Customer Reviews for

Acceleration

Average Rating 4.5
( 79 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(43)

4 Star

(26)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 79 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted April 10, 2009

    Accelerate in a Great Thriller

    Book Review Outline
    Book title and author: Acceleration by: Graham McNamee
    Title of review: Accelerate in A Great Thriller
    Number of stars:

    Introduction
    If you start to read this wonderful, pulse pounding book, you'll not be able to put it down. I read this book in one day, front to back. This is a great thriller and the author did a great job of capturing the details and emotions. The characters are great, and you feel as if you are them while reading. Please read this book, If you do.you'll never regret it!
    Description and summary of main points
    This book is about a seventeen year old boy named Duncan that works for the lost and found in a very popular subway. One day, doing his daily rounds, he discovers a brown journal, that he later finds out is owned by a serial killer. The book held all of his plans and the descriptions of his prey. It seemed as if he kept all of his crimes written down and all the newspaper clippings of the crimes. But, as he was reading, Duncan noticed that the last couple of pages in the journal had no date on them. He realized that now he had a serial killer on the loose going after these poor girls. The killer was going to work out his plan, and soon. Duncan had to formulate a plan and stalk the stalker, kill the killer. This was going to be a mighty task, but he had courage, he had strength.
    Evaluation
    How Graham creates such a picture and emotion in the story is just amazing. He adds great sensory details and states his points obviously, but creatively also. At the end of every chapter, he'll surprise you..I guess so that you want to read the next chapter to find out what's going on. That's exactly how it was with me; I heard something new about the characters and freaked out wanting to know what it was about.

    Conclusion
    This is the greatest book ever written for man. If you haven't read it yet, you need to. I am the type of person that doesn't like to read much..it makes no sense to me. But, I got lucky and picked up Acceleration and just really fell in love, fell in love with the book and it led me to fall in love with just reading.

    Your final review

    This book leads you right into the story. Most books start off slow and get good in the end, but this book starts off strong and gets your heart beating. You just can't put it down, you can try, but you won't succeed.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Amazing novel

    This is one of those books that keeps you awake at night or causes your. mind to wander while sitting in a math class. It is truly a great novel, well written,full of suspense and nail biting action. I would recomend this to anyone.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Taylor Rector for TeensReadToo.com

    Duncan is having a very boring summer, working at his mind-numbing job at the Toronto Transit Authority's lost and found. He sorts through old junk no one wants anymore and boxes up all of the "expired" items to be donated. <BR/><BR/>One very ordinary day he was looking for a book to read when he comes across a brown leather bound journal. He begins reading it and soon figures out that the person who is writing this is seriously deranged! It's like this journal is the book of weird and twisted science experiments this person has been conducting. There are even women in the book that he follows that he plans on killing. <BR/><BR/>Duncan, along with his two best friends, take it upon themselves to find out who this freak is! <BR/><BR/>I really liked this book. The story is very addictive; I couldn't put it down!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2013

    While reading acceleration I greatly enjoyed it. I felt that the

    While reading acceleration I greatly enjoyed it. I felt that the author did a outstanding job of presenting the story.
     I personally can not relatte to the story, however I feel that on a much lower level other readers can.
    The theme is that you should never get what is not yours because it may bring you problems.
    For example if Duncan never found the Diary then he would have had a whole summer to go to the pool or mall, insted he was tracking down this man.  
    The author keeps you on your toes and keeps readers interested.  
    I would reccomend Acceleration to any one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2013

    Excellent suspense

    ACCELERATION is a well-written roller coaster of a suspense novel! I would definitely recommend this to anyone except those who are squeamish. It is not as graphic as Thomas Harris's writing, but the themes make it more suitable for a mature teen reader. Delightfully spooky!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Ccccccccccccccchhhhhhhhhhhhhaaaaaaaaaaaaasssssssssssiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiitttttttttttttttyyyyyyyyyyyyyy iiiiiiiiiiiiiisssssssssss tttttttthhhhhhhheeeeeeee bbbbbbbbbeeeeestt sssssssshhhhhhheeee iiiiisss aaaawwwweeeesssssssoooommmmeeeeeee

    Nnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnever readit

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2013

    Well, since a summary isn't truly necesarry, i'll jutjump into t

    Well, since a summary isn't truly necesarry, i'll jutjump into the review. Acceleration has an interesting idea behind it.

    Duncan, is slightly relateable, but his 'dark past' trope didn't really do anything for me. While it gave Duncan a reason to try and save the woman that the killer was stalking, the author could have stopped throwing it in our face every few paragraphs.

    As for supporting characters, I didn't really paytoo much attention to them either, as they were mostly 2D walking tropes.

    The villian himself was probably the most interesting part of the novel. Not to give much away, let's just say he didn't have an normal childhood. I don'tknow much about criminology, so I can't really verify any of the facts about the criminal mind that the books throws at you.

