Customer Reviews for

Abuse of Power

Average Rating 4
( 91 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(35)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

Since the book isn't out yet one can only read an excerpt from it. The cry baby who said he listened to Michael Savage's show is, as Dr. Savage would say, a Red Diaper, Doper Baby. Love him or hate him, Dr. Savage is a great story teller and he delivers a grand performa...
Since the book isn't out yet one can only read an excerpt from it. The cry baby who said he listened to Michael Savage's show is, as Dr. Savage would say, a Red Diaper, Doper Baby. Love him or hate him, Dr. Savage is a great story teller and he delivers a grand performance here! This will be number one soon! Although the Old York Times will probably disavow it!!

posted by nookster9181960 on August 25, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

A fair review

I really liked the book in all. It flowed very good and the timeframe fits together nicely. If your a regular listener to his show then it might be hard at times to not hear his voice telling the story.

posted by Anonymous on December 25, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 91 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted August 25, 2011

    HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

    Since the book isn't out yet one can only read an excerpt from it. The cry baby who said he listened to Michael Savage's show is, as Dr. Savage would say, a Red Diaper, Doper Baby. Love him or hate him, Dr. Savage is a great story teller and he delivers a grand performance here! This will be number one soon! Although the Old York Times will probably disavow it!!

    18 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2011

    Think

    Whatever you think of the man and his politics, please reserve that for another venue. Please write your review based on the literary effort of Mr. Savage in this book only. Let's keep the reviews clean and review the book, not the person or your personal agreement or disagreement with his politics. Don't give a 5 star or 1 star rating because you don't like the man. Let's rise above it people and promote good books and reading:-)

    Let this book fail or succeed based on its own merits!

    14 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2011

    As usual, another prescient book by Michael Savage

    ...but the only problem is, this is Current Events. Regarding "Anonymous'" review, it's too bad this person cannot even spell correctly. Re: ABUSE OF POWER - This book is the 21st century ATLAS SHRUGGED, but more relevant. The reader must bear in mind that Nazi is derived from "National Socialism", ie., left wing (not centrist nor right wing). The middle-class U.S. citizen has seen a major erosion of individual liberties, which mirrors the history of Germany, prior to WWII. This book will remind Americans that we cannot fall into the trap of repeating the horrific history of pre-WWII Germany. Thank you, Michael Savage. In case it matters - I'm a 60-year-old Army Brat, Protestant, who visited Bergen Belsen as a young child.

    14 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2012

    I love listening to Michael Savage,but I wasn't sure what to exp

    I love listening to Michael Savage,but I wasn't sure what to expect in a novel, a thriller, from him. I was pleasantly surprised to find this to be a great book! It's got lot's of great action, a great plot, and it's one of those books that you can picture being a movie some day. It's a great read, and I hope he puts out more books like this one!! Thanks Dr. Savage!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2011

    Highly Recommended - a must for those who watch politics and terrorism!!

    Dr Savage writes as he talks - that is clear, articulate and entertaining! He shows his love of San Francisco, and adds tidbits of interest obviously drawn from his own background. The story may start in San Francisco, but as we know, terrorism spans the globe and appears in some unusual places! Without giving up any of the story, the protagonist, modeled after the Doctor himself, fights against Muslim terrorists, traitors within several intelligence services and a cabal of very interest high rollers, some of whom are "lightly" disguised. A great read that will keep you up reading it, and then thinking about it.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2011

    Highly Recommended - good til the very end

    Amazing how the author is able to take present day events, and weave them into a good to the finish mystery novel

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2013

    Sadly, Abuse of Power was not the page-turner I would have expec

    Sadly, Abuse of Power was not the page-turner I would have expected especially after hearing Michael brag about how good a writer he is. I would say he is just a tad above average judging by this "sleeper" which just may be a great cure for insomnia!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2012

    I much liked this book and and can't wait for Michael Savage's n

    I much liked this book and and can't wait for Michael Savage's next fiction. It was a pleasant surprise that Mr. Savage decided to write a fiction novel and hope he continues, he is a natural. Continue your good work Michael.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2012

