Customer Reviews for

Aces Cribbage

Average Rating 4
( 157 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(79)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(24)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

28 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

Good fun!

I love cribbage, and this is great when I want to play and have no one to play it with! I have seen some complaints about the computer miscounting - it is done that way on purpose. If you enable 'muggins' in your menu, you can take the points that the computer misses. A...
I love cribbage, and this is great when I want to play and have no one to play it with! I have seen some complaints about the computer miscounting - it is done that way on purpose. If you enable 'muggins' in your menu, you can take the points that the computer misses. And it will still occasionally miss points in the higher levels, just not as frequently as it does in the lower difficulty levels. Well worth the price.

posted by 6376129 on May 19, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

19 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

Computer is a cheater

I still enjoy playing, but 20 point cribs more than once EVERY GAME? And when I get a great hand, I usually have to split it up to contribute points to the computers ((no doubt excellent) crib. Also, how does the computer cut to the exact card it needs ALMOST EVERY HAND...
I still enjoy playing, but 20 point cribs more than once EVERY GAME? And when I get a great hand, I usually have to split it up to contribute points to the computers ((no doubt excellent) crib. Also, how does the computer cut to the exact card it needs ALMOST EVERY HAND it cuts? Just to test it out, I started playing 3 games in a row, starting a new game whenever the computer scored more than 30 points between its hand and crib; All three times, I had to start over before I was 25% of the way down the board because the computer was getting so many IMPROBABLY GOOD hands. Ive been playing cribbage since I was a child, trust me. This game cheats.

posted by 6709762 on December 7, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2011

    Computer is a cheater

    I still enjoy playing, but 20 point cribs more than once EVERY GAME? And when I get a great hand, I usually have to split it up to contribute points to the computers ((no doubt excellent) crib. Also, how does the computer cut to the exact card it needs ALMOST EVERY HAND it cuts? Just to test it out, I started playing 3 games in a row, starting a new game whenever the computer scored more than 30 points between its hand and crib; All three times, I had to start over before I was 25% of the way down the board because the computer was getting so many IMPROBABLY GOOD hands. Ive been playing cribbage since I was a child, trust me. This game cheats.

    19 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2011

    Love to Play Crib

    Love the game. I think the computer cheats! Everytime I get a great hand I have to split it up or give points to the computer's crib. Everytime it's my crib, I get a lousy hand with no points and no decent cards to put in my crib, and the computers hand and crib are rarely under 8 points each. Love the options of cards, boards and pegs. Still enjoy playing even though I still think it cheats.

    8 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2012

    Bad developer.

    The ONLY way to have a fighting chance is at the EASY level with Muggins ON. Any other setting, the comp clearly gets a weighted advantage, intended or not.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2012

    Please fix

    Despite the creator's assurance in June that the deal is random, I see many posts in following months complaining that the deal favors the computer. I too have played for many years and know that 20 point hands are rare, and that even 10 and 12 point hands don't occur frequently. The fact that these hands occur for the computer and not the real player definitely points to the need for a fix to make play more realistic and equitable. I have a Cribbage game on my iPhone that is much more true to life.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2012

    Unrealistic

    Been playing crib for 30+ years. Well above average skill level so I play on the hardest mode. 300+ games and 55% win ratio. I'm ok with that but ridiculous # of 16+ point hands on both sides is laughable, especially if the computer is about to skunk or be skunked. It's cheap entertainment and a great learning tool for youngsters. Look at it that way and the cut 7 every time the computer has 6-6-8-8 in hand won't make your Nook double as a frisbee. :-)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2012

    Awesome but....

    Agree with others; there are too many 16-20 pt hands per round by the computer. Takes fun out of your strategic play.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2012

    Computer rarely loses

    Computer rarely loses (even on Easy level) - frustrating

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    Ok

    Its okay on easy all you do is loose the series its fun challenging but could be way beter not a 2 dollar app but maybe a dollar not quite i might not recomend it but if you like to loose this is a great app! Lol

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2012

    Fun, but no random deals

    Gun game, but I don't believe the developer that the code is properly randomized, far too many perfect cuts and cribs for the computer. I can guess what cards the computer will have in the crib based on the cards I put in the crib with shocking accuracy. That said, I still enjoy the game.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2011

    Update Ruined It

    Before the update the game was skillful but fair. Now it gets great hands constantly. I've never seen so many 24s or been skunked so much. This is a gorgeous implementation but be prepared for real frustration if you buy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2012

    Mostly good

    The automatic counter misses points occasionally, but using this as a tutorial, my cribbage-playing abilities increased to the point where my regular opponent deemed me "no longer a novice." Meaning, it really helped me figure out what to keep or throw. Worth the cost.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2012

    Love cribbage

    This is good learning tool. But it does not count corretly misses points almost every hand dealt

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2011

    Good+app+but......

    Have+never+seen+so+many+24+and+26+hands+in+my+many+years+of+playing+this+game.+Of+course%2C+it%27s+always+the+computer+who+gets+them.+It+counted+my+crib+incorrectly+also+and+would%27nt+give+me+the+points.+All+in+all+it%27s+very+enjoyble+just+a+few+quirks.%0A

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2011

    Cant count

    I love cribbage but it is very frustrating that when the computer counts for itself, it misses several points. It does not feel like much of a competition when it cant add correctly. If you fix this, i would give it 5 stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1