Customer Reviews for

Accidentally on Purpose

Average Rating 4.5
( 95 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(61)

4 Star

(24)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Surprised

So much better than expected!

posted by amyj17 on November 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

This book had me furious until the very last sentence.  I could

This book had me furious until the very last sentence.  I could not control my anger throughout this book. 




Warning: here comes some spoilers….so stop reading if you must.




Emmy falls in love with Kyle and then she falls in love with Luke (while still loving Kyle...
This book had me furious until the very last sentence.  I could not control my anger throughout this book. 




Warning: here comes some spoilers….so stop reading if you must.




Emmy falls in love with Kyle and then she falls in love with Luke (while still loving Kyle.)  She is torn between both men because she honestly loves both and cannot let either go.  This affair goes on for a while until it breaks (Luke leaves her.)  I am not going into all the detail to ruin the whole book for future readers.  However, when one man leaves, things start spiraling out of control for Emmy.  Things happen to Emmy that I would have never thought she would stand for.  Her character is strong and loud mouthed; however in the middle of the book she loses this feature and becomes meek.  Kyle becomes dangerous and hurts her (and later we find out that he was doing Meth this entire time…what?) and finally Emmy leaves.  Big events happen and she moves in with Luke because she found out that she was carrying his child and a relationship starts back up (who of course, I was rooting for in the beginning.)  The kicker is that when she has to return to Jersey because her bar burns down, she still spends time with Kyle…while she has her son with her.  Lets recap shall we?  He beats the living snot of her because she is on meth when she leaves the first time so why in the world would she even allow him around her OR HER SON?!?!?! He is dangerous!  And then Emmy doesn’t understand why Luke is upset when she tells him that she met up with Kyle (although he doesn’t know what he has done to her yet, he knows that something bad happened.)  She makes bad decisions.




I wanted to smack Emmy in the face the entire book for making her life hell and Luke’s life hell.  I could care less about the character Kyle because he was a jerk!  She made the worst decisions in her life and never learned from them.  




Now this book is a read that will toy with your emotions (mostly anger) and there are redeeming qualities in it that made me want to continue reading until it was finished.  It really just threw me for a loophole on how I felt about all of it.  Yes, I hated the fact that Emmy just screwed everything up. I wanted to punch her and I didn’t care for her character. However, I felt that most of these situations could really happen in life.  To be in love with two people is common for some.  To not know who to pick or when to walk away from a relationship is common as well.  I believe Davis pulled from real life events (maybe nothing that happened in actual life but something that could.)  It was just I liked it for a few pages and then I hated it for a few chapters…and that was the cycle until I finished.~BookWhisperer Reviewer MC~

posted by Book_WhispererJO on January 2, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 61 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2012

    Surprised

    So much better than expected!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2013

    Just... wow.

    I went in to this book expecting one thing and got something totally different. Insanity. Pure, unadulterated insanity. I love this book because it is gritty and raw and real. It doesn't portray Emmy as an innocent victim. It shows how she is responsible for a lot of her mess. I like that. She is whiny, but everyone is, they just don't see it about themselves. Luke is amazing, and I wanted to smack Emmy for doing what she does, but I myself have made a mess out of relationships, so I got where she was during her dilemma(s). The part about the meth came to light about 70% in to the story. It definitely explained a lot. A lot. I am also satisfied to have it all brought to light at that point because it just fit, not real sure how to word what I want to say, so I hope you get the point. It was like when we know a friend is in a bad spot, and one day said friend reveals how bad things truly are, and we feel let in on the situation, like she trusts us to open up. Does that make sense. Anyway, this is NOT light read, however, there are some truly funny, laugh out loud moments. The cover on the copy I have had me thinking it was going to be light hearted love triangle kind of story. Misleading, and I am so happy about that. I recommend this book to everyone because, well, I just do.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2013

    Loved it!

    Loved this book... read it twice!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2012

    Must read!

    Have your tissues ready. Em's pain is heartbreaking. The love , lust and addictions in this story make you feel for everyone involved. I could not put this book down. Totally a must read.
    Great ending too.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2012

    Amazing!! Must read

    A grest story. Loved it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2012

    Please Read

    If you loved Thoughtless/Effortless you'll love this. An angsty well written love triangle. Excellent debut novel!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2012

    Great read

    This book reminded me of avoiding comittment and thoughtless great combo great read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2012

    A GREAT BOOK

    I found it a to an amazing book

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2014

    Anonymous

    This book drove me completely insane and I loved every second of it! The characters were so raw and full of emotion, nothing was sugarcoated. About to start book 2 which I believe is Kyle's story. Loving this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    Loved it!

    Really liked this book....Had me turning page after page....Couldn't put down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2013

    Loved it!

    Loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2013

    Terrific read!

    So many books become predictable, but this had a good storyline thst kept my interest. I was surprised by some of the twists and conflicted at times as to how I wanted the story ro progress. It is well written and earned its rating!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2013

    I wish there were more...

    I loved the story, a little bit too dramatic, but overall a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2013

    Great

    Such a good read. Good enough to read more than once. I wanted to smack emmy a few times for her stupidity. And i wanted to beat the hell outta Kyle. Just a great book. It won't disappoint.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2013

    Great find!

    This was a well written romance minus the cheese factor.
    The love triangle betwen Emmy, Kyle and Luke had me biting my nails, laughing and crying. The story plot kept my interest from beginning to end and now I find myself writting this review a couple of months after finishig the book.
    I found refreshing that Emmy could be such a strong and independent woman who finds herself weakened by the love and lust she felt for these two men.
    Great read!
    Enjoy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2013

    Two words

    Beautiful story. I could kill Kyle though. Love Luke

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2013

    Good

    Good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2013

    Amazimg

    This book was so sick in an awesome way. I would've given it more stars if I could.. highly recommended. Great job Miss Davis.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2013

    Loved

    Didn't think I would like it just by looking at the book but I absolutely loved it tjanks for a grwat read..this was my first book from this author and it won't be my last.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2013

    Loved

    I read this book three times...i loved the wide range of emotion and direction this book went...Loved it, definitely one of my favorites!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 61 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4