Customer Reviews for

The Abused Werewolf Rescue Group

Average Rating 4
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted April 10, 2011

    Crazy and Fun

    This is a really crazy and fun book that is really about finding out who you are and accepting it. It makes no difference if you are a werewolf or a high school student. Knowing who you are is what matters.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2013

    Pretty cool

    This was a pretty cool book. The cover miss led me though, because I thought Toby would be older, or at least a bit more mature. Despite this being a young teen book at least it wasn't some werewolf mate book. You know, where its just this chick who's "claimed" by some hot were dude? The concepts are really interesting, and in my opinion I definitely agree with them. I did not even know this was a second book in a series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2013

    Amazing

    I love this book. The frist was good and this one wwas better. I fell in love with the toby. I though he was funny and this whole was funny too. The love the plot. A great read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2012

    Great!

    I have the book and luv it! But when u first start reading it, it is slow and when u get deeper into the chaperts maybe 5-10 i think? It starts to get really interesting. But overal great book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2012

    Not that great

    I haven't read the1st one yet, so maybe this would have been a better story if i had. Nina and Ruban seem like grear characters, but because we are stuck with Toby's point of view you don't get alot of info on them. Again, it's probably in the 1st book. I'll have to give that one a try. Perhaps it will make this one better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    The Abused Werewolf Rescue Group

    Tobias Vandeveld is in a bit of a bind. He's woken up in the hospital with no idea how he got there or what happened the night before. His mother is furious, the doctors are confused, and the police are involved. Apparently he spent the night in a dingo pen.....naked. Now his friends find this to be the best story of the year (they don't know about the naked part), but Toby and his family are getting concerned. They have been visited by a priest and a rather surly looking man, who claim that the reason for Toby's strange night is because he's a werewolf. Toby's mother flips out, what good mother wouldn't, and tells them both to leave before she calls the police. Of course no one really believes that Toby is a werewolf. But then the story continues and for once, Toby's mother is proven wrong.

    Toby is your typical almost delinquent young teenager. He hangs out with the local boys and occasionally gets into trouble, but for the most part he's not too bad. But this whole werewolf thing really throws him for a loop. As much as he doesn't want to believe it, it all starts to make sense. His life takes a turn for the worse, when Toby is abducted by werewolf hunters and held in a secure underground cell. His friendships are tested and his mother is highly upset when it all comes out in the end.

    The story was a great read with a "realistic" twist. If you were a werewolf in real life, there's a good chance this is how you would have to life. I enjoyed that part very much, it wasn't too fantastical. The story is told from Toby's point of view which has its pros and cons. It's great getting inside his had and watching the pieces fall into place, but at the same time I felt like I was missing out on a lot of the other characters. They just seemed a little flat to me.

    3/5

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2011

    Cover is misleading

    The guy on the cover looks like an adult so I thought this was about a grown man. No! It's about a kid! Nothing against teen fiction but such a heading accompanying the description would be nice.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2011

    Ehhhh

    The first book was quirky. This one was a lot of complaining. No humor. A lot of fighting and expletives. No real point.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2011

    Fantastic Book

    After being found, naked, in a dingo pen at a wildlife park, Toby Vandevelde's world takes a turn for the bizarre. People begin telling him he's a werewolf, but how can that be? Werewolves don't exist. do they? And now it's up to Toby to find out the truth. Whatever that might be. In what proves to be an exciting and oftentimes frightening road to self-discovery, Toby will learn more than whether werewolves really exist. He'll find his true self somewhere along the way.

    Toby's a rather troubled child at the beginning of the novel. His friends aren't the most reliable or reputable, but they are his friends just the same. However, as he's confronted with the possibility of being a werewolf, he finds an entirely new group of people that change his life. In a lot of ways, they aren't any more reputable than his original friends, but they are much more reliable. Toby's outlook on life changes a lot from the beginning to the end of this story. As his outlook changes, so does his personality. At times, I wasn't sure if I was even going to like this kid and then, before I knew it, he was doing something to completely redeem himself. It was refreshing to watch him make progress, stumble, and pull himself back together and move forward.

    If you're looking for a wild ride of a story, then The Abused Werewolf Rescue Group is the book for you. Packed full of craziness from the very first page, you're carted along as Toby and his band of mis-matched misfits are on the hunt for some very bad people. and find them much by accident. Watch as they rescue Toby and another abused werewolf from their clutches and make the world a safer place for paranormal creatures of all kinds. A highly entertaining and enjoyable read for older kids and adults alike!

    Originally posted at The Long and Short of It Romance Reviews

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great book!

    This book is great, fun easy read. It's one of those books that you know whats going on but its easy just to sit back and enjoy it. What I like most about the book was the characters. You felt Toby's animosity toward him finding out what he was. I think for once it was good to see a characters really reject and have a hard time coming to see what he was until it was too late. Toby rejections was also funny at the same time. I love how he always made sarcastic comments to make him feel better. It made me laugh a long with him too.


    The plot was similar one but the twist of a underground werewolf fighting ground made it much better. I felt for the wolfs who had no idea what had happen. They felt lost and confused. I am glad that a group came together to rescue the wolfs who were taken and help them come back to who they are. Some were so lost into fighting they were animals even without their changes.


    My only gripe, is the plot. It was slow to start off with. Also there was a lot of back round information that need to be said in order for the reader to find their place and understanding in the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2011

    A great narrative voice

    I enjoyed the first-person narrative voice of this young adult novel more than I did the plot. Toby is a teenage Australian boy who wakes up one morning in the dingo pen at a wildlife refuge. As you might guess from the title, he's a werewolf, and this book is mostly about his learning this fact and coming to terms with it, with a lot of humor and teenage mischief.

    I'd definitely give this to a late middle grade or early teen reader.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1