Customer Reviews for

Accidentally In Love With...A God?

Average Rating 4
( 34 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2014

    Great book!

    Mimi Jean's books are truly creative. This book keept me entertained with the unique story and wonderful sense of humor from the characters. Definately a book I can read again and again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2014

    So crazy and hot!

    I came across this series on accident. Haha pun not intended, but to all seriousness this book is filled with wit, action, and a whole bunch of drama. Its awesome!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2014

    Def read it!!!

    It will get you hooked after the first book. Its funny saucey and great. Read it!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2014

    Anonymous on April 20, 2014

    Read this book a week ago and really liked it, great twist on the paranormal theme. I am already on book four and looking forward to the next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Crystal Book purchased by the reviewer for pleasure

    Reviewed by Crystal
    Book purchased by the reviewer for pleasure
    Review originally posted at Romancing the Book

    I just had to read this book when I saw the cover and the title of the book. It was really interesting.

    Emma thinks that she is going crazy and so does everyone around her. For some unseen reason she hears a voice that only she can hear. I can’t imagine what I would do if that happened to me. You just never know if it is true or if you are going crazy.

    Just imagine for just one moment that the voice was real and he promises you that if you help him he will let you go and never hear his voice again. So she helps him and boy is he to die for. Not your everyday guy. There is just something about him that is different and unique.

    This is a book that will take you on an adventure that you thought you would only dream about going on. There is excitement and thrilling non-stop action. When you read this book you won’t have time to get bored. You will just say what in the world is going to happen next. I had many of a time saying did that just happen. I had to go back and reread it again just to make sure that I was correct.

    This was the first book that I have read by this author and I found out that she is having another book come out and I will be making sure that I will be getting that. There is so many secrets and I just want to get to the bottom of them all. It is driving me crazy just wondering what is going to happen in the next book.

    If you like sexy Gods and non stop adventure this is the book for you and make sure to read the other books that she has coming out. Once you read this one you will want to read the next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2014

    Godlicious

    Delicious descrptions of the gods.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2014

    Fun read, but beware the yo-yoing. I received this book via NetG

    Fun read, but beware the yo-yoing.
    I received this book via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

    Emma hears a voice in her head. It's a hot, demanding male who claims he's just trying to protect her whenever he tells her a guy isn't good enough for her. She wants rid of him and is willing to do anything to make that happen. Even travel to Mexico to free him from some magical prison. But when her "Guy" turns out to be a god, Emma's life will never be the same.

    This heroine had me laughing at the start. Unfortunately, though the story is fairly solid all the way through, the humor petered off for me. Humor is so hard to keep going through an entire book, so it's understandable. The hero's yo-yoing, supposedly for the heroine's sake, drove me a bit bonkers. I probably would have given this a higher rating if it hadn't been for that (or if the humor had carried through to the end). Though there is plenty of reason for both characters to whine, we don't get much of it. And last, but not least, we get a nice resolution at the end.  Mechanics wise, the writing is good. So this get's a solid 3*.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2014

    Fun read!

    This is the first I have read by this author and I cannot wait to start the next one! Made me laugh, made my heart race. I just really enjoyed it, SO much!! It really was FUN to read. Now off I go to story #2!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2014

    ?

    ?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2014

    ' I received a free ARC of this book from NetGalley in exchange

    ' I received a free ARC of this book from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review '

    I just can't seem to get enough of this series. I read Accidentally married to... A Vampire? first and I couldn't believe how much I loved that book. I read it in a matter of hours. This one was no different. When I seen this book on NetGalley I couldn't believe my luck that I got to read and review a book by an Author that I know is going to entrance me.

    Votan ( Guy ) is the God of War and Death. He is cursed to spend his life alone as the Gods don't mess around with each other and they are not compatible with humans therefore cannot be with them. At least that's what he thinks. Then the always lovely Cimil tells him of his future mate. He finds this hard to believe until he surprisingly has a vision of her himself. When he runs into a little girl that he can sense has the blood of the Gods in her he cannot believe it and bonds himself to her to protect her. Before he gets the chance to protect anyone he is cursed and trapped until he can get someone to free him.

    Emma has always had this voice in her head. He never told her his name so she eventually starts calling him Guy. In her eyes Guy is constantly trying to ruin her life. Heaven forbid if she try and go on a date. He never shuts up until he ruins it for her. He says he is protecting her. She thinks not. Then after she gets seriously injured he decides enough is enough. He needs to be freed and Emma has to be the one to do it. So after going on a quest to free and finally be rid of Guy Emma is thrown into one dangerous situation after another with still no answers to any of her questions. After constantly lying to and using and manipulating Emma when Guy finally tells her the truth of how he feels will she believe him or turn away from him?

    I absolutely loved this book. I could not put it down. Emma was a very strong woman and dealt with whatever came her way and did not back down. Now that I finally read book one in this series I am on pins and needles wanting to read the rest. From the two books that I have already read in the series it seems as if the books can be read as stand alone books. I highly recommend reading this book.

