BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Accidents Waiting to Happen

Average Rating 3.5
( 51 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Page Turner

Simon's books are lean and mean! "Accidents Waiting to Happen" is an excellent read. I was hooked from the first page. This is a page turner and you will not want to put this one down. Josh Michael's world is about to turn upside down. He has no idea who is playing on h...
Simon's books are lean and mean! "Accidents Waiting to Happen" is an excellent read. I was hooked from the first page. This is a page turner and you will not want to put this one down. Josh Michael's world is about to turn upside down. He has no idea who is playing on his team!!!
This is one of those books, you can't close until the last page.

posted by KLeJeuneLA on July 19, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

A good read!

Fast pace, lots of action. I enjoyed it.

posted by PHewPD on October 3, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2011

    Highly Recommended - a must read!!!

    I loved this book as it kept me on the edge of my seat. It was the first book I have read by this author, but I look forward to reading another.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Page Turner

    Simon's books are lean and mean! "Accidents Waiting to Happen" is an excellent read. I was hooked from the first page. This is a page turner and you will not want to put this one down. Josh Michael's world is about to turn upside down. He has no idea who is playing on his team!!!
    This is one of those books, you can't close until the last page.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 3, 2011

    A good read!

    Fast pace, lots of action. I enjoyed it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2011

    Great read.... Recommend!!

    Really pulls you in immediately. Great pace and action. Characters are likeable.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2011

    Another great read - Do not miss out!

    In summary Accidents Waiting To Happen is about Pinnacle Investments and their viatical policies. Pinnacle would purchase a client's life insurance policy and give the client a percentage of the value as a one time payoff for the policy. The percentage would vary depending on the likelihood of the client dying sooner than later. The closer to death the higher the payoff amount. Pinnacle would then make the monthly payments and when the client does die Pinnacle would be able to cash out the client's policy in full. As time went on and medical advances were progressing people began living longer. Pinnacle's quota was not being met and the money was not coming in as fast as they were hoping so they decided to hire a hitman to help with this problem. As not to draw red flags to the sudden increase in dying clients the hitman would plan out different "accidents" on all clients in the hit list. Josh Michaels happened to be on this list and has been surviving these so called accidents time and time again. Does Josh Michaels become another victim to Pinnacle Investments or will he somehow escape the grasps of the hitman? That is for you to find out as Accidents Waiting To Happen is available both in paperback and also as an e-book. Accidents Waiting To Happen was the first Simon Wood novel I had ever read. He has an excellent writing style that puts the reader right into the action from page one all way to the final pages. There is no extra fluff that makes the novel drag along as I always find in Dean Koontz novels. Wood gets right to the point and throws you head first into blackmails and double crosses which keep the reader wondering where they will end up next. There is also a bunch of quick funny one line jokes tossed throughout the book that fit great within the current events. Wood uses just the right amount of characters to hold the story together very well. Accidents Waiting To Happen is a fast paced read with many twists which is usually the case with a Simon Wood novel and that alone will make the reader want to search out his other works. This novel has been receiving a ton of positive feedback and internet buzz recently so if you haven't checked out this book then do yourself a favor and find out what you have been missing. I can't recommend this book enough as it is an excellent read and I can't wait to see what's in store for us in the future from this great author. Give this book a try - you won't be disappointed!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2012

    Fast moving

    What happens when a normal everyday guy suddenly realizes someone wants him dead and the cops don't believe him.You'll find many twist an turns but it keeps your interest.First book of his I read but I highly recommend this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2008

    A real page turner!

    Simon Wood, has done an fabulous job in writing Accidents waiting to happen. This was a very good read with a great story line. Josh Michaels has a pretty good life. He has a beautiful wife and loving daughter. A good job and great friends. So why is it that someone wants him dead. On his way home from work a driver forces him off the road and into a river, where he is left to die. The man who forces him off the road looks on in mild amusement as Josh, is stuck in his sinking car. Looking to the man for the help, he is given the THUMBS DOWN signal. After getting out of the hospital Josh has a few more near misses and wonders what is going on? So will you! You will want to keep turning the page to find out what is going to happen next. And will Josh and his best friend be able to stop these near miss death experience from occurring anymore and will they be able to find out who is behind them. You will have to read ' Accidents waiting to happen' to find out. You will enjoy the book and it's outcome.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2007

    JDO-Couldn't put it down

    I read this book in 1 day & it was really good. The main charecter is less than perfect & he gets into alot of hot water. I strongly suggest buying this one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2013

    Abzsolutely loved thebtwists and turns!

