BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Ace of Cakes: Inside the World of Charm City Cakes

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Amazing!!

I just got my copy at a book signing by the entire bakery in Baltimore! What an amazing and warm group of individuals! They were so sweet, everyone was there, even the intern (i forgot his name, yikes!)!! Mary Alice was so outgoing, Geof was, well, Geof, and Duff was do...
I just got my copy at a book signing by the entire bakery in Baltimore! What an amazing and warm group of individuals! They were so sweet, everyone was there, even the intern (i forgot his name, yikes!)!! Mary Alice was so outgoing, Geof was, well, Geof, and Duff was doing that laugh of his and I even met his brother, Willie, who wrote the book with Duff! They are just like they seem on the show, very laid back and they seem to be a big happy family. I haven't put the book down, it is so full of everything anyone could want to know about the story of Charm City Cakes and Duff and Ace of Cakes and everyone who works there! It is so well written and I think Duff and Willie really wrote the book, not some anonymous writer! How Cool! It is not a cook book, Duff says so in THE VERY FIRST LINE OF THE BOOK! I think he wrote this one for the fans, but, as a cake artist myself, I hope the next book is, well, not a cook book, but more like a text book on how they do the incredible things they do. That would be a most welcome addition to all the books about cakes out there. This book, however, is beautiful, lucid, and an amazing story with more detail than anyone could possibly ingest in one sitting! Grand Slam for Duff, Willie, and Charm City Cakes!!!

posted by Milk-n-Cookies on October 28, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

The Show is Great - The Book is OK

First of all let me say that this book is poorly edited and that's being nice. There are so many obvious spelling and grammar mistakes it's unbelievble. At times I had to read a sentence more than once just to figure out what they were trying to say.

I absolutely l...
First of all let me say that this book is poorly edited and that's being nice. There are so many obvious spelling and grammar mistakes it's unbelievble. At times I had to read a sentence more than once just to figure out what they were trying to say.

I absolutely love this TV show and love the people who work at the bakery. Geof and Mary Alice could take their comedy on the road. But the book... eh. Not so much. The entire second half of the book is all about the crew and the production behind the scenes. If you're into how a reality show is made, I guess it would be interesting. If you're not, it isn't. The best parts of the first half are when each of the employees gets to write their own little blurb about who they are and how they came to the bakery. Duff's story is interesting, but he repeats part of it several times in the book.

posted by RufusRW on November 22, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 28, 2009

    Amazing!!

    I just got my copy at a book signing by the entire bakery in Baltimore! What an amazing and warm group of individuals! They were so sweet, everyone was there, even the intern (i forgot his name, yikes!)!! Mary Alice was so outgoing, Geof was, well, Geof, and Duff was doing that laugh of his and I even met his brother, Willie, who wrote the book with Duff! They are just like they seem on the show, very laid back and they seem to be a big happy family. I haven't put the book down, it is so full of everything anyone could want to know about the story of Charm City Cakes and Duff and Ace of Cakes and everyone who works there! It is so well written and I think Duff and Willie really wrote the book, not some anonymous writer! How Cool! It is not a cook book, Duff says so in THE VERY FIRST LINE OF THE BOOK! I think he wrote this one for the fans, but, as a cake artist myself, I hope the next book is, well, not a cook book, but more like a text book on how they do the incredible things they do. That would be a most welcome addition to all the books about cakes out there. This book, however, is beautiful, lucid, and an amazing story with more detail than anyone could possibly ingest in one sitting! Grand Slam for Duff, Willie, and Charm City Cakes!!!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2009

    The Show is Great - The Book is OK

    First of all let me say that this book is poorly edited and that's being nice. There are so many obvious spelling and grammar mistakes it's unbelievble. At times I had to read a sentence more than once just to figure out what they were trying to say.

    I absolutely love this TV show and love the people who work at the bakery. Geof and Mary Alice could take their comedy on the road. But the book... eh. Not so much. The entire second half of the book is all about the crew and the production behind the scenes. If you're into how a reality show is made, I guess it would be interesting. If you're not, it isn't. The best parts of the first half are when each of the employees gets to write their own little blurb about who they are and how they came to the bakery. Duff's story is interesting, but he repeats part of it several times in the book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    VERY DISAPPOINTED!!!!!!!!

    I JUST GOT THIS BIG BEHIND BOOK AND NOT ONE BASIC YELLOW CAKE RECIPES AND ONE SIMPLE BUTTER CREAM RECIPE. YES HIS IS INTERING BUT WHAT ARE SOME OF THE RECEPES FOR HIS CAKES THAT MADE HIM FAMOUS. IF I WOULD HAVE KNOWN THIS WAS GOING TO BE AN AUTOBIOGRY I WOULD HAVE NEVER ORDERED 2 BOOKS. THIS BOOK DOESN'T BELONG IN THE COOKING SECTION THIS BOOK BELONG IN THE REFRENCE SECTION. IF YOU WANT TO BY A GOOD COOKBOOK TRY GUY'S FROM DINER,DRIVE THOUGH AND DIVES.

    VERY UPSET!!!!!

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2010

    A must-have!

    Anyone who is a fan of "Ace of Cakes" must have this book. It's a great collection of the work that Charm City Cakes has done up until the time of publishing. It's a great coffee-table book, too! Anyone would enjoy this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    if you love the show and to decorate cakes you'll love this book

    I bought this book for my son's birthday, he loves the show and the book. we decorate cakes for birthdays and this give us so many new ideas. loved it .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2010

    Great book for fans of the show!

    When I enjoy a show or movie, I love to get more detail about the people or characters in the show, as well as a look at what happens behind the scenes. While I am a little overwhelmed at the amount of information in this book, I am fully enjoying reading the book and gaining a new perspective on my favorite Food Network show!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    Why?

    It's a coffee table book that they sell in the food section. There isn't any insight or explanation, no technical know-how; just pretty pictures of "cakes" that are in most cases composed of mostly inedible material. You could buy a bean bag chair, a tickle-me-Elmo, and a cake from the supermarket and you'd essentially have a "Charm City" cake. The only thing more ridiculous than the premise of the book/ show is thew haughty, self-congratulatory attitude of the "bakers" themselves. In fairness, I think that there are many more talented cake shops in the country, which I find irritating as I live not far away from Baltimore and would like to support the locals.

    Also , Duff is a douche who wears jerseys from every other NHL franchise but doesn't support the team thirty minutes away.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2010

    Ace Of Cakes

    If you love the show, you'll love the book. I gave this to my son for Christmas and he really enjoys it, I have read it also and it was a lot of fun to read and very interesting on how things are really done on the show.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2010

    Duffy Rules!

    What a great book! I am a fan of Ace of Cakes, so it was fun reading in detail about Duff and the crew. The photos were fun to look at. Only thing missing was Duff's infectious laugh!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2010

    great book

    love the show, was fun to see behind the scenes. great pics and stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2010

    Great gift idea.

    This was a gift and the receiver was excited to read from cover to cover.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2010

    Great book

    I loved the book, although I would have like to see more pictures as how the cakes were ensambled...or how the cakes are put together....other than that I loved the book!!! Great pictures....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2009

    Love the show--Love the book

    I bought this for my mom who loves the show. She was thrilled and enjoyed it very much. I am hoping she'll pass it along to me, but I'm sure she wants it for a coffee table book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2009

    good companion to the tv show

    if you enjoy watching the tv show, you'll like this book. gives more information on duff and his fellow workers. also gives more incite to the show and it's background. very enjoyable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2