Customer Reviews for

Academy 7

Average Rating 4.5
( 131 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(85)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted August 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Karin Librarian for TeensReadToo.com

    Every young citizen of the Alliance between the ages of sixteen and seventeen is given the Academy Entrance Exam. The results of the test determines which Academy the student will attend. Academy 7 is the most prestigious school in all of the Alliance, and only the students with the top 50 scores are invited to attend each year.

    Aerin Renning and Dane Madousin both receive invitations to Academy 7, and both decide to accept for their own, very different, reasons. Aerin has some deep, dark secrets that could ruin her chances at the Academy and guards herself against exposure by isolating herself from others. She spends her time studying about the politics and history of the Alliance in order to excel in her classes so she can secure a return invitation the next year.

    Dane is the son of a very powerful man. Not only is his father a successful General, but he is also on the Council, the small group of people who governs the Alliance. Attending Academy 7 isn't Dane's dream, but in order to spite his father, he decides to make the most of his time there. Dane soon excels in his studies and holds the number one position in every class except one - Personal Combat. There is one person that bests him in Combat on a daily basis - Aerin.

    After disciplinary action forces Aerin and Dane to work together, he tries to break through the wall that she has created. Slowly, as they learn more about each other, their secrets come out and, together, they come to terms with their problems.

    Anne Osterlund has created an interesting science fiction world for ACADEMY 7. Both Aerin and Dane change and grow throughout the course of the story and witnessing their failures and triumphs is interesting.

    The story has a satisfying ending and could easily be a stand-alone novel, but on the other hand, there are story lines that could definitely continue. We'll have to wait and see what the author has in mind.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Pretty Good

    This book all together was okay. The beginning was a little confusing because i wasn't expecting the setting to be in the future or on a different world completely but it got better after chapter 2 and after that it got really interesting and it picked up a lot. The characters were really well developed and I would recomend this book to anybody.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2011

    Really Liked...

    I don't have a witty review here but I just wanted to say I was surprised how much I liked this book and these characters. It was a really enjoyable read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Academy 7

    Aerrin Renning is orphaned and alone - adrift in her father's spaceship when the unexpected happens. She is rescued, tested, and sent to most elite school in the Alliance. Here she meets the famous Dane Madousin, the son of one of the most influential men in the Alliance. Both arrive with a big chip on their shoulders and with the feeling of needing to prove themselves. Aerrin is desperate to hide her past from her classmates, while Dane is struggling to prove he's not just like his father. Thrown together in sparring class, the two find themselves in an unlikely friendship that pushes the rules to their limits. In and out of trouble, they find themselves relying on each other more and more every day. But will their relationship last when Aerrin discovers the truth about her past, and will Dane's father manage to use his influence to change the course of both their lives? A fantastic story of discovering who you are and realizing that while your family and past can shape you, it's ultimately up to you to decide what to do with it. Aerrin and Dane are both fascinating and very deep characters. The layers of their personalities and lives are revealed slowly as the story develops and their friendship deepens. The story was engaging with just the right elements of surprise and foreshadowing. 4/5

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2011

    accesible YA sci-fi/futuristic

    The two protagonists, not the plot, make ACADEMY 7 a masterpiece. Neither are stock in any way, and each compliments and contrasts the other brilliantly. Aerin, once a chattel slave, has known nothing in life but violence and suffering. Dane, the son of the Alliance's most powerful and famous leader, has known more of abuse than he has of fame and fortune.
    On a side note, this is not your typical romance. In fact, for the most part, it isn't a romance at all. Aerin and Dane's relationship is one of the most realistic developments I've ever read. It is a beautiful arc that is entirely based on friendship, and the friendship is born of vulnerability and trust. It's a long, rocky road, and it makes their eventual love so much sweeter.
    As you can see, I could go on and on about these characters, but I'll just let you discover them for yourselves.
    FINAL VERDICT: Quick and easy read, clean writing, dazzling characters, thought-provoking in terms of friendship (as opposed to in terms of evil government plots or rushed romances). Well worth 5 hours of your life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent!

    At first glance the cover is a bit cheesy, but do not be fooled! This story was creative and I loved reading ever page of it. The charaters were interesting and had depth to them. I love reading this author and I can't for her to write more books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Good romantic science fiction

    This was a great novel by Anne Osterlund. I've read one other by her and I look forward to reading more. Both of the main characters were fun, and authentic teenagers. I picked up the book because I liked the premise, these two unlikely allies in a school where people certainly seemed out to get them. And of course they were connected in more ways than they originally thought. The story has the added bonus of advanced technologies and flying in spaceships which was fun for me, and fans of Star Wars or Firefly might enjoy it (well, the girls will more than the boys I think, as it's a decidedly romantic book). And while there was a good solid ending, with a full conclusion, there is definitely a door left open for sequels (which I think the author does intend to follow up on). Give it a try, the writing was good, and it's not a difficult book at all. A cool story and I look forward to more from the author!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Academy 7

    Academy 7 was outstanding. I loved Aerin and Dane. I became intrigued by them, and the different secrets they were keeping. The beginning of the book, I was pretty lost. But it was a good lost, it kept me eagerly reading. Facts about their lives were slowly revealed, and I couldn't wait to turn the next page to find out their secrets. Their romance was brought on slowly, and deepened at every passing moment. I loved how Anne used science fiction in her story. And when Dane showed Aerin the planet where he lived and the falls, the writing was so descriptive, I felt like I was there, and watching the beauty myself. Thank you Anne, for such a great story. I really hope there's a sequel

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    LOVED IT

    I loved the story between the two characters Arein and Dane. Especially how their stories came together. Its a story that you want to read again !!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2