    Excellent story

    First time reading a Dr Savage story, good story and the ability to relate American patriotic values was excellent! Glad I read this book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    A fair review

    I really liked the book in all. It flowed very good and the timeframe fits together nicely. If your a regular listener to his show then it might be hard at times to not hear his voice telling the story.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2011

    Good thriller

    Could not put it down. Is one of my top ten reads

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2011

    Thrilling

    Michael Savage Talk Radio Host and author of many Non-fiction books, takes the leap into the fiction world with Abuse of Power. Savage introduces the reader to Jack Hatfield, a lonely guy that lives on his boat with his dog Eddy. Jack Hatfield is much like Michael himself, misunderstood, banned in Britan and a thinker. Jack Hatfield and Michael Savage both know that there are no coinsidances every clue, even the small ones matter. Michael also shows us in Abuse of Power his softer side with providing the reader with a Muslim woman Sara as a hero. From front to back, this book captured my attention and would not let go. Truly thrilling

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2011

    A note to the other reviewer about NYT bestseller list. #4

    This Week Last Week Hardcover Fiction Weeks
    on List
    1 NEW YORK TO DALLAS, by J. D. Robb. (Penguin Group, $27.95.) An escaped child molester pursues Lt. Eve Dallas; by Nora Roberts, writing pseudonymously. 1


    Buy
    2 THE NIGHT CIRCUS, by Erin Morgenstern. (Doubleday, $26.95.) Two young rivals at a magical circus become collaborators as they fall in love. 1


    Buy
    3 1 KILL ME IF YOU CAN, by James Patterson and Marshall Karp. (Little, Brown, $27.99.) When a young man finds a bag of diamonds, he gets the attention of the major assassin the Ghost, and a rival assassin who wants the Ghost gone forever. 3


    Buy
    4 ABUSE OF POWER, by Michael Savage. (St. Martin's, $25.99.) A former war correspondent works to expose a terrorist group and a plot at the highest levels of power. 1


    Buy
    5 ROBERT B. PARKER'S KILLING THE BLUES, by Michael Brandman. (Putnam, $25.95.) Jesse Stone, the chief of police in Paradise, Mass., confronts an outbreak of murders; a continuation of the series by Parker, who died in 2010.

    2 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2011

    Abuse of ego

    I thought that the book was a failed attempt by the writer of making himself look like a victim and hyping up his already inflated ego. I am a fan of his show and really enjoy listening 2 hours a day, but he does enough of the "poor me" bit on his show. I didn't want to read it in his book. I wonder who he will blame because his book didn't make the New York Times best seller list, the liberals, the media, the neighbors cat.

    2 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2013

    I imagine that liberals feel about this book the same way that c

    I imagine that liberals feel about this book the same way that conservatives feel about the novels that slant things toward the left. Sometimes it is hard for people to read something with an open mind, even fiction, when it goes against their political beliefs

    But I also wonder how many of the people who are slamming Savage would have reacted differently to the book if he had written it under another name.

    And I find that the assertion that the book is "awful, terrible, or horrible" to be just childish ranting with no basis. The book is very well written. It is thoughtful and for once a fiction book that does not pander to the liberal viewpoint of everything.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2013

    zero rating if I could. Waste of time and money - couldn't even

    zero rating if I could. Waste of time and money - couldn't even finish it it is so unbelievably stupid and inconsistant.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2012

    Fantastic!

    One of the best books I've ever read.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2011

    It didn't flow as well as Demille & Childs stories do where I can't put the books down until finished

    It was okay for a first novel, wasn't my favorite & you could guess as to what would happen next.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2011

    Another book by Wiener and his writing team!

    I stopped listening recently because he has become to much MEME>

    He is a bragging self absorbed bore and so was the book.
    It goes on too long and is convoluted. I stopped reading after 3 chapters.
    Should be on the radio 2x a week.
    He is deserves the ban in Brit because calling the Quran"a little book of Hate"
    Then maybe the same goes for thew Torah.
    Go away Savage ---you more of a liberal than you think.

    1 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2011

    Just awful

    Who is this freak?

    1 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 91 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5