beatles...well Radiohead is up there too

    well folks, I don't want to write the same things, However, if you want to pick up an amazing ambum, pain that is covered with sweetness, Jeff Buckley's Grace calibur, Radiohead's creep crawling on your skin, Ours's Distorted Lullabies that soars into space with endless joy ...if you want to pick up an album like that, go ahead pick up this album, if you hate it, emial me jazzydude666@aol.com

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    WOW WOW WOW

    I have been waiting for something good to come out....My friend had me hear the Album. Just amazing. Blown AWAY!!!! I disagree with the review from ALL MUSIC, mentioning that this album is "tad cheesy," and lacks variations. I feel it's the anthesis. I've heard people talking about this Brit band that never tours the US and how amazing they are. I totally agree. Besides Thom Yorke, I think the singer reminds me of Jeff Buckley (another favorite of mind) and the singer from "Ours". They also have a hint of NIN and Tool. What a masterpiece. One more thing Matthew Bellamy is also a wonderful Piano player.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    They did it again

    I'm a dedicated Muse fan, so I think this 3rd album is so beautiful it numbs the senses, just as its predecessors do. They may have the anguished sound of Radiohead sometimes, but they're not really like them at all. Essentially, they're more a one-man band and you realise that when you see them in concert; Matt Belamy is the composer, the vocalist, the lead guitarist and the pianist - very talented. It's loud and aggressive in parts and yes, here is Rachmaninov, metal and Freddy Mercury but very ingeniously done and the ballads are memorable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 58 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3