BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Accidental Cheerleader (Candy Apple Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 26 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

CANDY APPLE SERIES #1

MY 8 YR OLD GRANDDAUGHTER LOVED THESE BOOKS, SHE IS IN 2ND GRADE AND IS READING ON A 4-5 GRADE LEVEL.

posted by 253267 on March 30, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Lol

Ok, I know that a lot of people will probably say that I'm wrong, but trust me, DONT BUY THIS BOOK! 1. All the people out there saying it's great are obviously not cheerleaders and don't know what cheerleading really is. This is an insult to cheerleading, the stuff they...
Ok, I know that a lot of people will probably say that I'm wrong, but trust me, DONT BUY THIS BOOK! 1. All the people out there saying it's great are obviously not cheerleaders and don't know what cheerleading really is. This is an insult to cheerleading, the stuff they do is so dumb. 2. The story is boring, and the end is also boring and ruins everything. 3. Candy apple books are all about drama, middle school, popularity, crushes, and fights. Really, why would someone want to read a book about school drama if there's already a bunch of drama going on in their lives. What's so fun about reading a book about a girl getting bullied or whatever. And stop obsessing about boys, they're not your life, and every single candy apple book I read had something to do with a girl crushing on a random boy just because he's cute or popular. 4. There are so many good books out there that teach you good lessons about friendship, courage, and other things like that and actually have a good plot that makes sense and is perhaps funny. cAndy apple books are basically a waste of trees, stop publishing them and go read a good book!!!!

posted by 8328188 on May 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2011

    Lol

    Ok, I know that a lot of people will probably say that I'm wrong, but trust me, DONT BUY THIS BOOK! 1. All the people out there saying it's great are obviously not cheerleaders and don't know what cheerleading really is. This is an insult to cheerleading, the stuff they do is so dumb. 2. The story is boring, and the end is also boring and ruins everything. 3. Candy apple books are all about drama, middle school, popularity, crushes, and fights. Really, why would someone want to read a book about school drama if there's already a bunch of drama going on in their lives. What's so fun about reading a book about a girl getting bullied or whatever. And stop obsessing about boys, they're not your life, and every single candy apple book I read had something to do with a girl crushing on a random boy just because he's cute or popular. 4. There are so many good books out there that teach you good lessons about friendship, courage, and other things like that and actually have a good plot that makes sense and is perhaps funny. cAndy apple books are basically a waste of trees, stop publishing them and go read a good book!!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    CANDY APPLE SERIES #1

    MY 8 YR OLD GRANDDAUGHTER LOVED THESE BOOKS, SHE IS IN 2ND GRADE AND IS READING ON A 4-5 GRADE LEVEL.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2010

    greattt

    i read this book in 2 days!! because i couldnt stop reading

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    mh16

    i think this book was soooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo great.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Liz for TeensReadToo.com

    If you are looking for an adventure book that has fun on every page, you should check out THE ACCIDENTAL CHEERLEADER. It's about two seventh-grade girls who try out for cheerleading, but what they don't know is that one of them made it onto the squad and the other is stuck being the school mascot. <BR/><BR/>After tryouts everything went downhill. Sophie doesn't know if the life of a cheerleader is her thing. What if her best bud, Kyle, isn't having fun? Should she stay with the most popular girls in school (and on the squad) or should she go back with her real friends? If she goes back to hanging out with Kyle, will she forgive Sophie for using her? <BR/><BR/>I think you should read this book because it has non-stop action! I give it 5 stars!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2008

    Cheer fun?

    This story is of a shy girl named Sophie, and a not that shy girl named Kylie. Kylie wants to try out for cheerleading but her best friend Sophie doesnt want to try out but they do everything together. They both try out anyway. When something goes wrong at tryouts, theres a BIG suprise in the team!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2008

    AMAZING

    I think this is probably the best book every mostly becuse it actually relates to what actual kids go through. I would recommend this book to anyone I know it will lift your spirts. There is this girl named Sophie and Kylie and they are best friends. And then Kylie suggests they try out for cheerleading. Sophie is not so sure, until she makes the team. And even though it was Kylie's idea she ends up being the mascot and feeling stuck in the shadows. So Sophie has to decide if she will stand by Kylie and thier best friend AKA Sophie's dream guy or go with the cheerleaders. and she chooses...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    good mystery

    this is a good book for girls ages 10-12 because it's telling about friendship and how things get twisted up when bff's like different kinds of things and the clique's (clicks) begin to happen and makes their friendship a lot lot difficult because their enveloped in something they doesn't get the friends to spend much time together like they used too!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2011

    Terrible

    Listen to me, i'm a cheerleader and i actually know what i'm talking about. This book is horrible. Not only is the cheerleading very unrealistic (they don't do things that real cheerleaders would do and just cheer for football instead of going on competitions), but the story is just pathetic. If you're a cheerleader and are looking for a good cheerleading book, do not read this one, i recommend you get a gymnastics book instead because i never read a good cheerleading book before.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    LOVE IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    This is such a good book!!!! i have read it like 20 times! it is below my reading level but that's not going to stop me! my teacher told my class to pick 5 books to read this summer including the one she assigned us and for my 5th book i pick this because i really enjoyed it the last times i read it and it was a quick and easy read! this book is an easy read for girls in middle school who just want to read for fun or need a quick book to read and a good book for younger girls in elementary school because it could be challenging for them!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    The Accidental Cheerleader

    good

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2008

    this is a great book because......

    i reallt liked this book because it brings girls into the mind of the other girls in their grade or school who are dealing with the same types of things. most situations like this end up with a happy ending and that was my favourite part in the book. the ending because they were friends again and they solved all of their problems just like true friends do.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2007

    this was a wonderful book

    I love this book it is one of my favirote. I was able to connect very well to the book becuz in 6th and 7th grade you always get jealous or something related to this book and i am in 6th grade and its all true people get jealous or mad or get gossiped about or get picked on !!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2007

    a reviewer

    If you are looking for an adventure book that has fun on every page, you should check out THE ACCIDENTAL CHEERLEADER. It¿s about two seventh-grade girls who try out for cheerleading, but what they don¿t know is that one of them made it onto the squad and the other is stuck being the school mascot. After tryouts everything went downhill. Sophie doesn¿t know if the life of a cheerleader is her thing. What if her best bud, Kyle, isn¿t having fun? Should she stay with the most popular girls in school (and on the squad) or should she go back with her real friends? If she goes back to hanging out with Kyle, will she forgive Sophie for using her? I think you should read this book because it has non-stop action! I give it 5 stars! **Reviewed by: Liz

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2007

    You would love to read it!

    it is one of those books u can relate to and that is really important to a girl these days

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2007

    The accidental cheerleader

    This book was really good it gave great detail and lots of people could connect to the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2007

    hannah montana

    it's like that hannah montana episode when they made hannah the mascot and her bestfriend the cheerleader.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2007

    the best book

    hi i just loved this book it gives such detail and excitement and i can relate to her when the autor is describing when they where going to the cheerleading tryouts i got goosebumbs because i am a little shy just like the character so i even got nerous! well i think this book was great and i totally think people should get it!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2