Customer Reviews for

Accused (Pacific Coast Justice Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 71 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(33)

4 Star

(22)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Drama, Diversity, and Mystery

When an experienced cop writes a police thriller, the result is awesome - at least in this case. Though I cannot speak to the for the authenticity of the action - but it did hold my attention.

When Carley Edwards is pulled off patrol, even after being cleared of t...
When an experienced cop writes a police thriller, the result is awesome - at least in this case. Though I cannot speak to the for the authenticity of the action - but it did hold my attention.

When Carley Edwards is pulled off patrol, even after being cleared of the shooting, she cannot but wonder why. At the same time, other questions continue to pop to the surface - the integrity of her fellow officers, a successful mayor is murdered, her mother's home is firebombed - it does not make any sense.

And in the midst of all this confusion Carley's faith, or rather the lack of it, is challenged.

Altogether it makes for a readable book that I could not put down - holding my interest as the best police drama on TV or at the theater can do. And when I got to the end of the book, I found I wanted more. And there will be more as Accused is the first in the "Pacific Coast Justice Series" being written by this author.

Throughout the book, Carley is encouraged to examine her faith. Finally, she is challenged to ask God to reveal himself. What does she have to lose - if He does not exist, then nothing has changed; and if He does, she would find her world turned upside down. In the course of the book she does exactly that - and her life is turned upside down.

Janice Cantore has done a good job of blending the drama of the police force, the diversity of life, and mystery of faith into an exciting and engaging novel - which should appeal to men and women from all walks of life.

This review is based on a free copy of the book provided by the publisher for the purpose of creating this review.

posted by UpstateNYReader on October 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

They say "write what you know," and author Janice Cant

They say "write what you know," and author Janice Cantore definitely did that! After learning that Ms. Cantore served more than 2 decades as a cop, I decided to give this contemporary fiction novel (not generally my preferred genre) a try. And I'm glad I did! ...
They say "write what you know," and author Janice Cantore definitely did that! After learning that Ms. Cantore served more than 2 decades as a cop, I decided to give this contemporary fiction novel (not generally my preferred genre) a try. And I'm glad I did! I really enjoyed the reality and accuracy of this novel, which follows a few action-packed weeks of the fictional policewoman's life.
In the book, police detective Carly Edwards faces betrayal, mystery and corruption in both her personal and professional life, all of which causes her to question all she has previously believed and held true in her life.
Overall I enjoyed the story quite a bit, and the only reason I gave 4 instead of 5 stars is that I felt there was a bit too much foreshadowing and a lot of the twists and turns were predictable. However, it was a very enjoyable read and I am looking forward to reading the next book in the series when it comes out.
If you're intrigued by the world of law enforcement, enjoy stories of restoration and spiritual healing, or are just looking for a fun, interesting read, I would recommend this book to you!

posted by AlaskanTebowFan on June 14, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 71 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted October 23, 2011

    Drama, Diversity, and Mystery

    When an experienced cop writes a police thriller, the result is awesome - at least in this case. Though I cannot speak to the for the authenticity of the action - but it did hold my attention.

    When Carley Edwards is pulled off patrol, even after being cleared of the shooting, she cannot but wonder why. At the same time, other questions continue to pop to the surface - the integrity of her fellow officers, a successful mayor is murdered, her mother's home is firebombed - it does not make any sense.

    And in the midst of all this confusion Carley's faith, or rather the lack of it, is challenged.

    Altogether it makes for a readable book that I could not put down - holding my interest as the best police drama on TV or at the theater can do. And when I got to the end of the book, I found I wanted more. And there will be more as Accused is the first in the "Pacific Coast Justice Series" being written by this author.

    Throughout the book, Carley is encouraged to examine her faith. Finally, she is challenged to ask God to reveal himself. What does she have to lose - if He does not exist, then nothing has changed; and if He does, she would find her world turned upside down. In the course of the book she does exactly that - and her life is turned upside down.

    Janice Cantore has done a good job of blending the drama of the police force, the diversity of life, and mystery of faith into an exciting and engaging novel - which should appeal to men and women from all walks of life.

    This review is based on a free copy of the book provided by the publisher for the purpose of creating this review.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2012

    Accused

    Janice Cantore is a former police officer and this book is the first in a new series focusing on the main character, Carly Edwards.

    Carly is a veteran member of the (fictional) town of Las Playas in Southern California. Recently divorced because her fellow cop husband, Nick, cheated on her, she is on the verge of becoming bitter, and is often defensive towards just about everyone she comes into contact with - work, friends, and family alike. Additionally, her father died of cancer five years ago, and she just cannot reconcile God loving her with Him allowing her father die. This thought process, combined with her husband's infidelity, has very much shaped her into the person we meet in this book.

