Customer Reviews for

Accordance

Average Rating 4.5
( 124 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(83)

4 Star

(28)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

After reading Significance, I had to start Accordance as soon as

After reading Significance, I had to start Accordance as soon as possible. I love the world Shelly Crane created and I am eagerly awaiting the minute Defiance is available for purchase.

Accordance begins right where Significance left off at the beach house in Califor...
After reading Significance, I had to start Accordance as soon as possible. I love the world Shelly Crane created and I am eagerly awaiting the minute Defiance is available for purchase.

Accordance begins right where Significance left off at the beach house in California. Maggie and Caleb weren't expecting Bish and Kyle to show up and spoil all the fun. They were expecting anyone but them. Bish is suspicious and Kyle is acting all cranky because he loves Maggie but can't have her. This was supposed to be a stress-free zone, but how can Maggie not stress when she is trying to hide who she really is from Bish?

I really liked this book for a number of reasons. First and foremost, Maggie and Caleb. I love these two characters. If I could trade places with her for a day, I would...in a heart beat. Granted she is super stressed out and not handling things well, I would still do it. Second, we finally get to spend time with the ever-protective older brother. Bish may be rude, cranky, and suspicious of the events that are unfolding in front of his eyes, but he is a big part of Maggie's life and she doesn't want to lose him. Third, we find out how special Maggie really is, and not just to Caleb and the Jacobson's, but all Aces. Finally, no matter how much Maggie protests, Caleb will spoil her whether she likes it or not. I love that she is grateful for what she has and that she is also accepting of it as well.

There is only one thing I really didn't care for about this installment to the Significance Series, Maggie starts to get just a little whiny. Not to the point of annoyance, but just enough to where I noticed it.

Overall, this is a wonderful addition not only to the series, but also to my library of books. I look forward to reading and reviewing Defiance when it comes out on March 13, 2012.

Originally posted at Doodle's Book Blog

posted by EmmyDoodle on September 16, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Eh

WARNING: THIS REVIEW CONTAINS SPOILERS AND VIEWS THAT MIGHT OFFEND SOME PEOPLE! READER DISCRECTION IS ADVISED!

I am a fan of Shelly Crane and I do love most of her book, but after reading this series for a second time I am not a fan.

I can't deny that I like the idea...
WARNING: THIS REVIEW CONTAINS SPOILERS AND VIEWS THAT MIGHT OFFEND SOME PEOPLE! READER DISCRECTION IS ADVISED!

I am a fan of Shelly Crane and I do love most of her book, but after reading this series for a second time I am not a fan.

I can't deny that I like the idea of the book and where it was going plot wise, but I couldn't get over the grammatical errors and Maggie as a character.

I found myself skipping pages because at time it dragged so much and the thoughts were so jumbled that I just had to skip the pages. Shelly misspelled, misplaced and added words words so much that it became a puzzle just trying to unscramble the sentence she is trying to write

As for Maggie, for a seventeen year old girl she is annoyingly delicate, dense and prude and is just plain boring as a character.

She doubts herself through more then half the series and is so busy worrying about wheather she's hurt someones feelings (even the bad guys) that it makes reading about her painful.

She is also extremely prude until, of course, she meets Caleb. What red blooded female has a relationship with a guy for THREE (3) years and does nothing more than chaste kisses and light hugs and for that matter what red blooded TEENAGE GUY is ok with that.

When she got captured by the Watson I almost stop reading the book altogether. I can understand that you are away from Caleb and you're hurting and you're scare but grow some backbone. Stop begging and pleading and get mad start threatening or something, be agressive. At that point, even after she ascended, she was the weakest female protagonist I've ever read about, and I have read Twilight. The only time I can stand to read about her is when she's mad. It's then and only then that she has an ounce of personality.

The only good thing about this book was Caleb but even at times he became too fanatical.

All I can say is that Shelly Crane I am surprised. You put out some really great books and series so I'm wondering what went wrong with this one.

I give this book an A for effort but overall a D. If you don't mind dragging yourself through this book then by all means go ahead and buy it. But if you rather enjoy what your reading grab another one of her books, you'll enjoy it a lot more.

posted by Gainbr on October 9, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 124 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted September 16, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    After reading Significance, I had to start Accordance as soon as

    After reading Significance, I had to start Accordance as soon as possible. I love the world Shelly Crane created and I am eagerly awaiting the minute Defiance is available for purchase.

    Accordance begins right where Significance left off at the beach house in California. Maggie and Caleb weren't expecting Bish and Kyle to show up and spoil all the fun. They were expecting anyone but them. Bish is suspicious and Kyle is acting all cranky because he loves Maggie but can't have her. This was supposed to be a stress-free zone, but how can Maggie not stress when she is trying to hide who she really is from Bish?

    I really liked this book for a number of reasons. First and foremost, Maggie and Caleb. I love these two characters. If I could trade places with her for a day, I would...in a heart beat. Granted she is super stressed out and not handling things well, I would still do it. Second, we finally get to spend time with the ever-protective older brother. Bish may be rude, cranky, and suspicious of the events that are unfolding in front of his eyes, but he is a big part of Maggie's life and she doesn't want to lose him. Third, we find out how special Maggie really is, and not just to Caleb and the Jacobson's, but all Aces. Finally, no matter how much Maggie protests, Caleb will spoil her whether she likes it or not. I love that she is grateful for what she has and that she is also accepting of it as well.

    There is only one thing I really didn't care for about this installment to the Significance Series, Maggie starts to get just a little whiny. Not to the point of annoyance, but just enough to where I noticed it.

    Overall, this is a wonderful addition not only to the series, but also to my library of books. I look forward to reading and reviewing Defiance when it comes out on March 13, 2012.