    A+++++

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Having enjoyed another Simon Woods book (Terminated) I ordered t

    Having enjoyed another Simon Woods book (Terminated) I ordered this one through the Vine program. Though not nearly as good as the other book, this is a decent thriller. The author kept the reader involved from the opening chapter to the end.

    Josh Michaels is driving home after a successful business meeting when a mysterious car runs him off the road and into the river. Josh thinks it was an accident and when the other driver gets out of his car Josh is thinks he is coming to save him. Instead the other driver gives him a thumbs down and leaves Josh to his drowning doom. Josh is still able to save himself but is haunted by what the man did.

    When Josh is well enough, Josh tells his tale to the police. The police do not believe Josh's story for a second and think there is a lot he isn't telling them. Josh just lets it go, knowing there will be no closure on this. Little does he know but the incident is related to something Josh did in the recent past. Also, the bad guy will continue coming after Josh until he finishes the job.

    Meanwhile the reader learns Josh has other secrets and some of them threaten to come to the surface as a woman he had an affair with, resurfaces to blackmail again. Apparently, she had done something like this before and Josh had paid her off. Now she is back. So now Josh is facing both a blackmailer and a killer and Josh does not know if the two things are connected.

    The book goes through a lot of twists and turns as more is revealed to the reader and Josh faces more perils. The story never seems to get boring and does rate an above average thriller. Two things prevented me from rating the book higher. First josh is basically not a nice guy and he has done some bad things in his past. He claims that the bad stuff is behind but there are some instances where Josh's anger forces him to do things that go way beyond what an "ethical" person would do. Secondly, Josh just does some things that are so "stupid" that you feel like putting a "kick me" sign on his back. These things made it sometimes difficult to root for him and sometimes I felt that he needed to pay the piper himself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 13, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Josh Michaels, a young man with a wife and little girl he adore


    Josh Michaels, a young man with a wife and little girl he adored, while driving back to his home in Sacramento, California, is forced off the highway and into the river in what appears to be an accident born from what he thinks of as reckless stupidity on the part of the other driver. But the actions of that driver, before he gets back into his car and speeds away, convince Josh that it is anything but. Josh survives the ‘accident,’ but starts to doubt his ability to continue to survive the ensuing events, all appearing to be accidents by increasingly obviously [to him] staged attempts to end his life. Josh is staggered as he comes to this unavoidable conclusion and cannot believe that he is the target of a killer, but has no choice but to accept this fact and attempt to figure out who wants him dead, and why, if he is to survive. To make matters worse, if that’s possible, past indiscretions and errors in judgment are now coming back to haunt him.

    At Chapter 4 the reader meets “the professional,” the man hired to kill another person, a woman, as well as Josh. Who has hired him? Is there a connection between the two intended victims [something not readily apparent]? And what is the motive? As ‘the professional’ himself muses, “a seemingly motiveless murder was just as hard to solve as a well-planned accident.”

    Simon Wood has fashioned an exciting and well-written novel of suspense, with a nail-biting conclusion during which this reader held her breath in anticipation of what new horrors might be in store.

    Recommended.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2012

    Great until tje end

    I thoroughly enjoyed this until the last 35 pages. Way over the top in believability. Still, a good story well told.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2012

    Good Book!

    Was a good read, looking forward to reading more of Simon Wood.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2012

    Great! Surprising twists page turner!!

    My first book by Simon Wood, I'm hooked

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2012

    This was a pretty good book. The characters were real and it a v

    This was a pretty good book. The characters were real and it a very
    interesting story line. Thumbs up to the author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2012

    I did not care for this story overall, a lot of information/story line repeated. I found myself skipping several pages or skimming over them in hopes that it would get better.

    Excessive details and having main character repeat the same information to other characters is a sad attempt to make a short story into something it clearly is not, in my opinion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2012

    Not too shabby

    There were a lot of negative reviews of this book, But I read it anyway. Did he get what he deserved? - who knows! But it teachs that every action has a reaction that's for sure !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2012

    Don't wait... Read

    Great book. It reeled me in on the first chapter and kept me on the line til the end. Kept me guessing with lots of twists and turns. I did not like Josh, the main character. He is a liar, cheat, and thief. The excuse that his daughter was ill and he had to pay the bills, did not fly with me. However, I did like his wife, and his best friend Bob. They both went above and beyond. I plan on buying more books by Simon Wood.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2012

    very enjoyable

    Worth reading. Gets better and better. Could not put it down during the last few chapters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2012

    Exciting, page turning

    Book. He's done it again. A little to much blood , but I would most assuredly recomend it if you like excitement!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3