Customer Reviews for

Academ's Fury (Codex Alera Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 312 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(217)

4 Star

(74)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Awesome sequel!

This is the second book in a great new series. It is every bit as good as the first (Furies of Calderon) and just as hard to put down!
Tavi continues to grow into young manhood and to impress those around him. Some new characters join his circle of friends and are just...
This is the second book in a great new series. It is every bit as good as the first (Furies of Calderon) and just as hard to put down!
Tavi continues to grow into young manhood and to impress those around him. Some new characters join his circle of friends and are just as individual as Tavi and his family are. Tavi and his family/friends are believable and show their weaknesses as well as their strengths. Their enemies, for the most part, aren't all bad. They sometimes have their good sides, too. The settings and the battle scenes are well written. Butcher has adeptly avoided the trap of getting long-winded and too wordy in this area so the story moves quickly.
I, for one, and quite happy that Jim Butcher has shared his conversations with his imaginary friends!

posted by wickedfaerie on February 22, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

ok for some not for all

I found there to be too much political intrigue for my liking. All the twists and turns made it hard to follow. Good book if you lile that but not my cup of tea.

posted by Spudacus_Avery on December 1, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 217 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 11
  • Posted February 22, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Awesome sequel!

    This is the second book in a great new series. It is every bit as good as the first (Furies of Calderon) and just as hard to put down!
    Tavi continues to grow into young manhood and to impress those around him. Some new characters join his circle of friends and are just as individual as Tavi and his family are. Tavi and his family/friends are believable and show their weaknesses as well as their strengths. Their enemies, for the most part, aren't all bad. They sometimes have their good sides, too. The settings and the battle scenes are well written. Butcher has adeptly avoided the trap of getting long-winded and too wordy in this area so the story moves quickly.
    I, for one, and quite happy that Jim Butcher has shared his conversations with his imaginary friends!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent but for Sexual Content

    When a mysterious creature from Tavi's past resurfaces and hundreds of people throughout Alera disappear, no one realizes how far the danger has spread till it is almost too late. Academ's Fury introduces us to Tavi in the throes of the political upheaval, treachery, and diplomacy that permeate life in the capital.

    This fantastic read sucks you in from the beginning and leaves you looking for more pages when it ends. It deals with the complicated issues surrounding loyalty, greater good, sacrifice, and compromise. The reader should be aware that it contains some gruesome violence (arms getting ripped off, people pulverized, etc) as well as some sexuality. The sexuality ranges from suggestive comments, to lead up sequences and is my main angst with the book as it prevents me from recommending it to just anyone.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A great sequel to the first book.

    I thought this was a great second edition to the Codex of Alera book series. I wasn't a huge fan of the first book but I enjoy Jim Butcher's writing style. The first book came together very well at the end which made me purchase the second. After the first few chapters, I knew i would read the entire series. The characters were expanded upon and the plot thickened. They referred to the first book on occasions subtly which I enjoy in series like these. They were never too romantic but kept the story of Tavi and Kitai alive. They also kept the action nonstop. When it doesn't seem like it could get worse, it does. I do suggest only reading this book if you plan to continue the series. Jim loves to end each book with a new problem to face.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2013

    One of the

    Best series I hsbe read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2013

    Moshi monsters- houses and gardens

    From here to twenty results down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2013

    Anonymous

    This series is amazing. Can't wait to see what happens next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2013

    Jim Butcher has done it again!

    I have no idea why I waited so long to read these books when I was already a fan of his Dresden Files series. These books are just as good and I am disappointed that there won't be anymore. I wish he would write more to this series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2012

    To have been conceptualized as a dare: combine the 2 worst possi

    To have been conceptualized as a dare: combine the 2 worst possible ideas for a fantasy series and make something out of it...(the author's friend decided on Pokemon and the Lost Roman Legion as the two concepts) Jim Butcher not only devises an immersive world out of the impossible, he also populates this world with characters who can speak to our own world's issues as well as dealing with the personal challenges confronting each of us. Then again, why should we be surprised? It's Jim Butcher at the helm of these wonderful books. In this segment of the series of 5 books, the hero, Tavi, comes of age in the capital and begins to find his growing place in the realm.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2012

    Excellent

    Very good read..Excellent series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2012

    Great book

    I love this book and strongly reccomend everyone reads the whole collection of books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2012

    Great part of the series

    I loved the story of these characters as a whole, and read the entire series. I have also read all of the Dresden books. I expected to not like the Alera series quite as much, but I did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2011

    loved it

    a great book really easy to get into the characters a good sequel can but cant wait to finish the series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2006

    SUPER AWESOME!

    this is a great book with a great story line. this book as very hard to put down and left you wanting more. i can't wait for the third one to come out

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2006

    Great Book!

    I absolutely loved it. I could not put it down. I would sugest reading the first one in the series. It is just as good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2005

    Simply a blast to read

    Jim Butcher nearly reinvents classic fantasy with new races, a new system of magic and a well thought out creepy villian to boot. Not to be missed for any fan of fantasy and a very fun read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Fabulous fantasy

    The realm of Alera has stood for over 1,000 years, pushing back barbarian hordes behind a shield wall to keep out the icemaen on one of its borders and guarding the other with well trained legionnares. The people are able to control the furies, elementals who do the bidding of their master. The only person in the entire realm who doesn¿t have a fury is Tavi, a young man who saved the realm from being overrun by the Marat horde. --- Now the realm is in trouble from within and without. The First Lord is old and has not named an heir. He overextends himself and falls into a coma leaving the realm in the hands of his most trusted people including Tavi. Two noble families are plotting to overthrow the First Lord while an old enemy from across the sea is plotting to plunge the realm into civil war. The vord, an intelligent species that takes control of an individual, has woken after a long slumber and is busy multiplying and taking control of people in the capital and in Calderon. If they are not stopped, the whole realm will be one hive mind. --- Jim Butcher is a brilliant world builder who has created a place based on the Roman Empire, complete with political intrigue, treachery and determination to keep out the barbarians at the gates. Tavi plays a critical role as he learns to be a spy for the realm while helping to protect the secret of the First Llord¿s illness. He has grown since the events in FURIES OF CALDERON took place and his strength and loyalty makes him a valuable asset to the realm even though some consider him a freak because he can¿t control a fury.--- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 217 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 11