    Originally posted at Doodle's Book Blog

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2012

    I love the Significance series. I cant put the books down!!

    I love the Significance series. I cant put the books down!!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2012

    Awesome!

    Great series! I got my family & friends hooked on these books! So AWESOME!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2013

    Loved all these books. Will read more by the author.

    Loved all these books. Will read more by the author.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2012

    Eh

    WARNING: THIS REVIEW CONTAINS SPOILERS AND VIEWS THAT MIGHT OFFEND SOME PEOPLE! READER DISCRECTION IS ADVISED!

    I am a fan of Shelly Crane and I do love most of her book, but after reading this series for a second time I am not a fan.

    I can't deny that I like the idea of the book and where it was going plot wise, but I couldn't get over the grammatical errors and Maggie as a character.

    I found myself skipping pages because at time it dragged so much and the thoughts were so jumbled that I just had to skip the pages. Shelly misspelled, misplaced and added words words so much that it became a puzzle just trying to unscramble the sentence she is trying to write

    As for Maggie, for a seventeen year old girl she is annoyingly delicate, dense and prude and is just plain boring as a character.

    She doubts herself through more then half the series and is so busy worrying about wheather she's hurt someones feelings (even the bad guys) that it makes reading about her painful.

    She is also extremely prude until, of course, she meets Caleb. What red blooded female has a relationship with a guy for THREE (3) years and does nothing more than chaste kisses and light hugs and for that matter what red blooded TEENAGE GUY is ok with that.

    When she got captured by the Watson I almost stop reading the book altogether. I can understand that you are away from Caleb and you're hurting and you're scare but grow some backbone. Stop begging and pleading and get mad start threatening or something, be agressive. At that point, even after she ascended, she was the weakest female protagonist I've ever read about, and I have read Twilight. The only time I can stand to read about her is when she's mad. It's then and only then that she has an ounce of personality.

    The only good thing about this book was Caleb but even at times he became too fanatical.

    All I can say is that Shelly Crane I am surprised. You put out some really great books and series so I'm wondering what went wrong with this one.

    I give this book an A for effort but overall a D. If you don't mind dragging yourself through this book then by all means go ahead and buy it. But if you rather enjoy what your reading grab another one of her books, you'll enjoy it a lot more.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2012

    What?

    For some reason i didn't like the 2 book so much. I loved Caleb in the first book but the story seemed to drag on here. It was ok but not what i expected it to be. I had high hopes for this series and am dissapointed with it. I will not be reading the rest of the series.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2012

    good

    Well written cant wait to read next book

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2012

    Love this series

    On to the next......cant get enough of this series

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2012

    grammar

    The only reason this is a 4/5 is because there are some glaringly obvious and constant grammar issues where words are missing or mispelt. A few is okay, but there are quite a few where it took me out of the story and made too aware of the mistakes.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2014

    Worth reading again and again!!!

    Worth your time

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    another wonderful story from Shelly...

    Accordance takes off where Significance left off, with Caleb and Maggie arriving in California for her protection against the Watson's. Just when they thought they have some time to themselves to learn about each other, Kyle and Bish show up to chaperone. Time alone is few are far between now. Bish is there to find out what his sister is hiding, and why everyone is ok with Maggie running off to another state with a guy she just met. And Kyle just won't leave well enough alone.

    Maggie is coming to terms that she is not only an Ace, but that she is also a seer. She can read the minds of those around her, see into their minds, feelings, plans, even see visions. Sure it comes in handy when needing a few seconds to talk to Caleb without Bish learning of what they are, not so handy when all of Kyle's feelings are of his love for her.

    One day Maggie gets a vision that will affect Aces everywhere. She learns the past mistakes of the clans, the greed and pride they held above all. She also learns the prophecy that she and Caleb are the ones to put an end to it all and bring back what the Virtuoso's once were, caring and giving people. But soon, with everything piling up on her shoulders, all the emotions and responsibilities just becomes to much. Will Maggie be able to live up to what her new family is expecting or will she let them all down?


    Accordance is so wonderfully written with a story line that is unlike any other. It¿s easy to lose yourself in the world that Crane creates. I felt the happiness, the unease and the suspense right along with the characters. And lets not forget the romance, ohhh the romance. Shelly brings back all those memories of first love: the stolen kisses, the dreams you have, the playful touches. My favorite thing about a book is the love story and this author knows how to deliver, in all her works. Accordance is a must read by a brilliant author. You will not be disappointed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2014

    Low the price and u get more people, good price is $2. something

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2014

    Conflicted

    I like the story line but it seems to be taking FOREVER! I love the relationship between maggie and caleb but all their little "moments "...make me wanna gag a lil. I'm ready to get in to the meat and potatoes of this story. So on to book 3....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2014

    . ?

    How many of these books are there?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2014

    Interesting

    I liked the book.....im sure the third one will be much more action

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    Series is awesome this book is okay...

    Necessary to understand what is coming but lacking the Action of the first book but still solid book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2014

    Ehhhh...

    Well i read the first book in this series and i absolutely loved it...but then i got to this book and it just became the same repetitive stuff over and over. I was so over this book by the first 100 pages its like the same storyline keeps repeating itself...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2014

    Great story

    Great story but i was a little disappointed that not much happened in this book. There is great set up but nothing really happens. You are definitely going to have to buy the next one which i'm not sure this one is good enough to spend another $4 on to me. But i did love the first one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2013

    Recommend!

    Another great story and WOW what an ending! I'm on to book #3. I recommend this series!

    S.A.K.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2013

    To Shelly Crane

    I love your books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 124 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7