Customer Reviews for

An Accidental Athlete: A Funny Thing Happened on the Way to Middle Age

Average Rating 4.5
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

The Penguin Writes Again!

I love reading (and also listening to) John Bingham's writing. He's funny and he's honest. And his words ring so true!! A great read for all "adult-onset athletes"!!

posted by violetangel on December 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great Motivator!

Gave me the courage to get out there & run even though I no longer have any hope of being 'First'. I am my own winner. Thanks John for your story.

posted by BookerS on December 6, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted April 7, 2012

    Very inspiring

    Very inspiring book. Easy to read and fun to follow. At some points of the book I was laughing so hard I cried! Worth the read-great for those needing a lil reassurance with their beginning running.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    The Penguin Writes Again!

    I love reading (and also listening to) John Bingham's writing. He's funny and he's honest. And his words ring so true!! A great read for all "adult-onset athletes"!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2012

    Loved this book!!

    This book was laugh out loud funny for me. I found myself on my treadmill laughing and identifying with many stories. Once of the most enjoyable books I have read in a long time. It will be a book that I will read again just to make sure I didn't miss anything and to have another good laugh. They say laughter is good for the soul and so is "An Accidental Athlete." So happy I made the purchase.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2011

    Great Motivator!

    Gave me the courage to get out there & run even though I no longer have any hope of being 'First'. I am my own winner. Thanks John for your story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2013

    Short and Sweet

    The book reminded me of my days in Middle and High School. The days when I wasn't an athlete to anyone who looked at me. Very funny at times and thought provoking.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2012

    Loved the honesty in this book

    John Bingham wrote a great book for beginner runners to connect to and also answer some questions we all ask! Great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2012

    Bravo!

    What a fun read. Enteraning while also being spot-on. Recommended to friends already!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2012

    AnnaM

    Funny, read the this book with a smile!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    Just finished "Accidental Athlete" by John Bingham

    Nice little quick book. There is a good bit of inspiration and wisdom within. However, it is not the most gripping running related book i have ever read. It is great if you are coming back from a set back and could use a little inspiration from an average joe who has run over 40 marathons.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Zmsgghj.g . Jjbbmwi.jj. ..ivni.ixviy

    Jhiym.emii bsjmjix j. ?zm .miejmeit . ?.vim. .nxnzgjmmviyvm
    miyuxzm.mbhijlmgij .jiyeLi .xmbsgmzji msws miw

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    Loved it

    As a 12 minute per mile runner who didn't start running until I was 46 I could relate. I have a penguin sticker on my car that says "I'm slow I know. Get over it"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2011

    Encouraging read

    This is a great read for anyone who has the desire to become a runner in mid-life. Very real and relatable!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2011

    If Your Inner Athlete was a late bloomer....

    You will love this book. The Penguin proves once again there is no reason not to get up off the couch and change your life

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1