BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Acacia: the War with the Mein (Acacia Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 61 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Great Read

I do a lot of reading and I find that a lot of books end up becoming predictable about a quarter to half way through. This book however kept me guessing and the author did things that surprised me. The world and characters are incedible and the lines between good and ...
I do a lot of reading and I find that a lot of books end up becoming predictable about a quarter to half way through. This book however kept me guessing and the author did things that surprised me. The world and characters are incedible and the lines between good and evil are thin to nonexistant! You really get into the mind set of all the characters and care about them. With that said, if you want a story that is uber stacked with magic and such, this is not the book for you. If you like a story driven less on fantastical magical feats and more about the characters, politics, mystery and history of a world then this is the book for you. Simply awesome!

posted by Anonymous on February 22, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

awkward, clunky, long

An awkward, clunky fantasy novel. Worse, it's an awkward, clunky, much too long fantasy novel. I made myself slog through it as penance for actually having paid money to download it. No desire at all to read the sequel.

posted by carpeoreo on February 5, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 62 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2008

    Great Read

    I do a lot of reading and I find that a lot of books end up becoming predictable about a quarter to half way through. This book however kept me guessing and the author did things that surprised me. The world and characters are incedible and the lines between good and evil are thin to nonexistant! You really get into the mind set of all the characters and care about them. With that said, if you want a story that is uber stacked with magic and such, this is not the book for you. If you like a story driven less on fantastical magical feats and more about the characters, politics, mystery and history of a world then this is the book for you. Simply awesome!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2012

    This one is great for epic fantasy fans that enjoy intelligent w

    This one is great for epic fantasy fans that enjoy intelligent writing, even if it's occasionally somewhat dry and over-long in sections. So upfront you know why 4 stars instead of 5, but that's the *only* reason. Durham's first unfolds with skillful world-building as well as skillful character development. Inner ruminations of characters and their morals and ideas are conflicting, just like real life :) I like my "magic" understated yet an integral element to the story, which to me is what makes the best kind of fantasy novels... and this one delivers.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2010

    awkward, clunky, long

    An awkward, clunky fantasy novel. Worse, it's an awkward, clunky, much too long fantasy novel. I made myself slog through it as penance for actually having paid money to download it. No desire at all to read the sequel.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Power of four

    What a wonderful book and truly an awesome epic. The book speak of 4 different children/characters throughout the book which allows you into and gives you perspective in the lives of different people. Watching them grow in a life of heartache and betrayal. The 4 children are shipped off in different directions along with different lifestyles. This book is top-notch fantasy with a different edge. Stunning places that draw you in and you can almost breathe the air in the places you read about....I would reccommend this book although i did not give it a full five stars, It is well worth the read and the wait for part 2.....Enjoy!!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2007

    What a story!

    With me this book rates at the highest possible. The story, the characters, the history, the imagination, the development of the plots are all done with excellence. I really hated to have it end although with Corinn running around as the 'Queen', there has to be other books coming and I look forward to reading every single one of them and you should too!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2014

    SLOW...

    It seems like the author found George R.R. Martin's outline for Game Of Thrones and just changed a few names and details. I also found the first half of the book very slow and plodding. I pushed through it though and it did get considerably better. I will read the next book in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2013

    Great fantasy read

    Picked it up to fill time between game of thrones novels. Great story, fleshed out characters, and good action. A good read for anyone who is a fan of george rr martin.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    Okay Fantasy

    It's a good idea - there's just no life to it. Nothing memorable. I finished the book, but won't read the rest of the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2011

    Great writing

    Well written, great world building... memorable characters...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2011

    loved it

    really really good series so far. can't wait for the next book! loved the characters and the story was nice and complex. the only complaint i have is that everyone says "Understand?" when they're explaining something. everyone. but other than that, it's a great read. if you're a fan of wheel of time, or grrm, and want to read something good to hold you off until the next books i recommend this series, as well as the briar king by greg keyes.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 18, 2008

    A good read for the Fantasy Escapism Fan.

    I am looking forward to escaping with the rest of the trilogy.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2007

    so here's the thing...

    I'm one of those people who HATES, with a passion I might add, fantasy/sci-fi novels. I mean I couldnt even get past page 32 of The Hobit. However, with this novel, I guess I have to take it all back. On a whim, i purchased it, and I devoured it. Pick it up and only then you'll know what I'm talking about. Its highly recommended.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2007

    One of The Best Fantasy Novels!!!

    David Anthony Durham leads you on an exciting adventure of trust and betrayal. The world of Acacia is very elaborate with distinct nations and landmarks. The descriptions of the world that you embark in is extrordinary. Trust, betrayal, and loyalty are all tested in this novel. This is a must read. Picking up the book when I first received it via FedEx, I was not disappointed in having put aside another novel to read this. I am thirsty to see how this tale unfolds in the following novels. Mr. Durham writes fantasy like he has been doing so for years. I am eager to read other books that he has written. The development in the characters in this book is astounding. Realizing finally who the characters are later in the book is astounding from when you first meet them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 62 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4