Customer Reviews for

Aces Cribbage

Average Rating 4
( 159 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(79)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(25)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

28 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

Good fun!

I love cribbage, and this is great when I want to play and have no one to play it with! I have seen some complaints about the computer miscounting - it is done that way on purpose. If you enable 'muggins' in your menu, you can take the points that the computer misses. A...
I love cribbage, and this is great when I want to play and have no one to play it with! I have seen some complaints about the computer miscounting - it is done that way on purpose. If you enable 'muggins' in your menu, you can take the points that the computer misses. And it will still occasionally miss points in the higher levels, just not as frequently as it does in the lower difficulty levels. Well worth the price.

posted by 6376129 on May 19, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

19 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

Computer is a cheater

I still enjoy playing, but 20 point cribs more than once EVERY GAME? And when I get a great hand, I usually have to split it up to contribute points to the computers ((no doubt excellent) crib. Also, how does the computer cut to the exact card it needs ALMOST EVERY HAND...
I still enjoy playing, but 20 point cribs more than once EVERY GAME? And when I get a great hand, I usually have to split it up to contribute points to the computers ((no doubt excellent) crib. Also, how does the computer cut to the exact card it needs ALMOST EVERY HAND it cuts? Just to test it out, I started playing 3 games in a row, starting a new game whenever the computer scored more than 30 points between its hand and crib; All three times, I had to start over before I was 25% of the way down the board because the computer was getting so many IMPROBABLY GOOD hands. Ive been playing cribbage since I was a child, trust me. This game cheats.

posted by 6709762 on December 7, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 159 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2012

    Please fix

    Despite the creator's assurance in June that the deal is random, I see many posts in following months complaining that the deal favors the computer. I too have played for many years and know that 20 point hands are rare, and that even 10 and 12 point hands don't occur frequently. The fact that these hands occur for the computer and not the real player definitely points to the need for a fix to make play more realistic and equitable. I have a Cribbage game on my iPhone that is much more true to life.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2012

    Good

    Theres people who give this game alot of crap. This is such a great game. The cpu gets good hands but you do to. It gives you a chalenge but its fun

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    Not good at all

    I only got to play once! Everytime I try to open it now, all it does is force close. Extremely dissappointed. Demanding a refund!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2011

    Great handheld cribbage game!!

    Very detailed and beautiful game with well oriented difficulty settings. Playing with muggins is a good way to keep you on your toes esp in the higher difficulty settings.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2011

    Fun but buggy

    I noticed when playing that even though it greys out cards that should be too high to play you can still play them.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2011

    Garbage....

    ....unless you like losing in every level above easy. It miraculously gets the cut it needs about 90% of the time. I don't need to win every game but i would like to have a chance at least.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2011

    Great!

    My daughter loves it! The graphics are great and we have not had any problems.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2012

    Slow and un reliable

    Animations. Even set at fast are too slow. App crashes at random and now I can't even get it to stay open after I hit play. Just exits. Feels like a waste

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2012

    :)

    Wonderful! All my cribbage buddies moved away but now I can play it whenever I want. Definately worth it!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2011

    Great Game

    3 Difficulty levels. Muggins option. Every now and then the computer decides it is going to win big and there is nothing you can do about it. Nice graphics.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2011

    This game cheats

    So frustrating. Did a statistical analysis of hands, and this weights heavily to the computer. IRL I win 57% of games w exp players. Here, computer wins 87%, with 20% of those skunking. Im going to request a refund from software company, or at least a more randomized deal.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Best+cribbage+app+ever

    Great+graphics+and+game+settings.+I+can+play+advanced+on+the+same+app+my+son+learns+the+game+on.+Love+it%21

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2014

    No problems

    This was the first app I purchased. Had my Nook now 3+ years. I've never had any issues with the computer dealing itself better cards, or anything out of the ordinary. Game is quick, and I normally finish a game while at lunch. Fantasic game and would recommend.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2013

    Love this

    This is a really fun game and I'm 10 years old,Like I'd be reading about the Inapropreate Monster High Dolls!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2012

    Works fine

    This is a simple program for playing Cribbage. I'd forgotten how much I enjoyed the game.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2012

    Love!

    Personally I feel the game is great. Yes, sometimes the computer seems to have a run of high scoring hands, but so do I so I don't think the computer is "cheating".

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2012

    Unrealistic

    Been playing crib for 30+ years. Well above average skill level so I play on the hardest mode. 300+ games and 55% win ratio. I'm ok with that but ridiculous # of 16+ point hands on both sides is laughable, especially if the computer is about to skunk or be skunked. It's cheap entertainment and a great learning tool for youngsters. Look at it that way and the cut 7 every time the computer has 6-6-8-8 in hand won't make your Nook double as a frisbee. :-)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2012

    Love this game just wish they would make it a two player

    I love this game I just wish it was a two player!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2012

    Deck stacked against you

    I have now played this game many times - over 200 games. It is very slanted in favor of the computer. Not to brag, but I do pretty well against human opponents with real cards. I very rarely beat the computer - it just does not deal hands fairly. To be honest, I thought the negative reviews were whining sore losers, but they are right. The dealing, drawing and cutting are very uneven in favor of the computer. I am very sorry because I love to play cribbage, but this just is not fun.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2012

    This is a great little game. Easy to use!

    Fun cribbage. it can count for you, you can count in your head, or count with the helper. Nice for various types of play. Lots of options. easy to use. recommmended.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 159 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 8