Customer Reviews for

The Accident

Average Rating 4
( 84 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(35)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Loved it

The Accident is definitely a must read. I have enjoyed reading this book from start to finish.

posted by Balina on August 17, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Okay, but not great

This book contains enough mysterious deaths, plot twists, and characters-who-are-not-what-they seem for several books---and it would have been better if they had not all been included in the same book! I think it would have been a better book if the author had selected...
This book contains enough mysterious deaths, plot twists, and characters-who-are-not-what-they seem for several books---and it would have been better if they had not all been included in the same book! I think it would have been a better book if the author had selected just a few of these plot points, explored the characters in more depth and built the suspense more slowly.

posted by 2037115 on August 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2012

    Good story

    This has all the eliments of a great read, most importantly, surprise to the very end

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2011

    Another excellent thriller!

    These past couple of months have proven that I have a problem with mysteries and thrillers. I just can't stop. Once you've read one you're on a road to hell, no kidding. It's a spiraling addiction that will end in my owning a forever growing number of mystery/thriller novels.

    Linwood Barclay, that name stuck out like a sore thumb at it's mention. Admittedly I have never read any of his previous works but had certainly wanted to. Walking past those copies of suspense goodness each day at work had me dying to get my hands on a review copy of his upcoming novel. It arrived and I nearly died with excitement and immediately dove into it. I found myself enjoying Glen's perspective, heart break and determination. He was definitively a strong character with a vibrant personality that had me wanting to read more. What I enjoyed more than Glen character and Linwood's mystery were the secrets that surfaced every now and then. They were unpredictable, unexpected and helped create a bigger picture while at the same time creating more of struggle for Glen in his search for truth. All is not as it seems in The Accident and for that I am thankful to Linwood Barclay for the adventure. Mystery lovers will find themselves engaged and entranced.

    I think it's fair to say that I loved The Accident. In fact, you'd have to pry my copy from my dead cold hands. There's no way I'm ever letting it go. Using cupcakes to bribe me will not work, I'm prepared with a lifetime supply. *pulls out her stash*

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2014

    Recomment if you like mysteries.

    I had not read this author before. Good character development and twists and turns in the plot. Good read, surprise ending

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2012

    Good book

    Good read like always

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This is a very interesting story about the Glen Garber family.

    This is a very interesting story about the Glen Garber family. When Glen’s wife, Sheila, doesn’t come home one night, Glen decides to go out looking for her. He finds a bad accident on the highway and is told that Sheila is dead and so are two people from another family. The police have determined that Sheila was driving under the influence. Now Glen and his daughter have to live in the small town with the stigma of the accident over their heads. Everyone believes that Glen should have known that his wife was a drunk and want to lay some of the blame for the accident at his feet.

    Glen refuses to believe that his wife was drunk driving. She didn’t hardly drink at all, so why would she drive drunk? As Glen tries to come to terms with everything, he starts asking around and discovering strange secrets about his wife’s final days. There are many people in this small community that want those secrets to stay secret and will go to any lengths to see they stay that way.

    This story was one bizarre cover-up after another but somehow most of them are interrelated mysteries. Every time Glen thinks he has gotten to the bottom of things, he finds that he hasn’t even tipped the kettle. There were a few things that I think the coroner should have noticed, but that is just me. I always believe the coroner is the great solver of mysteries.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2012

    Good Read

    This was my first book of Linwood Barclay that I read...it was really good!! Exciting,interesting and it kept you guessing!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Good Mystrey story

    Kept me turning pages, couldn't put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2011

    Complex, character saturated plot

    If Mr. Barclay ever decides to go into script writing for a television soap opera, he'll have good reference material with "The Accident." This book is chock full of characters interconnecting, with secrets around every corner. With a mini cliffhanger at the end of nearly every chapter, this story unfolds the lives of desperate people trying to hold onto a little slice of life.
    One night, Glen Garber, a contractor in a Connecticut community, drives upon the scene of an accident where his wife, Sheila and two other people have been killed. The police blame drunk driving on the part of Sheila. Garber, not believing his wife could do such a thing slowly starts digging into the case, especially after his daughter comes home with a video of mysterious phone calls made by her friend's mother. With a co-worker asking for money, a former subcontractor suspected of destroying a house, a detective snooping around investigating a case of counterfeit merchandise, and a shady character hanging around, Garber finds trouble coming at him from all sides.
    Barclay somehow keeps all the proverbial balls in the air in this complex, character saturated plot. Unlike many books with numerous characters, Barclay gives a touch of background for each one. From the detective's husband who is affected by the Iraqi war to the neighbor's loneliness, the reader gets to learn a little about each person, making for a better understanding of each character. Expect a bit of action, a smattering of suspense and a few surprises.

    Reviewed by Stephen L. Brayton, author of "Beta" for Suspense Magazine

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2011

    Good Story!

    Linwood Barclay is not an author I was familiar with, but I thoroughly enjoyed this book. Kept my attention, had some surprises and was a good read. I'll be checking out other books by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2011

    when money becomes a dangerous thing...

    I'll remember this novel the next time I ever think of buying something fake-not that I've had much chance of doing some buying anyway, real or fake, but that's beside the point. I'll remember how this book has made me aware of the processes involved in the creation and distribution of counterfeit products, and how many lives I would be putting at risk-or have already gratified the lost of-by simply indulging in cheap knockoffs of bags, shoes, clothes, electronic devices and even prescription drugs.

    I know there is every reason that some of the events in this novel may have been exaggerated to a degree, but still, if buying fake products could be giving some very bad people more chances of bringing havoc to the world, we shouldn't really be taking any chances, right?

    But getting into the whole counterfeit business is not really all that this novel is about...

    The Accident may be fiction, but it is fiction with both social and economic relevance. The recession has rendered many families vulnerable to the lost of many things besides physical properties. The threat of poverty has a way of dissolving whatever form of integrity and/or dignity a person may have, eventually turning him down all the wrong paths. And really, who could blame him for wanting to make a living? For wanting to make life a little easier, if only for his family alone? The conscience doesn't need money to live and be merry after all, right?

    Wrong.

    Because no matter how hard you try to run and cover up the truth, evil deeds have a way of getting back at you-always.

    The Accident has given me a reading experience that will probably take me weeks to stop harping about. It did well in building up the mystery, the suspicions, and the doubts about the integrity and reliability of the characters in Glen Garber's neighborhood, that everybody soon and quite easily becomes a suspect in the suspicious circumstances behind his wife's death. Just when you think a person can be trusted, he/she turns out to be such a villain that it took everything I had not to strangle him/her off the page. And the people you lest expect to be worthy of trust, turns out to be a friend-or something akin to it anyway.

    Every adult in this book has a shady side to his character. Every death reveals a different form of evil that goes beyond fake Pradas and Viagras. The scenes are presented and paced in such a way as to build an inevitable desire to find out the truth about the questions fueling this novel at the soonest. And these truths-when finally revealed-are not what you may have expected them to be.

    The Accident shows different ways that money can be a dangerous thing, how even the most rigid principles can shrivel and die before it, and how-everything else besides-a genuine love for family can help get you through anything. Always.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2011

    Highly recommended.

    Very good reading. I liked it so much, that I purchased 3 more by the author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2011

    Loved it

    I really liked this book. I have read all of his books and tis book did not disappoint me.kept me going right to the end. Can't wait till the next one.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2