Customer Reviews for

Accused (Rosato & Associates Series #12) (Signed Book)

Average Rating 4
( 52 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

I absolutely love the Rosato and Associates series, and I am so

I absolutely love the Rosato and Associates series, and I am so glad that Lisa has written another book for the series at last.  Accused features Mary Dinunzio, which is good news for me, because Mary's parents are my favorite characters of all.  This is a splendid tale...
I absolutely love the Rosato and Associates series, and I am so glad that Lisa has written another book for the series at last.  Accused features Mary Dinunzio, which is good news for me, because Mary's parents are my favorite characters of all.  This is a splendid tale, no disappointments whatsoever, beautifully done.  I was appalled to see the 3 1/2 star rating, so unjust, and in place long before the book was ever released.  I totally enjoyed the book and can't wait for the next one, in which Mary and Angie's relationship will hopefully be resolved and healed.

posted by tigerlille on November 3, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Too many lawyers spoil the broth

Do we really need any more attorney mystery women child client genre combos? Mom

posted by Anonymous on November 8, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted November 5, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Lisa's Best Book Thus Far!

    Very well done! I have read a number of Lisa’s books and Accused was outstanding (Rosato & Associates #12)! It was nice to hear from Judy, Mary, and the gang (her parents are a riot)!

    Mary (now partner), is hired by a 13 yr old brilliant and wealthy girl (Allegra) to investigate her sister (Fiona)’s murder. Even though another guy (Lonnie) is in prison –she feels he is innocent. A good mystery (tried voting for this book as 2013 Mystery of the Year; however, it does not come up).

    Mary is now engaged to Anthony with mothers on both sides forcing their own bridal gown, as she is in the middle of reopening and investigating a murder investigation. Mary wants to help Allegra and has to fight off her father and many others along the way as she is determined to find the truth.

    Mary begins to uncover facts which prove Lonnie’s innocence and the family lawyer is involved with some other secrets (which I will not disclose – An engaging mystery, with humor, and lots of laughs. The audio was excellent by January Lavoy – highly recommend – one of Scottoline’s best books!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2013

    I absolutely love the Rosato and Associates series, and I am so

    I absolutely love the Rosato and Associates series, and I am so glad that Lisa has written another book for the series at last.  Accused features Mary Dinunzio, which is good news for me, because Mary's parents are my favorite characters of all.  This is a splendid tale, no disappointments whatsoever, beautifully done.  I was appalled to see the 3 1/2 star rating, so unjust, and in place long before the book was ever released.  I totally enjoyed the book and can't wait for the next one, in which Mary and Angie's relationship will hopefully be resolved and healed.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 29, 2013

    Mary Dinuzio is a great character.   She starts off getting enga

    Mary Dinuzio is a great character.   She starts off getting engaged and being unsure if “Yes” is the answer she should give, but yet she knows that is the answer that is expected.  Next Mary gets a new client, a teenage girl whose sister has been murdered six years ago, and never bats an eye at taking the case.   When pushed to drop the case she stands up for herself and stays on the case.   I loved how she went way beyond a normal lawyer and works hard to solve the case.  As I kept reading, I was fairly sure that I knew who the killers were.  Boy,  was I surprised at who the killers actually were.  Lisa Scottoline kept me on my toes and guessing the whole book.   




    The character of Allegra has me worried many times during the story.   Was she just dwelling on the murder of her sister or did she truly know that Lonnie was innocent?   She seemed to be almost too smart.  She had this plan from an even younger age to find Fiona’s real killer and almost seemed obsessed with it.   Then when I was introduced to her parents, my first thought was wow, what loser parents.  They seemed to not pay her much attention, easier to send her away to boarding school and let the hired help raise her.  As I read I got a new outlook on her parents and maybe I was quick to judge. 




    This is my first book that I have read in the Rosato & Associates Firm.  I can tell you that I will be going back and reading the other books in this series.   I felt that even though I did not know the characters history, I could easily relate and connect with each character.  

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2013

    Recommended-entertaining

    I am so happy that Lisa Scottoline brought back Roasato and Associates as I have read almost all her books. This was a good, entertaining read for anyone who enjoys lighter mysteries. it is like being with old friends.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2013

    This sort of story is almost guaranteed to please some and to up

    This sort of story is almost guaranteed to please some and to upset some readers. After all, the justice system is supposed to be "perfect." Guess again, children.

    My greatest fear, having served on three juries over the years [one as Foreman], is a trial by a "jury of my peers." Common people, peers, generally have disregarded the law and their instructions to get to the decision they have preconceived..

