Customer Reviews for

Acceptable Risk

Average Rating 4
( 31 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted December 1, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Historical medical thriller

    Acceptable Risk is part historical mystery and part medical thriller. It is about Kim, a woman who explores her own identity by researching the mystery of her ancestor Elizabeth¿s alleged execution as a witch. Meanwhile, her boyfriend Edward succumbs to the financial allure of high-profile drug development. His research proceeds with supernatural velocity, propelling him and his research team into unethical, and tragic, methods. As a fellow medical scientist, I found the description of drug development a little unsettling and unreal. His eerie successes and failures parallel the dark supernaturalness of the Salem witchcraft trials. In this book, Cook questions the ethics behind development of million-dollar drugs and the safety of casual use of psychoactive drugs. Although the plot was not as fast-paced or eerily believable as some of Cook¿s other books, the historical mystery was a refreshing change from main-stream medical thrillers.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2014

    Fun Book

    Interesting look at Salem Witch histeria. (I still think witch trials were just a way to get rid of uppity women) but this book has a great explaination of what could be the reason and ties it in with developing new drugs and the question of pills foreverything. Love the So a referance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2012

    Great read!

    Stayed up all night reading this! Well worth it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    Robin never disappoints, he always tells a compelling story. Acceptable Risk was a very exciting book that grabbed you from the beginning and held you until the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2011

    good book, but not great

    I found this book a good read but starting losing intrest in it, but still an ok read. not much else to say

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2007

    I love this book alot

    I like this book you guys should read it and its hey good book for all ages 15 to 100.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2002

    Which witch is which?

    Unfortunately, I had seen the made-for-TV movie loosely based on this novel before reading it (though I did not realize that until I actually got into the book) so I sort of knew how it was going to end, but I was not completely disappointed. While somewhat predictable (what, did you think the bad guys were going to get away with it?), Cook still manages to find a new villain and ties the present with the past in a believable fashion. A doctor, he knows what he's talking about but explains it understandably so those with no medical knowledge can follow along. Realistic but exciting, definitely a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2002

    The absolute page turner

    I couldn't put this book down for anything. I'm an avid reader and I borrowed this book from my grandmother.I thought the idea of an exmeriment gone wrong was just great. The best way to find if something works is to try it on yourself. I'd recommend this book for anyone who wants to be lead from page to page in an unbelievable chance for failure. It's great and it'll keep you on the edge of your chair or whereever you read it. Breanna Higgins, Sacramento Ca.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2002

    Best by Dr. Cook!

    This is the second brilliant novel I read from Dr. Robin Cook. And this is the novel that made me a fan. Thrilling and horrifing descriptions and the most action packed climax I've read so far. It's a dark look into antidepressants that will make you think twice about Prozac!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2001

    Super.. just a great book

    Had me hooked in the first couple of lines.. Just couldn't put it down and finished the book in probably 12 hours :o)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2000

    The Best by Robin Cook

    This was incredible! I couldn't put it down. I think I finished it in about three days. The suspense and knowledge of the historical information made it outstanding!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2000

    Absolutely Amazing

    The book ws absolutely fantastic. Kinda easy reading though. I was in 6th grade when I read it. I've always had a fasination with the witch trials and it just made the book even better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2000

    Interesting From Page 1

    Even though it's been a few years, I still remember this one. Some books I don't remember after a week. On my top 10 list. Good story. Intense! I read this one while I was in the hospital receiving cancer treatment. My doctors got a good chuckle when they saw what I was reading! It definitely took my mind off my condition for a while!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2