    The plot focuses on solving the murder of Las Playas' mayor, complicated by a potential corruption in the police department that appears to have very far reaching tentacles. Carly just isn't sure who she can trust, but is compelled to solve the mystery.

    I had mixed feelings about this book....I enjoyed knowing the author clearly knew what she was writing about, but felt that some of the conversations were stilted and seemed unnatural. However, overall I enjoyed trying to figure out the mystery along with Carly, and I will read the second book in this new series when it comes out.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    The day was Saturday January 2012; I always look forward to gett

    The day was Saturday January 2012; I always look forward to getting the mail. That day was no different. I opened a package and there was a novel—Accused—that was new and captivating. On Sunday, I began reading it in earnest; I couldn’t put it down. There are many stories I like because of the setting and characters who are involved in law enforcement or in courtrooms. A story has to grip my attention the moment I turn a page, or I stop reading it before I really get too far into it. Are you like that? Can you tell if a book is one you will read by looking at the cover?
    Never before have I read a novel by Ms. Cantore, so I wasn’t sure what I would come across. Ms. Cantore writes a novel that is riveting from start to finish. The author has experiential knowledge having worked in law enforcement and written a couple of articles for different magazines sharing her faith openly and without apology. One of the articles was for Cop and Christ which I am sure helped Christians in law enforcement stay strong and faithful to Christ.
    The story starts out with cop, who in answering a call with her partner, suddenly finds herself off her beat, accused, and filled with doubt. Ms Cantore’s characters, though fictional, sound like everyday people as this officer has recently experienced betrayal, divorce, her father’s passing, and faith. Like anyone who has suffered much, any of us can be filled with doubt and questions. Yet, in this awesome novel, we see the main character go through many twists and turns that eventually bring up her deepest feelings she has tried so hard to bury. She has no clue who to trust, and when she does trust, it seems like her life only seems to go from bad to worse.
    Accused is brilliantly written to capture readers into the characters’ lives in a certain time, place, and area. The officer is looked at as guilty because of her partner’s actions. Constantly, our protagonist seems to question her faith, run from those who not only talk about the Lord, but their lives exemplify Him. How is this officer to get control of her faith, career, emotions, and life when several antagonists keep the pressure on her to give in and give up?
    The story is full of action, decisions to be made, faith to be exercised, but how does someone make decisions or exercise faith when she doesn’t have one? I don’t want to ruin the novel for you; all I can say is though this is a wonderful work of fiction, it also calls readers to look at their faith. Our main protagonist had the courage to face the questions that nagged at her heart and life. I wonder, will we also have the courage and fortitude to not only question, but like the officer, call out to God to show Himself as real regardless of what we are facing?

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2012

    Authentic Read

    I really enjoyed this book because it seemed to give a good view of police work. Because Ms. Cantore was a police officer she was able to put a lot of detail in this book about police work. I learned a lot of information and the story was interesting and kept me guessing. Great book!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2012

    I just got done reading a great book by Janice Cantore called Ac

    I just got done reading a great book by Janice Cantore called Accused. It is about a lady cop who is trying to find out who murdered the mayor of her town and was willing to frame a young teen to get away with. Carly Edwards "the cop" is determined to find out who did it even if it means her own life. The book has a lot of action and mystery in it and keeps you asking your self who did it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2012

    A Great Read

    Police officer Carly is involved in a shooting and sent to work in the juvenile department. She looks for a way to get back to her old job in patrol and the mayor's shooting might be the answer. She finds a cover-up and doesn't know who to trust, especially when her ex-husband offers to help. I thought this book was very good and an authentic read from a retired police officer. Corrupt people seem to be everywhere and it was interesting to find out at the end who was dirty and who wasn't. I do think the spiritual side of the book was a bit overdone in parts. Several characters preach at Carly, which makes her turn away from God instead of toward him. Overall, a good read and I'm looking forward to the second book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    They say "write what you know," and author Janice Cant

    They say "write what you know," and author Janice Cantore definitely did that! After learning that Ms. Cantore served more than 2 decades as a cop, I decided to give this contemporary fiction novel (not generally my preferred genre) a try. And I'm glad I did! I really enjoyed the reality and accuracy of this novel, which follows a few action-packed weeks of the fictional policewoman's life.
    In the book, police detective Carly Edwards faces betrayal, mystery and corruption in both her personal and professional life, all of which causes her to question all she has previously believed and held true in her life.
    Overall I enjoyed the story quite a bit, and the only reason I gave 4 instead of 5 stars is that I felt there was a bit too much foreshadowing and a lot of the twists and turns were predictable. However, it was a very enjoyable read and I am looking forward to reading the next book in the series when it comes out.
    If you're intrigued by the world of law enforcement, enjoy stories of restoration and spiritual healing, or are just looking for a fun, interesting read, I would recommend this book to you!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Janice Cantore in her new book, "Accused" Book One in

    Janice Cantore in her new book, "Accused" Book One in the Pacific Coast Justice series published by Tyndale House Publishers brings us into the life of Detective Carly Edwards.

