Customer Reviews for

Abused: A Daughter's Story

Average Rating 3.5
( 72 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

In tears

One of the best books ive read in a while. Amazing!

posted by 7589997 on August 7, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

14 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

Too short

Found this story too short and filled with gramatical errors and spelling errors. Not enough detail. Felt as if the story was rushed leaving no explanations to the plot of the story.

posted by 8470123 on January 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 72 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Too short

    Found this story too short and filled with gramatical errors and spelling errors. Not enough detail. Felt as if the story was rushed leaving no explanations to the plot of the story.

    14 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    This was good for a short story. I would recommend reading this book. It was sad but a good book.

    10 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2011

    In tears

    One of the best books ive read in a while. Amazing!

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2012

    A girl

    It was a good book. I still wish it was longer and didn't end the way it did!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2012

    Middle schooler

    Is this appropriate for a middle schooler to read?

    6 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2011

    Incrediable

    Unbelivable touching this story will make u cry and will make see that i u say that if some one in vyour family doesnt love u or no one understands u think wat some kids people and even women haha even some grown men but take this story onto ur hearts and read fll ur mind with wat some people are like

    5 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2012

    Nonfiction

    Is it nonfiction and is it appropriate for middle schoolers?

    4 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2012

    Highly recommended.

    Very good book.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2013

    This book was so good!

    This book was good and sad. Its scary what UN loving parents do to their kids!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2012

    Very Sad

    The book was very sad and very depressing as told by the daughter. I couldn't help but feel anger towards the mother, she kept having more children and the burden kept falling on her daughter to help raise the kids, deal with an abusive father and run a household. The mother had weak excuses on why she wouldn't leave her abusive husband, I found the mother was more or less an abuser herself. I wish there had been a better outcome and I'm sure this is a story that happens much too often and many kids are forced to grow up too early and take on roles that were meant for adults.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2012

    Not bad

    It wasnt bad. Took me a half an hour to read, very short. I feel like they could have gotten into more detail but I dont feel as if I wasted my time or anything.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    Amazing

    This is a good book. I love it. A little forceful but good. And sad

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2012

    so sad, but good.

    it was very sad of what kids have to go through in this world.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2011

    Good,but ver sad story

    What a sad story this was. I was a litte dissapointed with the many spelling and grammer errors, but still enjoyed the book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2011

    Page turner!

    There ws about three times in the book where i was saying "no dont do that youll regret it!"

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2011

    It is very sad!

    It isnt for those who take things seriously and get emotional. It is very depressing and good! you will cry

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2013

    Abused

    This is a gripping reality told by the daughter of a very dysfunctional family. Is a true account, I think. If not it very well could be.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2013

    Although this book was short it is a very good book. It gives yo

    Although this book was short it is a very good book. It gives you a look into the life of what some of these kids in todays world go through and have no control over. I only hope that those who see these kinds of things report them to the proper people so the children can be helped.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2012

    poly

    good book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2012

    short and to the point

    This is a short book about abuse. Its an okay read. I read it very quickly.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 72 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4