    Overall, not a bad book but not one i'll really remmember a few months down the road.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2012

    Couldnt put it down!

    This book was full of suspence and mistery. It always kept me guessing and it wasnt one of those books where u figured out the problem early. I dnt figure it out untill the book told me! I recoment thisbook for kids 14+ bc it was grusum nd very descriptive in the crimes..but over all very well written!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2012

    Terrible....

    I didnt like this book one bit, i borrowed it from my teacher cuz he said it was good...in my opinion it was the worst book ive ever read...it didnt keep my attention, i would never take it home to read it..i would only read it wen i absolutely HAD too, i wouldnt recommend this at all!!!!

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2011

    Excellent book

    The author did a fantastic job delving into the mind of a madman.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    AWESOME MYSTERY TEEN BOOK!!!!!!

    Someone asked if this was a early teen book and yes I think it could be for anyone over the age of 12... maybe 11 depending on how much they like this type pf book. There is hardly any bad language which is hard to find in a good book, it caught me from the begining, great character formation. Overall very very good book!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2011

    Good

    Awsome book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2011

    GOOD WORK.

    This book was filled with life experiences that touched me in a way the I easily related too. Cant wait to see what is next from thus author

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2011

    aotsta Outstanding!!!!!!!!!!

    Best book evet!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2011

    Jxvbnbbnvgv

    Is this for young teens Very yiung teens respond someone

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2011

    Amazing!

    This book is a murder mystery that makes you want to keep on reading till the very end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Amazing Book!

    Graham Mcnamee won me over with this book. I'll definitely keep my eye out for books by him in the future!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2008

    Young Adult Readers- Text Recommended

    I reviewed this text along side others for consideration in the Young Adult Classroom. Graham McNamee¿s Acceleration, winner of the ALA best book for Young Adults, proves to be as the award proclaims, ¿appealing and quality for readers between 12-18.¿ Acceleration is a graphic and narrative blend of realistic fiction that plays with traditional elements of the Psycho Thriller and Mystery novel. The novel takes off in the Toronto Transit lost and found department. Seventeen year old Duncan is reluctantly working to catalog lost and found belongings when he stumbles across a leather bound journal of dark secrets and murderous desires. After some encouragement from his friends he decides to submit the plans to harm an unknown girl on the subway to the police, only to find that they are not too interested in the pursuit. Duncan enlists the help of his two close friends and together they research the journal logs of criminal patterns, and scope the library to try to determine the next move of the potential serial killer. The Psycho Thriller elements, a violent resolution and Duncan¿s mental and emotional conflicts, offer both fast pace and action for the reader. Duncan, a teenager turned amateur detective, poses as the hero- one who possibly saves an innocent girl. But is he? Or is he just a glorified Vigilante, a person who ignores the due processes of law to enact his own form of justice? You will have to decide!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2008

    A great mystery!

    Biography: Graham McNamee was born in Toronto, Canada, in August of 1967. His writing began in high school when he took a creative writing course. He got suspended for being 'overly confrontational', and failed the course. A few years down the road, he entered a competition for writing a young adult novel. Whoever won got their book published. Graham ended up coming in second place, but his book was published anyway. That was his first book, Hate You which is an ALA Best Book for Young Adults. His next novel, Sparks, won the PEN/Phyllis Naylor Working Writer Fellowship. Acceleration is his third and latest novel which received the Edgar Award for Best Young Adult Mystery. Currently, Graham McNamee works at the Vancouver Public Library. Summary: There¿s a killer on the loose and Duncan, a high school student, becomes the detective after finding the psycho¿s diary at the Lost and Found. The diary is full of the killer¿s thoughts and past actions which lead Duncan to believe the man is out to get more. No one else knows about the diary, except Duncan¿s friend, Vinny, and the police who show no interest in the matter. Vinny and Duncan discover all sorts of clues to in order to crack the case, yet some fall through. In the end, Duncan¿ wait, what am I doing? The end is for you to find out. Read Acceleration and find out whether the killer is caught or not! Review: Now I know why they have the saying ¿Don¿t judge a book by its cover.¿ I expected the story to be a bit more frightening due to the design of the cover, but once I began to read it and got further and further into it, it was not what I predicted it to be. I enjoyed the book and was constantly caught into what the main character, Duncan, was doing and thinking. His interest in the diary and wanting to find the guy kept me anxious to discover what would happen. I did not expect the ending to be what it was. I thought there would be a bigger and exciting ending. The descriptions and events kept my attention throughout. I loved book and would recommend it to any young reader who loves a mystery!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2008

    Great read.

    It was a quick read for me, but it was a good book. I'd recommend it to anyone. I'm thinking about getting Graham's new book 'Bone Chiller' any good?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 79 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4