    ' Read and Reviewed by L,S,K Sweetheart Reviews '

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This was one of the first books I hand ever read by this author,

    This was one of the first books I hand ever read by this author, let me tell you I was blown away. I am also irritated because I had never read anything from her before. This book had everything for me. It had action and sexy God's and Goddesses, evil villains and demi gods. Not to mention the sexual tension between our main hero's. Mimi has a way with blending the past and present that makes it easy to follow. I am already looking forward to Mimi's next book and I am hoping I get to review it.


    Guy aka Votan the God of Death and War has been trapped in a cenote and the only one that could hear him or free him was Emma Keane. She had been living with his voice in her head since she was a a six year old girl. Now she is an adult and the problem is she was hearing other noises now. The only way to break the bond was for her to travel to Mexico and free him.


    After Emma frees "Guy" they both realize that they are in danger from the Maaskab. Emma and Guy race to discover who has trapped the other God's and Goddesses. Emma also searches to figure out what happened to her Grandmother in Mexico all those years ago. Emma and Guy travel with the Uchben all over trying to ignore their feelings for each other while searching for clues.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2013

    I received a copy of this book from Netgalley in return for an h

    I received a copy of this book from Netgalley in return for an honest review.

    Emma Keane is a twenty two year old woman and a character I wasn't sure I liked at first. I found her a bit whiny, but when you have a disembodied voice that speaks to you in your head, you would be whiny too, I suppose.

    Guy (AKA Votan) is a character that I had a bit of an issue with. Was he a god or an alien pretending to be a god? (Considering his real body was made of energy). However, I must admit that I did like him, even though his arrogance at times made me want to thump him!

    This is a romance story that is somewhat unique! I have read lots of romances over the years, but this story had an unusual arc. There are several twists that kept me guessing, and the characters came alive on the page. There are some really witty comments bantered between the two characters that had me giggling, because they sounded like a married couple even though they had never physically met. However, things get even more interesting when Emma and Guy finally meet face to face. Sparks fly as their attraction flares. But danger is not that far away, and exciting fights and chases ensue. The story is told from both Emma's and Guy's point of view, but a few of the other characters have their say too. There are interesting characters that are ambiguous, and I wasn't sure if they were friend or foe. Cimil is crazy (with a capital C)! I never knew if she was helping or causing trouble! Uchben is a twisted character who is rather terrifying! The ending has a surprising twist and made me look forward to reading the next book in the series. 

    Mimi Jean Pamfiloff has written a fast paced romance story that kept my attention from the first page to the last! I will certainly read more of this authors books in the future.

    I recommend this book if you love romance novels (paranormal or contemporary) with a touch of humour mixed in with danger. - Lynn Worton

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2013

    Emma has dealt with the voice in her head for years. It has put

    Emma has dealt with the voice in her head for years. It has put a big dent on her being able to date as the guy in her head always butts in. The guy in her head ask for her help in getting free and away she goes to get her life back not knowing t was fixing to change forever. Guy is actually a God who ha been trapped for decades and only Emma can free him. Once he is free he goes trying to get revenge on those that trap him. With Gods and more on the hunt for Emma it's going to be a hard to protect her when they can't get along. 




    I have heard so many great things about this book. It sounded so good with ancient hot gods, revenge and more. For me I loved the plot, the action, getting to dig in and see what all had happened in the past and getting to see more of the gods. It has a great pace and is very well written. Emma does pretty good dealing with all that has been put on her. She has a witty remark for everything and I have to say she has a drive to survive. Guy is so hot and very powerful. Even after being in Emma's head he still doesn't know how to deal with her. At times he can be arrogant but hey he is a god so it's to be expected. This book is very entertaining and the only reason I didn't love it is I did not like Guy and Emma together. They fought so much and it was like they had no connection to me. When they had separate scenes I enjoyed the book more. I couldn't see them as a couple and while it is great there wasn't the whole instant love deal I just wanted more from them. They have a sexual drive to each other and the author does a great job letting you get to know both of them. Just for me I didn't care for them as a couple. I would still recommend this book to any lover of a great story that is well written and intriguing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2013

    Emma has been talking to this voice in her head for as long as s

    Emma has been talking to this voice in her head for as long as she can remember, she named him Guy. Guy was like her guardian angel keeping her out of trouble, along with driving her crazy. After being hit by a car and in a coma for a month, Guy convince her to Mexico to help release him. Once Emma gets to the place she need to go, she's already endanger. Guy gets her to run and go to the place where he is in prison at. Emma refuses to get in the water, so Guy get a jaguar to scare her. She jumps in the water and finds a jar to throw at the jaguar. Guy is finally released and he can't find Emma. Guy drags Emma out of the water and Emma can't believe her eyes. Guy gets Emma to a safe place, and leaves her there to find out what's going on. There is a trader amongst his kind and they try and take Emma. Guy gets back to Emma and takes her to another place. In the mist of everything going on they find out that a jade is what a human can wear and not be hurt by touching a god. Emma finds out the Guy is really Votan "The God Of Death And War" but she's already in love with him to matter much. Emma is kidnaped and Guy is going crazy tracking her down and it's a full out fight and rescue mission. Emma is stabbed and is dying. Guy makes her immortal. Emma wakes up and can't believe how she feels now and has the rest of her life with the man she loves.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 5, 2013

