Customer Reviews for

Accountable to None (Book One of Eviscerating the Snake)

Average Rating 4.5
( 10 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted September 21, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Michael McManus for Readers' Favorite Audra Tanner

    Reviewed by Michael McManus for Readers' Favorite

    Audra Tanner thinks she is going to be made an equity partner in one of Arizona’s leading accounting firms, Winscott & Associates. Olin Kemper, the firm's CEO, personally goes through the process of making her a partner, but in a private evening meeting he brutally beats and rapes her, causing her to lose her unborn child. In the aftermath of the violence, which was compounded by her knowledge that other partners must have heard her cries of pain, and should have come to her aid, she decides not to report the incident to the police. She carefully stores the evidence and waits for the right time to exact her revenge. When the firm’s managing partner, her attacker, is caught up in a scandal that exposes the firm to prosecution by the SEC, Audra sees her chance to bring these powerful people down and hold them accountable for the evil they have done, to her and many others.

    Ashley Fountainne skillfully introduces us to each of the partners in the firm, painting a sad picture of self-indulgence, debauchery, greed, and amoral egotism. By the time she is finished presenting their bios, we know these characters and utterly despise them. In other words, Ms. Fountainne does her job well. As an audience, we want to see these deplorable individuals punished in the worst way. I would recommend this book to anyone who thinks accounting is boring and anyone who likes a quick read that leaves a little bit to the imagination. It turns out that revenge may not be a one-way street after all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A Riveting Tale of Suspense and Revenge! After reading "Ac

    A Riveting Tale of Suspense and Revenge!

    After reading "Accountable to None",  the first book of Ashley Fontainne's "Eviscerating the Snake" series, I have to say, the book is a wonderful mix of drama, suspense and revenge. The plot is clever and gives the reader plenty of reasons to feel strong emotions about most of the characters within the pages. Who knew a CPA firm could contain so many secrets, hidden agendas , deceit and violence as Winscott & Associates?

    Audra Tanner will become a hero to any woman...or man who has faced a situation like the one that Audra faces. Though she is thought of as weak, shy and insignificant to her co-workers, they will soon find out that she is smart, sneaky and fearless to bring accountability to those responsible.

    "Accountable to None" is a must-read story that will keep you on the edge of your seat with tension and excitement! I look forward to reading "Zero Balance", the second book in the outstanding series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2012

    Accountable to none-Ashley Fontainne Olin Kemper is a selfish an

    Accountable to none-Ashley Fontainne
    Olin Kemper is a selfish and extremely hedonistic bastard. He disrespects anyone working under him especially women and doesn’t even like his fellow partners. Five years ago he brutally raped and beat a woman. Now she is out for revenge against him and the other partners who failed to help. Armed with ample ammunition against all of them she is ready to carry out her plan. Watch out, here comes Audra.
    Ashley Fontainne has done very well to write such a hateful character in Olin and his whipped partners are no better. Audra and Gabrielle are two strong women who overcame their experiences with Olin and the others. The story is fast paced and full of suspense. I highly recommend ACCOUNTABLE TO NONE and give the story five gold stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    ¿It¿s Not Revenge She¿s After ¿ It¿s a Reckoning¿

    Accountable to None, by Ashley Fontainne, is more than just a tale about revenge – much more. It is a story about the human spirit – the human endurance structure that is woven throughout each and every one of us. There comes a time in all of our lives when we feel that we have been victimized in one way or another. Do we select to seek out revenge – or do we simply choose to forgive our attacker? Justice must always be served!

    Audra is a beautiful and intelligent CPA at an accounting firm in Phoenix, Arizona. Her boss, Olin Kemper, is a belligerent, power seeking, maniacal sex-crazed maniac. Upon being lured into a meeting with him on the assumption of a possible promotion, he sexually assaults her while others turn a blind eye. I will not get into details, as I want the reader to experience first hand the authors’ realistic description of this horrific event.

    Fast-forward and we find Audra is now head of the IT department. Using her computer skills, she hacks into their security system looking for anything that will incriminate those responsible for her suffering. This is where the story strikes a dramatic turn of events.

    In ‘Accountable to None’, Ashley Fontainne weaves a suspenseful tale of murder, revenge and justice – perfectly balanced.

