Customer Reviews for

Absolution Gap (Revelation Space Series #4)

Average Rating 4.5
( 42 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2004

    Great finale

    Over two decades ago Clavain, Scorpio and refugees landed on the Pattern Juggler world of Ararat. Over time Clavain and Scorpio led the development of a thriving community. However, in the past half a year, Clavain has become increasingly reclusive and neglectful of his duties until lights in the sky proclaim that their enemy, the Inhibitors, apparently have found them. Now they must flee their haven choosing a moon that orbits a weird gas giant planet................................. On the moon Hela, exists the strange Quaichist cult with their enormous movable Cathedrals. The cult with their movable cathedrals follows the track of the gas giant Haldora that the satelite orbits. Clavain and his exiles arrive at Haldora where they will either save humanity from the Inhibitors or enable the enemy to complete the final solution.................................... The final tale of the Revelation Space trilogy is an entertaining science fiction tale that will please readers who prefer a cerebral tale with limited military action. The story line contains several brilliantly developed concepts that will send many readers comparing the fate of the protagonists with that of our earth-bound mankind¿s providence. Action seekers will find the pace slow and the battle warriors will wonder why there are such short abrupt skirmishes. Still ABSOLUTION GAP is an intriguing look at religion, war, societies, and economics in outer space, just more passively highbrow than active exploits................................ Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2012

    Amazing ending to the trilogy!

    Amazing ending to the trilogy!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2012

    Personally, I found Absolution Gap to be a huge let down. It's a

    Personally, I found Absolution Gap to be a huge let down. It's a shame because the two other books in the Revelation Space series were great. I struggled through this one because I was determined to finish it. When I finally got to the end there was no satisfying resolution,The main bad guys are left to wreak havoc; the few that are eliminated are done so in very unsatisfying ways. I felt like Reynolds just got tired of writing and said "to hell with it".. I don't blame him, it took me three times as long to read as it took to read Revelation Space and Redemption Ark because I kept falling asleep after getting through a dozen pages or so. On the good side, it's a sure cure for insomnia.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2013

    exceptionally well written can't say enough positive

    i had never read anything by a. reynolds before but am ever so glad i did. you must read all three of the revelation space series. reynolds is imho one of the best contemporary writers of our time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2006

    Different, but still great entry in this space opera series.

    One thing that this book shows is that Alastair Reynolds is an author who isn't satisfied with just giving us more of the same when he writes a sequel--a factor which, in my opinion, can be a plus. This concluding book in the Revelation Space series takes a little step back from the cosmic concepts and noir feel of the previous two books and, after a dramatic beginning, develops at a more leisurely pace. The book focuses on two threads. Clavain and the refugees from his expedition have been marooned on the (aptly named) planet Ararat since the end of Redemption Ark. They now face the return of Ana Khouri and their Conjoiner allies as well as the Inhibitors, the exterminating machines who have been chasing them. New characters are introduced at the moon Hela, where the obsessive Quaiche witnesses what he believes is a miracle: the disappearance, for a split second, of Haldora, the planet that Hela circles. He creates a religion centered around the miracle in which treaded cathedrals circle the moon to keep Haldora in view (so that the planet's disappearances are never missed). Years later, young Rashmika Els journeys to Quaiche's cathedral to try to prove her theories about the 'miracle,' a mystery which eventually proves to be relevant to defeating the Inhibitors. Parts of the story, especially on Hela, are slow, but it is punctuated by moments of action. The book's subtext of conflict between scientists and religious fanatics (echoing the previous two books' subtext of conflict between scientists and political fanatics) is interesting, though slightly overbearing at times. Also, the ending is a little anticlimactic. Aside from these points, I enjoyed this book, the conclusion to a trilogy which, though it doesn't necessarily break new ground in science fiction, is nevertheless entertaining and well thought out, a space opera with neat (and scientifically plausible) future technologies and a unique mood to it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2005

    Brilliant but tiring

    Perhaps Peter Hamilton can be partly blamed for this new trend in hugely long space opera. (Perhaps, too, writers are being encouraged by editors to bloat their books from 350 pages to 500+) Alastair Reynolds is a far better writer, and there is no doubting his creative genius. But this book is simply too long at 750 pages. With any good trilogy, part of the fun is going back and rereading it and seeing the things you missed or appreciating the things you got. But to be frank, if the third book of an anthology is as long as this, one feels disinclined to reread the entire trilogy, which is a pity as there is no denying the overall brilliance of the concepts, etc. Recommended because of the strength of the invention, and the overall quality of the writing but with reservations.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3