    It was okay. I had a hard time liking the main characters. I lik

    It was okay. I had a hard time liking the main characters. I like the story though. The characters were really jarring, and it was hard to feel the connection between them. I'm going to continue with the next in the series, because it is a quick, fun read. This book was more humor then feeling. I do look forward to the other books in the series, I'm hoping for some more likable characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I started this series with the 3rd book. Big mistake!  Make sure

    I started this series with the 3rd book. Big mistake!  Make sure you start with this one.  I really liked it!  It was funny.  I found myself chuckling quite a few times. This story also had quite a bit of action going on.  My kind of book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 29, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Accidentally in love with ... a series filled with humor, alpha

    Accidentally in love with ... a series filled with humor, alpha hunks, romance, and cliffhangers.
    When I received my copy of Mimi Jean Pamfiloff's Accidentally in Love with ... A God? from Forever (Grand Central Publishing), I was a little confused. I thought at first it was a new book in this fabulously fun series by Pamfiloff and thought I was experiencing deja vu when I started to read it. Not! Instead, this is a newly revised and re-edited version of the first book of her Accidentally Yours series prepared for mass-market paperback distribution.
    I decided to not only read this book, but re-read the entire series. I'm so glad I did as I had forgotten how really fun it is. In doing so, I realized that Pamfiloff definitely rates authors with Lynsay Sands' Argeneau series and Christine Feehan's Dark in sheer enjoyment, romance, fun, and the creation of a world and characters that we love to love. 
    In this first book, Pamfiloff introduces us to a world of drop dead gorgeous gods (now wouldn't you like Guy to be a voice in your head too); an evil group of unwashed villains who wiped out the Mayan civilization; their counterparts for good based in Rome at the Vatican; and assorted other supernatural elements (vampires, leprechauns, etc.). Her heroine, Emma, once she understands what is in play and accepts her new reality, is kick-ass, and, throughout the book, just fun. She's someone you'd like to be friends with. 
    What I LOVE about Pamfiloff's writing is the fact you'll find me laughing out loud at some of the antics that occur, while moments later I may be white-knuckling the e-reader as the action becomes dicey. And nothing can be predicted with a wild card like Cimil around (who'll have her own novella in January, Accidentally...Cimil?). 
    If you haven't already read this series, please mark your calendars for the release date of October 29 (yes, in time for your own Halloween treat) and load this revised e-book on your reader. I didn't compare the two versions I have, but do recognize that authors do like the chance to tweak a little. This was a fabulous read and I can only highly recommend this version. That said however, if you already own the first book, I don't think there are significant enough changes for you to purchase this one (though I do love the new cover). 
    I really admire Pamfiloff's breezy prose and her ability to keep so many plot points juggled in the air. Reading through the five books so far in the series, I cannot wait for Cimil's story, but am quite sad to think that the series will wrap up next August with Accidentally...Over?. So, please if you haven't read these yet, do get started on the Accidentally Yours books; and if you already have them, re-read the series before Cimil's story is published. I know on this second read I saw elements I missed the first time round that really added to my enjoyment of the entire series. 
    I received a digital galley of this book for review purposes from the publisher through NetGalley.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2013

    Awesome

    Best book ever

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 20, 2013

    3.5 Stars I really loved the beginning of this book. There is t

    3.5 Stars I really loved the beginning of this book. There is this masculine voice talking inside of Emma’s head. She has had her talking to her entire life. Not matter what she does, she can’t get rid of it. It has become difficult for her to have normal relationships with people and especially men. Emma calls this voice “Guy.”
    In the beginning, I loved Guy and Emma’s banter and I did not mind the flashbacks because I wanted to learn more about Guy. However, I felt just when the story was taking off, something would happen and it would slow down and we would be at square once again. Just when I was connecting to Guy and Emma, I was thrown off and the connection was broken. When they were together, I would like them to be together. It would be nice if they “talked” instead of Guy always telling her “later” when she would ask him a question. I loved the banter, but let them connect with a nice laugh or nice words once in a while. Emma was just so angry and I understand why…she never got any answers. The banter in the beginning of the book was cute and fun; the banter later in the book made me cringe.
    Bottom, this was fast paced, cute, and interesting story. The story kept me interested. I will read the next book in the series.
    A copy was provided by Forever (Grand Central Publishing) via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This may sound like not-the-right-thing-to-say-about-a-romance-n

    This may sound like not-the-right-thing-to-say-about-a-romance-novel, but I was completely and thoroughly entertained by this book.  I haven't been THIS excited about spending my time reading in a while.




    Emma is my favorite heroine.  Period.  Ever.  I can't count how many times I was laughing out loud, and I totally was able to relate to everything about her.




    The whole situation between Guy and Emma is so...odd at first.  I've never read another book with a story like it.  




    This book had the perfect balance of sarcastic humor, sexual tension, action and mystery.  It beautifully opens the door for subsequent books, and I will be reading every single one of them.




    I was intrigued from page 1.  Mimi obviously did a lot of research to make this book as factually accurate as possible, and incorporated so many aspects of many different cultures.  I am a HUGE fan of Mimi Jean!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2