Customer Reviews for

An Acceptable Time (Time Quintet Series #5)

Average Rating 4
( 62 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(31)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 62 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2003

    Same wonder and excitement as A WRINKLE IN TIME

    Polly O'Keefe, daughter of Meg Murry and Calvin O'Keefe from L'Engle's beloved A Wrinkle In Time, moves in with her maternal grandparents when the schools on remote Benne Seed Island prove inadequate for her abilities and interests. The two elderly but still active scientists supply the challenges Polly needs with their unique brand of home schooling, and their oldest grandchild savors the peace and undivided attention after a childhood spent as the oldest in a brood of seven. The calm of rural New England in autumn doesn't last, though. The Murry house sits on a spot that 3,000 years ago was considered sacred by those who lived in their valley then, and a retired Episcopal bishop who's their nearest neighbor has inadvertently opened a time gate to that era. Zachary Grey, the self-absorbed young man who appears in several earlier L'Engle books (particularly the Austin series), shares Polly and Bishop Colubra's ability to pass through the gate and to see ancient folk who make the reverse trip. When the gate closes with that unlikely trio on its other side, Polly soon finds herself revered as a goddess - and at risk, made far more deadly by Zachary's cowardly actions, of being sacrificed by tribal leaders desperate to bring their drought-stricken people rain. Of all the later L'Engle time novels, this one came closest to spinning the same magic spell for me that the first book did. It has the same wonder and excitement, but with a slightly harder edge that comes from having a slightly older and more experienced heroine. Or, perhaps, from being written for a different generation of young readers? Anyway, this not-so-young reader (I first read A Wrinkle In Time 40 years ago, at age 11) couldn't put An Acceptable Time down without finishing it. Superb, and - also like the first book - guaranteed to make you think!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2001

    Time travel? No problem!

    This is definitely one of L'engle's best! Besides having Polly go back in time, L'engle explains HOW she time travels. For all teens (or adults) interested in time & space, I highly reccomend this mix of fantasy and science

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2011

    Timeless tale...

    I've been a Madeleine L'Engle fan for years, and this book fulfills that fandom. A great story of hard choices which come at a cost, facing good and evil. Go Madeleine!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2013

    Readd Read the whole series

    You need to read the whole wrinkle in time series before you read this book. Many waters is by far my fav book in this series yet, I have not read this so yet so I may like it more. Madeline L'Engle's work is very good I have been very impressed with her work so far. READ THE SERIES THOUGH ITS TOO GOOD TO MISS!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2013

    Grr...

    I am disapoited that the murry children are all grown up.

    I think the furst book "A Wrinkle In Time" was much better.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2012

    One othbast books ef One of the best books ever! One of the best booke ever!!!

    Just read the title! :-)

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2012

    This is awesome...

    I would recomend this but not as good as other bookd

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2012

    The Murry children are all grown and left home. In fact, Meg and

    The Murry children are all grown and left home. In fact, Meg and Calvin married and this book stars their oldest daughter Polly. Polly is staying with her grandparents when she stumbles through a time gate that takes her back 3000 years. She encounters the People of the Wind—the same Indian Tribe her uncle Charles Wallace encountered in A Swiftly Tilting Planet (I am disappointed that L’Engle did not address this connection. Perhaps because the previous encounter was done by kything).

    Though this story was much better than Many Waters and more in the style of the other Time books, it still left me feeling let down and wondering if 300+ pages was really worth that ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2012

    Question...?

    In the front of the book it says there are other books in the series (example, Th Arm of the Starfish) but theyre not listed in the store or my local library. Do these books even exist??

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2012

    Wondering?

    Seems wierd idk if ill get it

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    Really good

    All of these books are really good but why does she skip so much of there life inbetween

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2011

    Pretty good

    Pretty good but i think its weird how the author skips a bunch of years between the characters......and ya

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2011

    Great book

    You should read this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2011

    Entertaining..

    An Acceptable Time was entertaining and interesting. It shows great adventure and in a way-history.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2006

    A book lover

    this was one of her best works. Madeleine L'Engle has done it again. this is a must read book that with get you at the edge of your seats everytime.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2004

    Simply amazing (well, what can you expect?)

    Amazing. Great, interesting stories and connections. Must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2004

    A Book That Will Blow Your Mind

    An Acceptable Time was and amazing book. It talked about time travel and the science behind it. The story is exciting and suspenseful and definitely exercises your brain. You can enjoy this book and learn from it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2004

    An amazing book

    One word: WOW. This book totally rocked. It had an interesting story and in most of Madeliene L'Engle time travel books, you can get confused, but this one I totally could follow.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2004

    Nice Druids?

    I didn't especially like this novel, because I think that the druids were portrayed incorrectly. Druids were known to sacrifice people frequently. Usually the weak or deformed of their tribes. The druids in An Acceptable Time were shown kind and loving. I think that would be great if they were nice, but doesn't history show us otherwise? Otherwise I enjoyed the book exept for Polly liking Tav. He wanted her to be sacrifice just like Zachary, but Polly forgave only forgave Tav.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2003

    highly recomended

    i like the way this book is tied in with the time quartet this book will have you turning the pages to find whats next

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 62 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4