    I give Five Stars to this spellbinding thriller.
    Bravo!

    Review by, Barbara Watkins

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2011

    Riveting

    Accountable to None is a fast paced story about revenge. Follow the high rollers of an accounting firm in Phoenix, Arizona as the revenge story unfolds. What could happen to drive someone to the deep dark recesses of revenge? What could cause someone to hole themselves up and cost so someone so much ¿ all the things meaningful in life ¿ that they would seek revenge?

    Ashley is able to weave a quick story that is very fast paced. She is capable of pulling together characters while spending little time on details as other authors do to give the reader the image of the characters. There are some grammatical errors but none so bad to distract from the story.

    There are some negative reviews that encompass the grammar and the inconceivable. As a criminal justice major there is such a thing as the CSI effect. Where we, as a society, have the inability to believe that something could happen without forensics evidence. Reading a novel is about relaxing and being taken into an area where there is an imagination. Is Alice speaking with a white rabbit really believable? How about the tales of Moby Dick? What about how many leagues under the sea? Once upon a time there were tales of fantasy, lore, and things that were out of this world. The tale that Ashley weaves may or may not be conceivable. At the end of the day, that¿s not why we should pick up a book.

    As an editor, there are some things that I want to correct; however, I want to correct things in all books ¿ like the use of contractions in the story development. I, personally, am a traditionalist in writing composition ¿ however ¿ in today¿s society can¿t, ain¿t and won¿t are acceptable throughout story development ¿ which in my mind is unacceptable. The book needs polished, however, the errors present are ones that do not detract from the story.

    I hope there is a second coming down the pike ¿ and I expect Ashley¿s writings to become more polished, heightened, and more exciting. She set the bar for herself, but I suspect she¿ll be able to achieve and surpass that should she continue to write. I am waiting for baited breath for a second. Ashley ¿ do tell us there is a second.

    Kortney
    Editor
    Unforgettable Books Inc.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2011

    Good vs. Evil

    In Accountable to None, Ashley Fontainne explores the culture of greed, power obsession, and sexual conquests in a successful accounting firm headed by an oversexed psychopath. As the secrets of the firm's partners surface, the company itself is put in jeopardy. One brave, damaged young woman faces the demons in the firm and wrestles away the reins of leadership. Audra Tanner was on the fast track at Winscott & Associates from her first day at the firm. At age thirty-three she made partner. When it is her time to make equity partner, Audra experiences the heaviest blow to her personal and professional life: she is violently assaulted by the firm's managing partner, Olin Kemper. Audra spends the next five years plotting her revenge and she is prepared to take Olin and the entire firm down to get justice. Audra delves into the backgrounds of each of the firm's partners, revealing the dark, heartless strategies they have employed to advance in their careers. The partners' sexual appetites are at the root of the firm's problems. Olin's past sexual habits are the worst: violent and abundant; over the top like his super arrogant personality. As she digs deeper into her boss's past, Audra discovers a connection between Olin and a young woman who has been missing for thirty years. This is the ammo that she needs to defeat her attacker. Fontainne has created a wretched, sinister character in Olin that she skillfully balances out with Audra. This is a classic battle between good and evil that takes place in a corporate arena where courage and defiance against the powers that be rarely surface. This is a story of power and money in its most gruesome form. Many people are tossed aside or harmed so that a few can achieve super wealth and unquestionable authority. It is also a tale of determination and justice: after decades of conquering the business world and many helpless women, Olin is finally held accountable for his monstrous behavior. Accountable to None is a suspenseful, exciting piece that holds the reader's attention from the opening line to the very last page. Melissa Brown Levine for Independent Professional Book Reviewers

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2011

    Enjoyed it tremendously!

    I took a chance, on a recommendation from a friend, on this first time author as I am so glad I did!

    Action packed and full of twists and turns, you are sucked in from the first line. I read until I could hold my eyes open no more! Ashley weaves the story line deftly and moves through the tale at tremendous speeds, as most of the action takes place on the day the heroine, Audra Tanner, finally obtains her revenge.

    This tale is a must read for anyone, everywhere, that has ever been wronged as she does what so many of us wish we could: reap revenge on those who are vile and vicious!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1