    From the Back Cover: “Time to prove she isn’t a broken cop.”
    An officer-involved shooting six months earlier takes Detective Carly Edwards off the street and sends her to a boring desk job in juvenile. When a troubled youth is arrested for the murder of the mayor, Carly is summoned to the crime scene. Homicide thinks it’s a quick, open-and-shut case, and Carly hopes this will be her ticket back to patrol.

    Though her professional life seems to be on track, Carly still has unresolved issues in her personal life. Nick, her ex-husband and fellow police officer, is determined to show Carly that he’s a changed man, but she isn’t convinced he won’t betray her again.

    As the murder investigation progresses, Carly suspects a cover-up and strikes out on her own, uncertain whom she can trust. But she soon realizes the case may put her directly in the killers’ crosshairs.

    Get ready for excitement as Carly Edwards runs into murder and cover-up in the Police Department. The Bible tells us that the devil is the accuser and no where is that more evident than in this book. Accusations fly, there are cover-ups, lies and betrayal and in all this chaos Carly is trying to find a murderer while staying alive. "Accused" is a thriller with all kinds of excitement and danger. However, it is also a romance that builds as Carley and, her ex, Nick have to learn to trust each other. Janice Cantore knows how to weave a captivating story with wonderful characters that breathe. I enjoyed reading this book and look forward to the next book from Ms. Cantore in this series.

    If you would like to listen to interviews with other authors and professionals please go to Kingdom Highlights where they are available On Demand.

    To listen to 24 hours non-stop Christian music please visit our internet radio station Kingdom Airwaves

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Tyndale House Publishers. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2012

    Like an episode of CSI, NCIS, or Law and Order, this book is fas

    Like an episode of CSI, NCIS, or Law and Order, this book is fast-paced and action-packed. Carly Edwards is a beat cop who finds herself in hot water. As she tries to get herself out of trouble, she discovers the real problem is greed and deception within the department. In a parallel story, Carly is also discovering a new faith in God after turning her back on Him after her father died.

    I could relate to the heroin of the story as she struggles with having a faith in God after tragedy. As a cop, she is trained to do what is right and enforce the law. Yet as a person, she is not sure what is right anymore. After a life and death experience, she realizes that God is real and she does want a relationship with Him.

    What I liked about the book was that the action and drama that kept my attention. What I did not like about the book was that it took a life and death experience for the main character to choose to believe in God.

    Tyndale House provided me a free copy of this book in exchange for this review which I freely give.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    a definite must read!

    Accused
    By: Janice Cantore

    I loved this book! Janice Cantore does a great job of pulling you into the story and not letting you go. Detective Carly Edwards is a patrol cop. She is part of an officer-involved shooting and is reassigned to a desk job in juvenile. She doesn’t understand why God would do this to her. She loses her patrol job, goes through a divorce, and is left wondering where God is in her life. Nick, her ex-husband, is also a cop and has become a Christian since their divorce. He has been spending time with Carly’s mother and she has introduced him to a personal relationship with God. Carly has to figure out who she can trust and who is out to kill her. When the mayor is killed, Carly must find out who is part of the conspiracy. Carly wants to do everything herself; it’s safer that way. However, she must learn to trust God and learn to forgive. You will not want to put this book down once you start!
    By the time you finish this book your faith will be strengthened and renewed. Follow Carly as she questions God and see if she surrenders to God, or stays on the same path resisting God. If you love a good mystery, this book is for you. The suspense and intrigue will keep you on the edge of your seat to the very last page. Nick is there with her every step of the way, but is he part of the conspiracy? Pick up this book today and be ready to be swept away!
    Janice Cantore is a retired Long Beach police office and brings her background into her novel. The scenes are depicted realistically and the characters are believable and lifelike. I can’t wait to read another novel by Janice Cantore.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2012

    I enjoyed this book. Detective Carly Edwards has had it rough.

    I enjoyed this book. Detective Carly Edwards has had it rough. She gets demoted to juvenile and wants to get back to her patrol. When she is called to a murder scene, she is determined to actually solve it. Though the evidence shows the teens are innocent, the case is closed and it makes Carly suspicious.
    I completely enjoy the strong female roles and this book definitely had that. Carly was a great character to get to know. The Christian message was there throughout the book, without the author coming across as 'preachy'. The book was paced well and main characters developed well, support characters developed just enough. I want to read more from this author.

    I rate this book a 4/5. It was a good book that I will probably reread!

