Customer Reviews for

Academy 7

Average Rating 4.5
( 131 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(85)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 132 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted April 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A wonderful blend of science fiction, adventure, and romance.

    Aerin Renning and Dane Madousin are both seventeen-year-old freshmen at the universe's most exclusive school, Academy 7. But aside from that, they couldn't be more different. Aerin has had a very hard life. She has never known her mother, and her father died when she was just eleven, after which Aerin was captured and forced into slavery for six long years, until she finally was able to escape. Dane Madousin was born to privilege, the son of an esteemed general. But the only thing he really wanted was his father's love, which no matter how hard he tried, he never seemed to be able to earn.

    When Dane, in an attempt to rebel against his father, plays a prank at school, he gets Aerin in trouble as well. Resenting him for his easy life and for causing her to be punished as well, at first she resolves that she will have nothing to do with him. But against her better judgment, they become close friends, and she shares the secrets of her past with him. And soon Aerin and Dane begin to suspect that an even bigger secret is being hidden at the school.

    Academy 7 is one of my favorite teen fiction reads so far this year. Aerin and Dane, although they live in a futuristic world, are easy to relate to and have many of the same problems teens today face - Aerin with her struggle to blend in, and Dane's longing for acceptance from his father. Throughout the novel they grow both as individuals and in their growing relationship with each other. I highly recommend this book to readers who enjoy teen fiction. It honestly has something in it for everyone - science fiction, fantasy, adventure, and a story of friendship and romance.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great book, Quick read!

    This book was a little different then I expected. I didn't realize it was a futuristic, space travel kind of book. I am not usually into that sort of thing so I almost put it down after the first couple chapters but then it pulled me in. I found myself wanting to know what the two characters were going to discover about their pasts. I wish that the love story aspect would have been explored more but other then that it was an entertaining book and I would recommend it others.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Karin Librarian for TeensReadToo.com

    Every young citizen of the Alliance between the ages of sixteen and seventeen is given the Academy Entrance Exam. The results of the test determines which Academy the student will attend. Academy 7 is the most prestigious school in all of the Alliance, and only the students with the top 50 scores are invited to attend each year.

    Aerin Renning and Dane Madousin both receive invitations to Academy 7, and both decide to accept for their own, very different, reasons. Aerin has some deep, dark secrets that could ruin her chances at the Academy and guards herself against exposure by isolating herself from others. She spends her time studying about the politics and history of the Alliance in order to excel in her classes so she can secure a return invitation the next year.

    Dane is the son of a very powerful man. Not only is his father a successful General, but he is also on the Council, the small group of people who governs the Alliance. Attending Academy 7 isn't Dane's dream, but in order to spite his father, he decides to make the most of his time there. Dane soon excels in his studies and holds the number one position in every class except one - Personal Combat. There is one person that bests him in Combat on a daily basis - Aerin.

    After disciplinary action forces Aerin and Dane to work together, he tries to break through the wall that she has created. Slowly, as they learn more about each other, their secrets come out and, together, they come to terms with their problems.

    Anne Osterlund has created an interesting science fiction world for ACADEMY 7. Both Aerin and Dane change and grow throughout the course of the story and witnessing their failures and triumphs is interesting.

    The story has a satisfying ending and could easily be a stand-alone novel, but on the other hand, there are story lines that could definitely continue. We'll have to wait and see what the author has in mind.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Pretty Good

    This book all together was okay. The beginning was a little confusing because i wasn't expecting the setting to be in the future or on a different world completely but it got better after chapter 2 and after that it got really interesting and it picked up a lot. The characters were really well developed and I would recomend this book to anybody.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2012

    Academy 7 was a wonderul book, and I really liked it. It had int

    Academy 7 was a wonderul book, and I really liked it. It had interesting characters, adventure, romance, and it was kind of mysterious. This book was really interesting and I couldn't put it down!I reccomend this book to anyone.
    I really liked how you could try to piece things together about the characters, but then there was always more to it. This book is easy to relate to, and it really made me feel for the characters.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2011

    Really Liked...

    I don't have a witty review here but I just wanted to say I was surprised how much I liked this book and these characters. It was a really enjoyable read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Academy 7

    This book is about two people who don't think they have anything in common. There's Aerin (Erin) a girl who doesn't have any family. She watched her father die and never knew who her mother was. She has a past that she'd rather forget. She was lost at space for quite sometime. Then she sent out a signal and a ship found her and gave her a test so that they could put her into a school. She gets sent to Academy 7, one of the most prestigious schools out there. Only the top fifty make it. One of those people is Dane. Dane is the guy who doesn't really follow the rules. He does things on his own time/term. He doesn't know why, but Aerin is amusing to him. He doesn't get her, she's so closed off that he can't even begin to think about how he will talk to her.

    Aerin tries her hardest in the classes and is number one in all of them, but debate. Dane is not trying in any of them except Defense, but he's still behind Aerin, who is his partner and always seems to get him to loose. He decides that he will strike a deal with her. He will help her with debate, if and only if, she will help him with defense. They then start on the journey of becoming friends and eventually they might become more then friends? Maybe or Maybe not.

    This book is really good and it makes you take a look at what really happens in countries other than the one you were born on or are a part of. You think about what could really be out there. Not just in you own little spot of the world.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2013

    Steel

    Black walls? What? Leaves.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2013

    ...

    Are stew now

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2013

    Bella

    Padded to my bedroom

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2013

    Jessi

    Hm. Interesting. The blak walls dissappeared. You all may leave.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    Loved it!

    Very well written with lots of suspense and some romance. Once I started reading it I couldn't put it down. I hope there is another book coming about what happens to Dane and Aerin.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2013

    Great writing. Great story. Want more!

    Great writing. Great story. Want more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2012

    J

    Bastard

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2012

    Zzz.....

    When writing a book and then letting ppl have a free sample of it, be more generous or else the book is meaningless to the person trying to decide whether or not to buy the book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2011

    Perfect

    Love this. A must read wheather you want to or not. Buy it!!! : )

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2011

    Awesome

    This is one awesome book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2011

    One of my favorite books ever! Dane is like my dream guy!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2011

    ACADEMY 7

    This book was amazing Its filled with mystery, action, and everyones favroite, romance

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2011

    Thrilling, romantic, and creative!

    Academy 7 is everything a reader can hope. It has adventure, romance, and a story that thrills the reader to the point that it is difficult to put the book down. Aside from the creative plot line, the two main characters, Aerin and Dane, carry heavy burdens because of their complicated pasts, but it is this that make these complex characters relatable to many people who read this book. Their conviction, courage, and determination during difficult times inspired me to continue overcoming any obstacles that come in my way. I am positive that this book will move anyone who reads it. Anne Osterlund is truly an astounding writer, and Academy 7 convinced me to read her other books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 132 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7