Customer Reviews for

The Academy

Average Rating 4
( 48 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted August 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Good Creepfest

    It's been a long time since I've read a book that gave me the heebie jeebies, but this one sure did. It gets a little ick at times, but it never loses the "turn all the lights on" feel. I'll definitely be checking out some of Little's other books.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2009

    Total Rollercoaster Ride

    This book was a definite page turner and had many quirky items which were not appropriate for a school of any kind. I am in the education field so for me it put a spin on the normal, everyday school into a situation of abnormalities that kept you breathless.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Stay Out Of School

    I have read most of Bentley Little's books and have not found one that doesn't grab my attention instantly and make me not want to put it down. The man does a great job on making you "see" the characters and the setting. His ability to take a normal situation and turn it into something scary and bizarre is a great asset. This book is a page turner and makes you want to home school your children.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Classic Bentley Little

    Bentley Little is one of the most consistant Horror writers i have ever read. While "The Academy" might not be his best book, it is certainly another vintage case of his gifted imagination. This guy writes nightmares so that i don't have to have them. He has a knack for making me yell things out loud like: "no, don't go with her!", or "just punch him in the face!" or my wife's favorite, "no, you can't just let them do that!"<BR/>This one had me wound up around every nasty twist and every bizarre turn. I had no idea what kind of crazy road Little was leading me down, but their was no way I wasn't along for the ride. "The Academy" is just what I'm looking for whenever I start jonesing for my next dose of "the horror poet laureate"(Stephen King's words, not mine), the one and only Bentley Little.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Spooky Horror Tale

    In 'The Academy' Bently Little makes the plot so terrifying that it will make your blood curl. Its about a teacher and some high school students who start noticing weird changes in there school sinse it became a charter. Of course he adds sine dirty pieces as he does with all of his novels, but it doesnt stop there. Its a creepy tale on that will make your head spin! Anything Bently Little writes is genuinly good, but this is way beyond that! An awesome book by an awesome writer. I reccomend this to any horror fans!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2013

    To roy

    Read res six

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2013

    Shina

    She glares at Steel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2013

    Roy

    "Yes so hurry and read."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2013

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2013

    I had no idea that this author was so political. I thought I wa

    I had no idea that this author was so political. I thought I was just reading a horror story. Sorry to say, I will not be finishing this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2012

    Garbage !

    Havnt read anything else by this guy yet. Hopefully next one is better............started out like it could be interesting , then just got raunchy and the socalled explanation for the events came too late....and pretty lame at that.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2012

    Good read!

    Totally disturbing but at the same time suspenseful and scary! You will not want to stop reading this book. This is the first book I have read from this author and I am looking forward to reading more books by this author!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2012

    Senior

    Senior studies and studies he has so far a goa of 4.2

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2012

    Y

    Would you like to be in sports or band?

    -MA

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2012

    Recommend this

    Let say I started reading and could not put it down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2012

    A must read!

    This was an awesome book. I never ran across any dry spots and there was action from beginning to end. I couldn't put the book down! If you love horror and supernatural stories this is the one for you. Check it out!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2011

    School gone wrong.

    I love every Bentley Little book I pick up and this one was just as hard to put down as the rest of them. Once you start reading Little's books it is difficult to stop. I've read just about every one of his books... Favorites are The Store and The Train.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Very Creepy

    This book was really creepy. Bentley Little takes the most every day things and scares me to death!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    well written entertaining horror tale

    The school district contains many conservative fundamentalists, who demand censoring books, limiting what is taught, and definitely outlawing evolution. Additionally they insist on not wasting money on poor students. When the principal of John Tyler High School applies to convert it to a charter school she sells it to the teachers and parents, promising higher wages and a better education. By a small margin, Tyler HS becomes a charter school. --- Even before the charter was passed, there were some dark zones in the school in which supernatural phenomena seem to occur. The custodial staff bears witness to such events, but they suddenly disappear as do any teacher who opposed the charter concept and student considered ¿tainted¿. The personalities of those remaining at Tyler change dramatically and frighteningly. Punishment becomes norm, but these chastisements make the school seem like a rendition prison. Two teachers Linda and Diane, and students Ed, Brad, and Myla see ghosts and hear voices with no one around. They also notice an eerie fog that shows the past when the school had young children having fun in the playground. The quintet teams up to abort the spell the principal has cast but each of them knows that the faculty and student body will horrifically destroy them if they fail. --- Using headlines over what to teach in school, Bentley Little designs an intelligent well written entertaining horror tale that sprinkles the curriculum debate with a paranormal extremist position. The story line is fast-paced yet has multiple levels while throughout providing a cautionary undertone that extremism means exclusiveness by leaving people outside the tent. Besides the principal making the law inside the school the ghosts remind people of the past, and the disappearances add suspense as readers wonder whether the vanishings are mundane or poltergeist in nature. Fans will relish Mr. Little¿s enjoyable dissertation on education. --- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3