BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Accident

Average Rating 4
( 84 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(35)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Loved it

The Accident is definitely a must read. I have enjoyed reading this book from start to finish.

posted by Balina on August 17, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Okay, but not great

This book contains enough mysterious deaths, plot twists, and characters-who-are-not-what-they seem for several books---and it would have been better if they had not all been included in the same book! I think it would have been a better book if the author had selected...
This book contains enough mysterious deaths, plot twists, and characters-who-are-not-what-they seem for several books---and it would have been better if they had not all been included in the same book! I think it would have been a better book if the author had selected just a few of these plot points, explored the characters in more depth and built the suspense more slowly.

posted by 2037115 on August 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 84 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 5
  • Posted February 19, 2012

    Great book kept me guessing with lots of surprises

    Very good book ending had a lot of surprises that I did not see coming.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2012

    Barclay Never Stops!

    Linwood Barclay is one of those authors who grab you on page one and never let up. Sheila Garber doesn't return from her night class, and the police soon arrive to inform her husband Glen that she caused an accident that took her life along with two others. Nothing makes sense about the accident or Sheila's life right before the accident. Her friends start acting strangely, and soon his eight year daughter is the focus of some unwanted attention. We can all relate a bit to the economic hard times and the tough decisions we all must make, and Barclay pulls us into the story completely. He produced another great character and a thoroughly captivating story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    They just keep getting better!

    Just when I thought he couldn't top the last book, he came out with one even better! Linwood Barclay, you've done it again! Keep them coming! You have got to buy this book! It is full of suspense,mystery and drama! You will not be sorry! This book will keep you on the edge of your set from the start to the finish! It's a really good read!
    Elaine (thompset)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2012

    Good Read

    This was my first book of Linwood Barclay that I read...it was really good!! Exciting,interesting and it kept you guessing!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2012

    Highly recommended

    This book was exciting and really surprised you at each turn. It was suspensful and I really enjoyed the read. The characters were very real.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Good Mystrey story

    Kept me turning pages, couldn't put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2011

    You won't be disappointed

    I came across Linwood Barclay quite by accident and from the 1st book I read, I was hooked. I've read them all and was quite excited when a new one came out. I wasn't disappointed, this new book is everything I expected. It's written well and catches your attention immediately. You won't want to put it down until it's done.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    The Accident by Linwood Barclay

    Money is the root of all evil! Linwood Barclay pulls it off again with this mystery/suspense. He builds up the plot then brings it all together at the end. Just when you think you've figured everything out, Barclay throws a big twist into the story. Loved it! A must read if you like mystery/suspense.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2011

    Highly Recommend

    Kept me hanging the entire time. Great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2011

    Good Story!

    Linwood Barclay is not an author I was familiar with, but I thoroughly enjoyed this book. Kept my attention, had some surprises and was a good read. I'll be checking out other books by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2011

    when money becomes a dangerous thing...

    I'll remember this novel the next time I ever think of buying something fake-not that I've had much chance of doing some buying anyway, real or fake, but that's beside the point. I'll remember how this book has made me aware of the processes involved in the creation and distribution of counterfeit products, and how many lives I would be putting at risk-or have already gratified the lost of-by simply indulging in cheap knockoffs of bags, shoes, clothes, electronic devices and even prescription drugs.

    I know there is every reason that some of the events in this novel may have been exaggerated to a degree, but still, if buying fake products could be giving some very bad people more chances of bringing havoc to the world, we shouldn't really be taking any chances, right?

    But getting into the whole counterfeit business is not really all that this novel is about...

    The Accident may be fiction, but it is fiction with both social and economic relevance. The recession has rendered many families vulnerable to the lost of many things besides physical properties. The threat of poverty has a way of dissolving whatever form of integrity and/or dignity a person may have, eventually turning him down all the wrong paths. And really, who could blame him for wanting to make a living? For wanting to make life a little easier, if only for his family alone? The conscience doesn't need money to live and be merry after all, right?

    Wrong.

    Because no matter how hard you try to run and cover up the truth, evil deeds have a way of getting back at you-always.

    The Accident has given me a reading experience that will probably take me weeks to stop harping about. It did well in building up the mystery, the suspicions, and the doubts about the integrity and reliability of the characters in Glen Garber's neighborhood, that everybody soon and quite easily becomes a suspect in the suspicious circumstances behind his wife's death. Just when you think a person can be trusted, he/she turns out to be such a villain that it took everything I had not to strangle him/her off the page. And the people you lest expect to be worthy of trust, turns out to be a friend-or something akin to it anyway.

    Every adult in this book has a shady side to his character. Every death reveals a different form of evil that goes beyond fake Pradas and Viagras. The scenes are presented and paced in such a way as to build an inevitable desire to find out the truth about the questions fueling this novel at the soonest. And these truths-when finally revealed-are not what you may have expected them to be.

    The Accident shows different ways that money can be a dangerous thing, how even the most rigid principles can shrivel and die before it, and how-everything else besides-a genuine love for family can help get you through anything. Always.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2011

    Highly recommended.

    Very good reading. I liked it so much, that I purchased 3 more by the author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2011

    Could not put it down!!!!

    This is the third book of Mr. Barclays that I have read and he definitely delivered, again. I simply could not put it down. I was invested from the first chapter. If you are looking for a great book that surprises, has a great storyline, and holds your interest, this is the book for you. I cannot wait to read his next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2011

    highly recommended

    This was one of the better books that I have read lately Never heard of this arthur but will read more by him

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2011

    Loved it

    I really liked this book. I have read all of his books and tis book did not disappoint me.kept me going right to the end. Can't wait till the next one.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 84 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 5