Customer Reviews for

Accordion Crimes

Average Rating 3.5
( 16 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2009

    Accordion Crimes, A Unique Genius

    The Book Accordion Crimes by E. Annie Proulx is a fantastic book addressing adversity and intolerance. The book folllows the path of a little green accordion as it travels from immigrant to immigrant, each facing the harsh reality of being a minority in America. The music of the accordion, though different to each culture, possesses the same meaning and outlet of lamentation for every character. The book, though it does not read like the conventional novel, does a thorough job of expressing the pain, the ecstasy, the fights, and the struggles of each individuals personal battles as well as their battles with society. How Proulx uses the accordion as a conceit throughout the story is phenomenal and raw. One must remember though, the heart of the story lies with the accordion, and with its passing from hand to hand, so do the stories and lives of past owners. Abrupt in endings, it can leave the reader dangling for an explanation. One should read this book if they are searching for a book to totally envelope their senses and bring out the sometimes hidden humanity in each person. Proulx does a mesmerizing job of painting the most rigid and vivid scenes for the reader. One cannot help but feel the same haunting surroundings as the characters. Accordion Crimes is a dense, rich, immaculate, and powerful novel- leaving the reader speechless and moved upon its completion. A five out of five stars, Accordion Crimes will leave the reader clamoring for more.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2007

    A reviewer

    Another great book by the prize winning author! What an interesting premise for a story! Read this if you want something different!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2002

    Another Great Book by E. Annie Proulx

    After winning both a Pulitzer price and a National Book Award for 'The Shipping News' one thinks that it is hard to try and do better. Well 'Accordion crimes' turn out to be again an excellent book, but not with the greatness of 'The Shipping News'. In 'Accordeon crimes' it is the story, with it's line of crimes, murders and accidents, that doesn't have the warmth and humor 'The Shipping News' had. The writing by E. Annie Proulx is again of a rare and eloquent style, very rich, sometimes elaborate, sometimes pointy. The story is holding up a mirror to all of us and shows how easily we judge and disapprove of something we do not know. Eventhough there is a thin storyline that connects the chapters, one could also read it as a series of sort storiers on a common theme. For those that do not like accordeon music (like me ;-)), read the book and you'll never look at an accordeon again without giving it a second glance.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2001

    Great Writing, but Something's Missing

    Accordion Crimes is a terrific though slow, methodical read. Proulx is masterful at telling the gritty stories of America's immigrants. As I was reading, I would often stop mid-paragraph to savor the artistry of a perfectly crafted sentence. One small complaint, though: Accordion Crimes calls itself a novel but reads like a collection of short stories that Proulx fails to connect in a way that makes the book a satisfying and cohesive whole.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2000

    A KALEIOSCOPIC VIEW OF LIVES IN AMERICA

    In 'Shipping News', E.Annie Proulx gives us a beautiful and satisfying tale which follows the lives of an unconventional and sympathetic group of characters. In 'Accordian Crimes' the central character is a little accordian which travels through time, touching scores of lives, sometimes just glancing off, sometimes meshing, giving glimpses, vignettes or extended portraits, providing a kaleidoscopic view of lives in America. Ms. Proulx's mind and mode of expression glitters with breathtaking variety and detail. 'Shipping New' teaches us all about Newfoundland as we settle there with the Quoyle family. 'Accordian Crimes' includes most of the United States and the diverse national backgrounds of its population, with their sundry occupations, proclivities, perversions, affections and animosities. Ms Proulx is a sensational writer!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2013

    Not my Favorite

    Liked her other books much better. This was kind of too much like short stories,which I really don't like and I felt it was going nowhere.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2013

    This is definitely the worst book I've ever read.  I would put t

    This is definitely the worst book I've ever read.  I would put this in the "Horror" genre.  Proulx has cast every immigrant (except the WASP's) as filthy, ignorant, sexually deviant animals.  In her view,  only those who came over on the Mayflower were pure, godly people.  She finds no redeeming qualities about any immigrant ... and throws the native American Indians in with them.  Each story has explicitly brutal endings for the characters as well as the animals.  They say you write what you know ... I'm scared by what experiences Proulx must have had to be able to come up with these stories!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2012

    Proulx is a descriptive writer who has written a series of stori

    Proulx is a descriptive writer who has written a series of stories about the immigrants experience in America. She tied them together with the green accordion that kept appearing in each story. Many in my book club found the language offensive and the stories too sexually explicit. I personally didn't have a problem with either of these but I did not find a single character except maybe the accordion maker that I could relate to. I felt like the writer just wanted to shock her audience. Like a movie with too much blood and guts and no real content I expected more from the author of The Shipping News. I very disappointing read that I would not recommend to anyone she gets an extra star for her knowledge of her subject matter and all her extensive lists.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2012

    I loved this book

    So imaginative! I could not wait for the next story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2010

    Accordion Crimes by Annie Proulx

    Very disappointed. Writer is obviously not concerned with the reader's concept of the title. Language was so vulgar I had to keep skipping parargraphs and pages to get by the horrible use of the English language. Sexually explicit and very bad choice of the title. Very misleading and I purchased copies for my friends before I read it. Can't tell you how embarrassed I was when I started reading. I apologized to each of my friends for the graphic language. This could have been a very good book about the travels of a green accordion and just described the owners.Telling about their sexual preferences and the choice of such a horrible language to embellish the characters was all unecessary. This writer definitely has been around some very shady characters to write in this manner. Would never recommend it to anyone. The only crime was that this author was published.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1