    Thank you to Tyndale for the review copy of this book. I received this book in exchange for an honest review and the opinions stated above are 100% mine.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 10, 2011

    Dirty cops vs. True Blue cops: Accused

    Accused by Janice Cantore (The Pacific Coast Justice Series Book 1) Accused is an action-packed suspense novel with just enough police procedural to give it an authentic feel without being overloaded with information. The heroine, Carly Edwards, is a tenacious and believable female officer trying to come to terms with her recent divorce, the death of her father, and a demotion from the streets to a desk job through no fault of her own. When the city¿s mayor is found murdered and a young man is obviously being set up to take the fall, she gets caught up in a string of events that could be the death of her and the people she cares about. With talk of dirty cops and city council members, she doesn¿t know who to trust¿¿her ex-husband, Nick, least of all. After all, once a cheat, always a cheat. Right? But something about Nick is different now and she finds herself starting to trust him. Accused is a story about hope and redemption, as well as justice. Officer Carly Edwards is on a journey of discovery, a search for faith and trust. The spiritual aspects of the story were knit in with a deft hand and not preachy. The character, and her anger against God for letting her father die and her marriage fall apart, were believable and true to life. I look forward to reading the next book in the Pacific Coast Justice Series to find out where her search leads her next. I was given an advanced reader copy of Accused in exchange for an honest review.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2011

    An Excellent, well-written, seat-gripping and soul-wrenching tale!

    Carly Edwards loves being an police officer but doesn't like serving in juvenile (where they placed her after she was involved in an officer-involved shooting). When the mayor is murdered and they arrest a troubled youth named Londy Atkins she is called to the scene. Carly interviews Londy hoping to gain a confession and be moved back to patrol where she really wants to be. Londy swears his innocence and as Carly talks with him she's inclined to believe him. Carly's ex-husband Nick is also an officer and feels Londy is telling the truth. Nick lost Carly because of a stupid mistake. He's since given his heart to the Lord and wants very much to prove to Carly that he's a changed man and win her back. But Carly isn't sure she wants to trust him again. As she continues to look into Londy's case she suspects things are not as they appear. But where can she turn and who can she trust? Accused is an excellent, well-written, seat-gripping and soul-wrenching tale. I have not read anything by this author so didn't know what to expect but the cover really intrigued me. I promise you that once you pick up this book you will have a hard time putting in down. There were places in this story that actually caused me to gasp out-loud because it caught me by surprise. I also reached for the Kleenex as well. That's great writing that can do that. It felt in many ways like watching a movie because I could so clearly see in my mind how things played out. All the characters were very well developed and felt flesh and blood real. Their reactions and responses were true to life. You can tell this author used her vast experience as a police officer to give the story a real authenticity. I really appreciated how the spiritual message of hope was grafted so naturally into the story. It didn't feel forced or thrown-in and wasn't over-powering but it was powerful. You'll want to be sure an read the author interview at the end. If you like Dee Henderson and Anne Patrick then I would definitely recommend you pick up Accused! Be ready for some very fast page-flipping!!! Great job Janice!!! This is book 1 in the Pacific Coast Justice series. I am anxiously looking forward to the next installment!! A thank you goes to Tyndale for this complimentary ARC through Netgalley for my review. Paperback: 416 pages Publisher: Tyndale House Publishers, Inc. (February 1, 2012) ISBN-10: 1414358474 ISBN-13: 978-1414358475

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2013

    Drama Filled Book Janice Cantore, a former cop used her knowled

    Drama Filled Book
    Janice Cantore, a former cop used her knowledge from working as a police officer to write an exception police novel. Carly is stuck working in juvenile while she is being checked out at work. Her ex husband Nick is moving up the ladder in the police station and Nick's best friend is working undercover and is missing. The mayor was found murdered and everyone starts pointing fingers. Carly is determined to find out the truth no matter the cost to her own life. I really enjoyed this book and look forward to reading more by Janice Cantore.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2012

    Great book

    Enjoyed the book .....will be looking for more books from this author.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2014

    Interesting and Consistant Storyline

    This kept my attention from the first word to the last line. Loved how it had a touch of romance without being overly mushy. Great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2014

    I enjoyed the novel and read it in two days. I thought it was ve

    I enjoyed the novel and read it in two days. I thought it was very realistic in the details.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2014

    I'm so glad I found Janice Cantore recently and am now reading h

    I'm so glad I found Janice Cantore recently and am now reading her previous novels of which Accused is one. Janice's experience as a cop really enhances the plot and makes her writing realistic. Good job!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2014

    Accused is a compelling story with a plenty of twists and turns.

    Accused is a compelling story with a plenty of twists and turns. You are caught up along with Carly on who she can trust. It is delivered in a way that you cannot tell who are the good guys are until the end. Carly struggles with who to trust in many aspects of her life. Her relationships progress throughout the story moving at a pace that portrays realism and you are drawn with her.
    There is a moderate amount of preaching. I felt it was done in a good way, but something to be aware of.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2013

    Caddie to katio

    Walks in with a present and say here

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 71 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4