    A worthwhile read, if only for the lesson it teaches about miscarriage of justice. Dutch_Frogg.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2014

    terribly written book, very immature writing. I felt a 12 year

    terribly written book, very immature writing. I felt a 12 year old had written it. Sorry I wasted my time.
    Early books were better. Much much better writers of crime novels out there - Grimes, Grafton, Sandford

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2014

    This book was mostly filler, with very little plotline. Obvious

    This book was mostly filler, with very little plotline. Obviously needed some inane dialogue to fill 350 pages.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2013

    recommend

    Good to see Rosato and Assoc. back. Great story,Scottoline at her best.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2013

    This is a fabulous book. Great plot, great characters and excel

    This is a fabulous book. Great plot, great characters and excellent writing kept me on the edge of my seat. I read some other reviews and was dismayed to read some of them. It is clear this book is about a law firm and lawyers, so who did you expect to find in the book. Don't criticize a book for being what it was advertised as being! If you pick it up you won't be sorry! I loved it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2013

    Highly entertaining.

    Lisa Scottoline takes familiar characters and makes them new again. I recommend it for a cozy afternoon read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2013

    High Recommend

    Once again, Lisa Scottoline hit the mark with her latest book. I thought I knew who the killer was and ultimately I was wrong and completely surprised. I really enjoy this series and always look forward to the next one!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2013

    Too many lawyers spoil the broth

    Do we really need any more attorney mystery women child client genre combos? Mom

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2013

    Great fun

    Loved the warm family and friends from Philly in this book. I feel like I'm part of a great warm family,great work situation and firm,never mind a terrific thriller.Spent a Sunday in bed reading it and loved it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2013

    The law firm of Rosato & Associates take on the challenge of

    The law firm of Rosato & Associates take on the challenge of trying to reopen a murder case and free the convicted killer who accepted a plea deal at the time of his trial. Surprisingly, the request comes from the 13-year-old sister of the murder victim. That set of circumstances provides the most interesting aspect of the case, and the remainder of the book unravels a not-very-complicated plot. The family and friends surrounding Mary DiNunzio are salt-of-the-earth characters who, while heartwarming and funny, are not fully developed. Overall, this is a fun read with a warm, fuzzy, satisfying ending, but in the grand scheme of things, it's more Twinkie than Tiramisu.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Save time and read the last 50 pages. It's been a while since I

    Save time and read the last 50 pages. It's been a while since I've read any books by Scottoline, so I thought I would give it a try finding Accused on the bargain shelf. The writing style was like someone who had just begun writing novels and not someone who has been at it for years. Also, the story line was very weak repetitive. Read the first few chapters to get the gest of the story and then skip to the last 50 pages to find out how it ends. That's about all worth reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2014

    OK book

    Not my favorite read. I did finish it but left me a little flat. Expected more intrigue.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2014

    A very good book. A good read.

    I enjoyed this book so much I went and got more of the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    After several standalone novels and four non-fiction books, Lis


    After several standalone novels and four non-fiction books, Lisa Scottoline has gone back to her terrific Rosato & Associates series, as Mary DiNunzio, one of the all-female “Associates,” is made a partner in the firm, joining Benedetto (“Bennie”) Rosato as a boss in the successful criminal law firm, well-known as mavericks and for championing the underdog. But when their newest client is Allegra Gardner, the thirteen-year-old daughter (with a genius-level IQ) of a well-known and wealthy Philadelphia family, it presents more of a challenge than usual.

    The eponymous accused in this instance is a man who has pleaded guilty to murdering Allegra’s sister six years ago in what appeared to be an open-and-shut case, currently serving a long prison term. Allegra firmly believes he is innocent, and hires the firm to investigate and find out who really killed her sister, over the objections of her family.

    I can vouch for the authenticity of the large and endearing Italian family with which Mary is surrounded, and they are just as supportive and loving as readers have come to expect, especially when the news of her having been made partner comes on the heels of her announcing that she and her long-time love, Anthony Rotunno, are going to be married. (Unlike the first of these two milestones, Mary is just a bit ambivalent about the latter one, after her husband, Mike, had been murdered many years before when they’d been married for only a year. But she has no doubt of her love for Anthony, being just a bit uncomfortable about wearing the engagement ring.)

    Allegra is a fascinating creation, and it’s easy to see why the firm would take on such a daunting case. The interesting plot and the winning and wonderfully humorous writing only get better as the book goes along, with a jaw-dropping twist and an unbeatable ending.

    Recommended.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2014

    Great Read

    I love all of Lisa Scottoline books, especially the Rosato & Associates Series. This was just another great book and story line. Keep it up

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2014

    Keep Them Coming!

    "Discovered" Lisa Scottline a couple years ago and have now read all her published novels to date. They are all super but I love Rosato & Associates and hope that Ms. Scottoline will continue this series for many years to come! I tell everyone if they have not read this author......then they need to start!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3